We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalethorpe - Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalethorpe Homestay
Ranked #7 of 105 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had our reservations coming to this place, after all the unpleasant experiences we had in the madurai hotel, with no heater and poor service. But all our worries were put to rest. It was a home away from home. Just perfect ! The rooms, the hospitality, the food and the warmth , it all just made our trip to Kodai extremely memorable. Special thanks to Mr.Shaheed, Mr. Manjeet, and Mr. Das, whose food made us feel at home. We hope to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRamIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Dalethorpe Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Individual bungalow with functional kitchen (food on preorder), Very nice place to stay, Spacious and clean rooms, spacious and well maintained property, Very Kids friendly, Courteous - friendly - helpful staff, Walkable distance from the lake (pleasant walk).

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe and found it pretty good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had the most amazing time here at Kodai thanks to this stay at Dalethrope. Thank you Shaheed for your great hospitality and going out of your way to make us feel at home.
Our little cottage set in the property was the cutest place we have stayed in, and believe me we have stayed in many places around the world...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We (along with my wife) stayed here for 2 days during offseason, I felt this homestay is a bit expensive for the luxury that is provided to you. However the hospitality has been very good from Shaheed. Food here from the kitchen is Ok food here is very expensive too with not many options, there are many good restaurants nearby that offer very good food. Had a bad experiance with the breakfast here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheeru_414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hi Everyone at Dalethorpe,

This note is just to say HI to you all and thank you for making our trip to Kodaikanal a wonderful and memorable one. Our kids enjoyed playing shuttle,capturing precious moments spent there on camera or simply 'hammocking'. The ambience was absolutely perfect for a more relaxed vacation as this. The food was hot and healthy and we had them to our heart's content, thanks be to the Kitchen paati(as our kids would call her).Thankyou Team Dalethorpe(Mr. Unni& Mr. Biju) for making our holidays so special and memorable!
Looking forward to our next possible trip there already!



THANKS & REGARDS
Felix

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felixirudayaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were a group of 17 people including kids with our family members travelling from different parts of India and eveyone had a different taste and perception of Kodai. I'd booked this place on one of my friend's recommendation. This place is small but good enough to accomodate 20 people comfortably. The best part about this place is that this is open, kids can play without any worry, breakfast in open lawn, home type food and last but not the least - the camp-fire. Credit for all of this goes to Mr. Shaheed who runs this place and is really very helpful. He exactly knows what a guest would need and tries his level best to meet the requirement. The best part of our trip was, the vegetable pakodas; which all of my family members relishes even today; we had a tough time finding good veggie snack (other than south indian) in Kodai and Mr. Shaheed made this possible by providing us the evening snack pretty much along with the tea/coffee on a very short notice after we returned from the market soon after a heavy rain. I'm sure you understand that having pakodas at the time of rain....The the only minus point at this place is the non-availability of hot water at times in the morning hours because of the electricity situation at Kodai but that too is taken care of by Shaheed to an extent by providing hot water in buckets. Overall, its a nice place, not so fancy as other places are; you would more feel like home. Thanks Shaeed for making our trip a wonderful one. Before you book your local sight seeing trip etc. I would recommend that you check with Shaheed on that as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikash75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The bungalow is beautiful. The living arrangements are nice (especially the cabin/suite) but are not anything fancy. What really makes this place stand out is the service -- the owner is very helpful and goes above and beyond to make sure his guests have a great stay. The night we arrived, even though it was late, he went out of his way to make sure that we were able to get dinner in town, and he accompanied us on a wonderful hike as well. Staying at the Dale Thorpe really made our trip great!

Room Tip: We stayed in several of the rooms - the cottage/suite was the nicest. Be careful that you are charg...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.4 km away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,161 reviews
1.4 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.7 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
8.3 km away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalethorpe Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalethorpe Homestay

Address: 1/72 A Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $87 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing