We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place Stay in Kodai”
Review of Hotel Grand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Palace
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Good Hotel to Stay in Kodai,This Hotel is very near to Lake and Neat and Clean ,Mr.Ravi Hospitality is WOW ,Not Priced Much ,Food is typical chettinad style which is delicious there where also north indian menu we did not tried ,We enjoyed satyed at kodai

Room Tip: Not Really Remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

we stayed two nights in this hotel. rooms are clean, staff all are relay well trained to take care the guest. GM Mr.Ravi i never forgot in my life he helped in many thinks. I will recommend this hotel and when ever i travel to kodai i will prefer this hotel only

Room Tip: honeymoon suite really good and species
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kannan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stay at royal deluxe room. Room was definitely good with LCD. But restaurant was not up to the mark, No menu card, no one at reception. We ate outside.Hospitality was not like wow!!! I liked location of the hotel as it is near to lake. i must say staff should increase hot water time as it was already cold there. I hate that motor sound during evening and morning time.

Room Tip: I found hotel shivapriya is good to stay. Although room was not as good as in Grand palace. But dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Expensive tariffs for the kind of service provided.
- Highly irresponsible staff.
- The reception is never available. No response from the room service anytime
- No basic services like newspaper,
- No hot water in washrooms. Were informed that the water heater system is under maintenance but later got to know that the guests r few and so they did not turn it on.
- Boring water provided for drinking,
- A la carte menu has 2 or 3 options all time.
- No itemized bill during checkout.

Overall the hotel looks clean and good with pathetic / worst service.

Room Tip: I would never prefer or suggest this hotel even in the worst case scenario.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank we_thecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Me and My wife planned a trip to kodai for 3 night 4 day and we stayed @ Grand Palace. We did the booking through a local travel agent in kodaikanal, The rooms were very good, nice clean place, the room service was also good, being a budget hotel the service provided by them was outstanding, They only have veg food and that was also a plus point for this hotel, the Travel Desk guy (karthik i think ) made all the arrangement for the sightseeing for 3 days, I will recommend this hotel and when ever i travel to kodai i will prefer this hotel only

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NayanJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have been to Grand place last year when I visited kodaikanal with my friends. Usually prices in kodai are bit higher than other places like ooty, munnar. This hotel is located at good area and place is good. Rooms are neat and clean. Service is also good. Overall nice place to live.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhaval7884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We were 2 couples and spent 3 nights at GrandPalace. We did the booking thorugh makemytrip.com for two suites (they call it honeymmon suite).Although the hotel reviews we went through says that the hotel was just average, we were forced to book this since we did a late booking and not much alternate options were available at that time. But two days before our stay one exceutive from makemytrip had called me to inform that the suite rooms were not available and we had to settle for one suite and one royal room.

The hotel is located near to the lake(less than a km), but the road leading to the hotel is not so decent, with some wine shops and all near by. Also the place was not that neat. The hotel and rooms are just ok, but defenitrly not worth the money we paid. The staff and travel desk were ok. The restaurant was just average.
The main issue we had was with the hot water supply. Rooms other than suite does not have geysers, so have to depend on the common hot water supply. During our second day,we didn't have the hot water supply in royal room. We have to folow up with the staff for almost 3-4 hours, but nothing happened even after that(every time we comlained they ensure that this will be done in another 10-15 miniutes). The time we stayed was peak winter and this really spoiled our day's programme.

There are no good views from any of the rooms since they are either facing the adjacent buildings or the street. Although the hotel is near by to the lake, we don't feel that safe to walk in the nights since the street was not that good.
Also, we didn't get proper refund for changing the rooms. Makemytrip claimed that hotel guys were not ready to pay where as the hotel never responded to the queries.

Overall the experience was not that good and we feel one should stay here only if there is no other options available.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKR_TVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.7 km away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#12 of 84 in Kodaikanal
260 reviews
2.3 km away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#59 of 84 in Kodaikanal
124 reviews
0.4 km away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#10 of 84 in Kodaikanal
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.9 km away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 84 in Kodaikanal
198 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#39 of 84 in Kodaikanal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Palace

Address: Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $34 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing