We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place, but I guess the USP is lost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavithram Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pavithram Home Stay
Ranked #40 of 178 Munnar B&B and Inns
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Place, but I guess the USP is lost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this homestay after going through the earlier reviews at TripAdvisor. I felt the USP of this place were the owners of the Homestay who recieved commendable reviews for thier hospitality earlier. But when we reached the place, we got to learn that the owners have completely moved out of the daily operations and currently the caretaker of the place is Danny. Though the caretaker was ready to help in all possible ways, it was no where compared to the expectations with which we had gone to the place.
There were couple of other glitches which made the stay little less enjoyable:

1. There was no provision of water in the room.
2. The power-cut was frequent and the generator didn't seem to work.
3. There were no candles/match boxes in the room.
4. The internet did not work. (And there is no Vodafone/Airtel network in Devikulam)

For all of the above, we had to constantly ask Danny to help us out (which he did). But again in this hospitality industry everything boils down to how well you serve the customers.

Also, if the families plan to travel with aged people, it is advisable to take the rooms on the groud floor as there is no one to help out with the luggage shifting.

On the positive side of it, there are a couple of points worth mentioning:
1. The place is located in Devikulam, away from the hustle and bustle of the market area, which gives a sense of calmness.
2. The place has a beautiful tea-garden just a staircase away.
3. The caretaker is very courteous and prompt to meet the requests.
4. The rooms were spacious and the top floor rooms have a common balcony which is very good.
5. The breakfast provided by them was good enough!

All in all the experience would be rated by me as average.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MayankParmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Firstly, this place is not in the centre of Munnar but is a couple of miles out. Once you have got over this you can only be impressed by this lovely b

Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We came to Munnar for two days and were recommended this place by our taxi driver. We first looked at others, but this was really the best we could find. Danny, the manager and his staff made our stay very welcoming and we had a great time chatting in the evenings about everything we saw during the day. Tea and coffee were served regularly and if you ask in advance, they make a nice dinner (modest charge). Otherwise, there is a good restaurant 10 minutes walk away (you can get a discount if you mention you stay at Pavithram). Access to the tea plantations is right behind the house and you can go for a good long walk there. We took a one day drive around the area in rickshaw and discovered that the best views were actually behind our house. We ended up extending our stay for a day to enjoy the peace and quiet there. We had the big room at the top with the balcony which is great for reading or yoga. Everything very clean and functioning. At night, it can get rather chilly because of the altitude, but the rooms have plenty of extra blankets in case you would need one. All in all, it was one of the highlights of our trip to Kerala and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The big room on the top floor has a great balcony and can sleep up to four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Unfortunately the friendliness of the staff doesn't cut it. I stayed here with my family for 3 days, we had 2 rooms: one had persistent problems with hot water - not functioning 2 of the 3 days. The plug for the modem (internet) didn't fit properly into the socket and thus fell out constantly (losing power) throughout our stay, If you're expecting to be part of a family (it's advertised as a "Home stay"), this is NOT the place for you. We saw the owners (v. nice) for 5 minutes and they live in an adjacent house. The guest house is a typical B&B, the nearest restaurant is a 10 minute rickshaw ride away. Considering the amenities and the fact that this isn't a real home-stay, I think Pavithram is overpriced. Danny and the rest of the staff however are very nice and eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Would recommend this place always. Their hospitality and friendliness surpassed all of the other places we stayed. A big THANK YOU to the manager and his two lady assistants, they were the nicest people we met in Kerala.
We tried food prepared by someone known to the owners this could be improved.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Pavithram for a few nights and the owner and manager truly were the nicest people we met in India. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and even helped us with things unrelated to our stay at Pavithram! Their hospitality and friendliness surpassed all of the other places we stayed at during our 2 week trip.

The place is cozy, very clean and beautiful. The area (devikulum) is 6km from Munnar town (only 20min away... you dont want to be closer than that). Even better, there is a tea plantation that you can access right from a staircase in Pavithram and spend the day wandering serene tea fields. You wont find a better place to stay than Pavithram and if anything you will probably want to extend your stay once you get there. We did. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Pavithram was referred by our friend and we had no regret to make this decision. We were two families with kids of age less than 10 years age. Mr. and Mrs. Rajesh were excellent host and we had all comfort as if staying at our own home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SudheerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 km away
Rheinberg Homestay
Rheinberg Homestay
#24 of 178 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 km away
Nakshathra Inn
Nakshathra Inn
#115 of 178 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 km away
Drizzle Valley Cottages
Drizzle Valley Cottages
#58 of 178 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gokulam Home Stay Munnar
Gokulam Home Stay Munnar
#66 of 178 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#1 of 16 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 km away
Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavithram Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavithram Home Stay

Property: Pavithram Home Stay
Address: Devikulam-Munnar Road, Munnar 685613, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'A HOME AWAY FROM YOUR HOME'. Pavithram Home Stay located in Devikulam which was known as the British Official Centre, presently the Headquarter of Munnar. The location is ideal with cool mountain air, velvet lawns, ravishing tea gardens and clam atmosphere without having any crowd and town conjunction. The pavithram Home Stay is certified 'Diamond House' by the Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala. The Pavithram has been operating as a successful Home Stay for last 10 years receiving many repeat clients. Home Stay is operating for a successive 10 years. We are providing 24 hours free Wi-fi connectivity, Cable TV, Intercom, 24 hours Hot Water facility etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pavithram Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing