We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants and hair!”
Review of Sonya Restaurant

Sonya Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 514 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Price range: C$3 - C$9
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I wrote a review a few days ago about how much I liked the food. Yesterday (dec 3, 2012) I found a long black hair in my spring roll, no problem it happens. I sent it back no problem and ordered again. New ones came and were great.

The following morning we ate here, I found a long black hair in my breakfast. Picked it out because my girlfriend stresses out if I send something back.

Tonight (dec 4, 2012) my girlfriend and I ordered papaya salad---AMAZING and ordered 2 pad thai. Both arrived and ants were crawling on the plates when it was in front of us. I showed the young waitress and she saw ants crawling around. A short nervous laugh and the plates were removed. I went to the kitchen to cancel anymore dishes and asked for the bill.

It's a shame... We ate here for 4 days in a row. Great food... Great prices. But we won't be back.

-Canada-

1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Sonya's is a great restaurant with good service and value for money! They have a range of Thai and Western dishes but what stands out the most for me is the "Build Your Own" options for breakfast and pastas. They have a huge selection of very high quality ingredients making it very easy for you to enjoy exactly what you are hungry for! Definitely check it out if you are on Koh Lanta!

Date of visit: December 2011
Thank luke5_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Easily the best restaurant on Koh Lanta. Here prices are reasonable and the food is cooked properly with use of the right ingredients. Staff is very friendly and atmosphere good. We tried a dozen different restaurants, but kept coming back here.

Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Sonyas is really an extremely good restaurant to eat at. Dishes are all very authentic and you get them for a good price (main dishes around 80 baht). Rice is included, which makes a huge difference (costs usually around 20-40 baht extra). Portions are very good, when ordering a fruit plate for example you get Mango, Papaya, Banana, Pineapple, Dragonfruit! For Koh Lanta standards, the restaurant is very clean and lovely decorated with lots of plants and orchids (the owner "Luc" has a fav for them ;) ). The service personal can speak good English. They are more than happy to lend a helping hand with bungalows, recommendations, organizing trips. For those who rented a scooter, Luc will have a "Lanta Biker's Map" for you. Simply ask for it at the counter. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits Koh Lanta and wants a bit of family-feeling, great atmosphere and delicious food.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peppereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 18, 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sonya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sonya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.