We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are Thieves”
Review of Hotel Jai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jai
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They are Thieves”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

HOTEL JAI was a big disappointment and shock. to start with. we went to kodaikanal on 8th of oct 2010. we stayed there for 3 N & 4 D. at the beggining it was a good stay as the rooms were good but it was scary as no one was in the hotel except us. was little far from Kodai lake Where all the excitement is(about 2 Kms) so we need to walk all the way everyday to visit lake or to shop. The biggest shock came to us was on 11th Our money of about 2800rs was stolen from the hotel room which we have kept in the purse when we went to dinner in the ground floor. It is 100% sure that any one from Hotel staff has done this. when we complaint to hotel manager MR Daiace and MR michell. They did nothing, instead they kept repeating that they trust their staff. We were helpless. Thank god the thief did not take our ATM cards or else we would have no money to return our home. after this incident next morning when i enquired about any out come of their investigation(which they said they will take care of) they responded very causually as if they are not bothered what happened. We very emotionally very hurt. Came back to bangalore litterally disappointed. So my advice to any one going to stay in this HOTEL is.... Please be aware of your expensive things as this hotel is not safe. This is a genuine experience as i am a software engg from Accenture and i have decided to stay here by looking at the good reviews in internet. So Please do not go to this HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abijiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Mr.Abijths,
Thank you for your review. The review which you have posted is very harsh and I would like to tell you that many guests have come and stayed at our hotel after you have posted your review and have said to me personally that your comment is totally false. One guest even said that you do not have the right to call us a thief and you should have gone to the police station and they are the ones who can decide if we are a thief or not.
I would like to come to your case here, no hotel in the world as far as I know would take responsibility for loss of personal belongings of the guest, there is a notice in the room saying that there is a locker facility available at the reception please use it and avail a receipt. Since the option to use it was there I think it’s really unfair to blame us on this.
Next regarding the quietness of the hotel which you experienced I think it’s an advantage if you ask a few travelers who visits Kodaikanal it gives them a chance to relax and recharge before they head back to work and you being a software engineer I’m sorry it hasn’t done that to you. I mean it depends on how people look at it and there is no reason why you need to be scared about the place, I mean during off season it may get a bit quite but there have been people staying with us during that time including aged couples, school girls, working business men etc and none of them have complained about being scared so again as I said it depends on people, besides our hotel is located very close to the Kodai lake it’s just a 5 to 10 minute walk, people who wish to experience quietness would probably be staying 5 or 6 kms away from the lake and then they would need to take a cab to reach there, our hotel is just walking distance to the lake. So I would request you not to generalise that is a bad place to stay for people you are free to express your views however generalising that it’s a scary people and advising people not to stay there I feel it’s very harsh and not right.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    96
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
106
67
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The hotel is located very near to the Kodaikanal lake which itself is a famous tourist spot! the rooms were clean and the room service was good and prompt!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjayPrasaanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Hotel Jai in a good Hotel in Kodaikanal. Nice welcome, Comfortable, Nice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebenezermcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2009

It was an average hotel. hotel is around 1 to 1.5 KM from Bus stand. so if u want to travel cab u will end up in paying 60-100 Rs but u can go by walk also if u dont have more things to carry. Since we booked the room in adv, they picked us on reaching Kodai.room was clean and the room service was ok. but food was below average.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloreLMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Your review has helped us and we have now hired very good chefs and from what I speak to the customers they have very good comments about the food. If you happen to visit Kodai next please do visit us and try our food and give us another review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I had been to this hotel for my honeymoon. Its a good place to stay. However, the restaurant is not so good. It looks like one that are there in dharamshalas. Rooms are big and the ambience is also good, not extremely great though. Good value for money.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay_Bauva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kochi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2009

hotel is just ok.considering the cost its good...food is not upto the mark..just ok..cannot compare with their own sister concern ,hotel hill top.though they tell as buffet breakfast, almost all items are limited.i think its better to stay there and have food from hotel hilltop (near )

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiranramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Your review has helped us and we have now hired very good chefs and from what I speak to the customers they have very good comments about the food. Thank you for your appreciation on Hilltop food our food here in now equal to it. I have also advised the staff on buffet and also am working on renovating the dining area and giving a new look. If you happen to visit Kodai next please do visit us and try our food and give us another review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

kodaikanal as a tourist destination wont appeal to those who have visited north hills like gangtok,nainital,dalhousie,shimla,mussorie but its an ok place for a day or two to beat the heat.not much activities there and sightseeings are not all that great.
the hotel is a budget hotel but quite average.book it on reaching there if its not a very busy time you choose to travel.the room given to us was spacious and neat but it wasnt comfortable(quite cold).hot water was provided only for a couple of hours and it was absolutely muddy.food wasnt all that great.i would recommend the restaurant of sivapriya as a cheaper and better eating place for veggies.its at a walkable distance.therz a restaurant gokul nearby.by all means avoid it.
therz nothing great about the hotel.it is good for budget travellers,can be borne for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank neha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.4 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.0 km away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#17 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 km away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#6 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jai

Property: Hotel Jai
Address: Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jai 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing