We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Lanta Pole Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanta Pole Houses
Ranked #112 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It is great to stay in the old town, and experience the authentic Thai life, rather than the tourist infested places you often get stuck in. With a handful of shops and restaurants it has everything you need, and next door you can hire a scooter for 200 baht to explore the island. The house itself is extremely comfortable. The upstairs main bedroom doesn't have air con, but there is a room downstairs that you can lock yourselves into and sleep there if you get to hot. I highly recommend Fresh restaurant down the road if you end up staying there, the menu is huge and every dish we had was incredible, the staff are also extremely nice (one waiter even asking for a photo with us on our last meal as we had eaten there so many times, and when we gave him a tip he returned with gifts from his souvenir shop). All the people in the old town are extremely nice, and it was a very memorable 5 days.

Room Tip: Coconut house was the best
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank livschweik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at Lantapolehouses. Once again the staff and house exceeded all expectations. This side of the island captures the true essence of a fishing village and unspoiled commercial/tourist development which can, in my humble opinion, ruin a places character. Local food places are great. Susanna and Robbie are fantastic and attend to every detail. I will be back again. Wonderful experience and it's hard to go back to a western lifestyle after relaxing in such a great location. Paradise found!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrekker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

From start to finish our Lanta experience was perfect. The owner, Susanna, organised a lift from the airport and helped immensely when our luggage got lost. She managed to arrange for it to be delivered to our door the next morning and lent us clothes to get us through the first day. Totally uncalled for and just a small example of the Thai friendliness we experienced in Lanta Old Town. We stayed in Lychee (and I think we have Coconut for our next stay), I've been in both and they're very similar. The interior of Lychee is a little nicer, much bigger and probably more accommodating if there's more than 2 of you staying. Coconut has a nicer deck area. The bedroom in Coconut is upstairs on a mezzanine, a little further away from the lapping waves in Lychee, so it's really a personal choice there. Both houses have internet connection, which was perfect for the week we stayed. There's a good video on YouTube giving a tour of Lychee (it's called "Lanta Pole House Tour - Lychee House, Koh Lanta Old Town" and it was posted by Married2Travel).

Neither house offer swimming facilities, at least it's not recommended... but the beach is only a 15min drive away, so grab a tuk tuk or rent a bike for your stay. You'll probably find yourself quite comfortable relaxing on the deck anyway. There's a nice little restaurant down the street, owned by Patu. Go out the front door and take a left. Walk as far as you can and you're there. It's only about 3 or 4 minutes walk. He has good food and it's a really nice spot to relax in the afternoon, maybe play some backgammon.

Lanta Old Town is very remote with little to no nightlife. It lends itself well to a rise-and-fall-with-the-sun type lifestyle. You'll be well rewarded for this regime, the sunrise is the epitome of paradise and there's very little street light at night. So come sunset (at around 7pm in November when we were there) there's plenty of opportunity for stargazing.

If you're looking for a relaxing break, away from tourists and full moon parties, Lanta Pole Houses is it.

Room Tip: Lychee's bedroom is on the ground floor. Coconut's bedroom is on a mezzanine - if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had a holiday at the coconut villa and it is wonderful!
The location is great, close to Lanta Old Town and a street
very quiet. May and Suzzana was a great host.
She loved the view, and I loved falling to sleep to the sound of water lapping against the house foundation. Is this a 5 star resort type of property? No. The manual washing
It took some getting used to, up sleeping without air
Con was a little sweaty, and my brother had the room
air conditioning downstairs. Purpose if you are the a kind of person should have the many extra comforts, this might not be
the house for you. Since we are trying to find a way to
back to Thailand to stay with it again.

PS If you book this house (or anywhere in Ko Lanta), eat in
Fresh in the town. The food can be super.

Room Tip: we like the coconut house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesjj436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed 1 week in this wonderful house, it is a perfect place to relax. At night you hear the water floating and you feel the wind as there are many windows in the sleeping room on the top floor. It is easy to reach the beautiful beaches on the west coast by motorbike. Lanta Old Town is much more interesting than the "villages" on the busy west coast. we can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumpingjacksandposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was a wonderful, beautiful place to lay our heads at night. Away from the tourist craziness, Old Town is a great place to visit and stay on Koh Lanta.
Falling asleep and waking up to the gentle sound of the water lapping below you is so soothing. And the views!! Wow what a sight to to see first thing in the morning or any time of the day. Just to sit and relax while enjoying the deck.

This house would be great for families or romantic couples. Fully self contained you don't need anything else.
Loved it, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CindyBrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

this is the perfect place if you want to stay on koh lanta but don't want to be part of the tourist 'thing'. based in lanta old town - on the 'other' side of the island - you can experience a slice of real life lanta. the house is big and beautiful in its simplicity with a great deck over the water. as it is set right next to other houses, there is a certain level of sound 'spillage', so if you are bothered by this, this one may not be the one for you. susanna, who runs the pole houses is great - very helpful and friendly. great restaurants and bars are close by but don't expect anything to be open beyond 10pm, this is the old town after all...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
11.1 km away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,545 reviews
4.5 km away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,180 reviews
15.1 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
10.7 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
601 reviews
4.8 km away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Pole Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Pole Houses

Address: Sri Raya Rd. | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $62 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All villas feature a private oceanfront deck providing you with a stunning panoramic view of the archipelago from the deck and the interior of the villa. Western bathroom with hot water, High speed wireless internet, Air-con sleeping room, Fully equipped western-style kitchen including range, fridge and everything you need to cook your own meals. The villas are located on Ko Lanta's East Coast in the charming seaside fishing village of Ban Sri Raya, also known as Lanta Old Town.We can arrange a private longtail boat to pick you up from your own back deck! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanta Pole Houses Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing