We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,431)
Filter reviews
2,431 results
Traveller rating
2,063
266
56
37
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
266
56
37
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool villa rak talay krabi airport private jetty rice restaurant beach restaurant why not bar the banyan tree upper pool upper part spiced rice our honeymoon deluxe room the upper level koh haa the general manager boat transfer
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 2,431 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Phenomenal stay....Enjoyed every minute of it. Where do I start? Its difficult, as the place is too good to even describe by words. Excellent facilities.

It is best to be experienced. We are seasoned travellers and we have travelled the world over the past 25 years....travelling to all continents and having stayed in a large number of facilities. Clearly Pimalai Resorts and Spa outshone every other place we have stayed in, in every department.

The rooms are good sized, well appointed, super comfy beds, a very nice private balcony and excellent beverages in the room. The washroom is very nice. And the Housekeeping is really great....very responsive and every thing in the room is quality.

The breakfast is simply excellent. I would like to compliment the chefs for a phenomenal menu, great variety and excellent to taste, apart from a very wide choice of fruits and fresh juices. A great job done. My wife is a pure vegetarian. However the chef took pains to come to our table especially made vegetarian delicacy. We were so touched by their concern.

The beachside facilities including Kayaking, snorkelling etc are free and really enjoyable. Apart from the location, the beach is very beautiful, fine white sands and no rocks.

The restaurants have befitting ambience and have excellent views...esp The Seven Seas.

We enjoyed the Pimalai Signature massage at the Spa. It was an outstanding experience....excellent and professional massage by trained personnel.

Every detail at Pimalai has been looked into....the staff is very responsive, swift in action, very courteous and I would not do justice if I do not praise them enough. The lobby is excellent and a very helpful Front desk.

We really appreciate the management's hard work and the efforts, the pains they took to ensure that every guest was most comfortable. Though I did not meet the manager, I would have liked to convey my appreciation for their high standards and competence, personally.

We will like to come back to Pimalai for sure, after all you made our vacations a "dream holiday".

Thank you for every thing and just keep up the good work.

Please convey are sincere thanks, regards and compliments to all members of the Pimalai Team. They are doing a great job and we wish them well.

Dr sanjay Khanna and Dr Jasmeet Khanna.

Room Tip: The Pavilion Rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay N Jasmee... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckDeLestapis, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear Sanjay N Jasmee... K
Thank you so much for the great review. Very pleased to read about the Chef meeting your needs with vegetarian options and also the very helpful front desk team. Great to hear that we are on the right tracks.
Thank you for staying with us and Sunny regards from all @ Pimalai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Wow the resort is just stunning!! We debated a few hotels on Koh Lanta and decided to splurge on this one - 100% worth it!

Location was perfect for us. It’s situated on the beach within walking distance to other restaurants and bars (see my reviews of Pad Thai Rock and Roll and Why Not bar). In terms of activities, Pimalai has some complimentary rentals. We took the paddle boards out one day and laid out on the cabanas the rest of the day. They also provide a bunch of other activities for additional cost. We did the sunset tour to Koh Haa and it was amazing!! They take you out from their private Jetty so it’s super convenient. There’s two snorkel spots and then you relax on the boat with wine and beer and canapés while watching the sun set! Seemed a bit pricey at first, but it was totally worth it. We debated doing the full day snorkel to two islands. You can’t go wrong but I think we made the right choice given that we only had two full days in Lanta

In terms of the property, there are multiple restaurants (see my review of Spice and rice!) and bars on the property all with amazing views. The two infinity pools each have amazing amenities and views too! The daily included breakfast is also wonderful, great selection and amazing views.

Oh and transportation to the resort was a BREEZE. They pick you up from the airport and while the journey to Koh Lanta can be quite long (2 hours by car and boat), they make it seamless and relaxing!! Looking back, that was a huge benefit and service that is included by the hotel.

Will never forget this place!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckDeLestapis, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear Michelle T

Thank you so much for the great review and great to read you will never forget this place. Indeed and thank you for mentioning it, quite a few activities are offered free to our guests; and thank you also for highlighting that we offer free of charge the transfer from Krabi airport to the resort and return, and yet that is a huge benefit.
Thank you for staying with us & sunny Regards from all @ Pimalai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

As soon as you arrive at Pimalai's own jetty you are made to feel special. The trip to the resort is by Pimalai's own high speed launch , the attentive crew offering iced water, and takes about three quarters of an hour. When we arrived we were greeted by the General Manager Monsieur Franck de Lestapis, how many hotels do that ? and a smiling receptionist with a garland of flowers, that's special !
The resort has been created out of the jungle, the grounds are beautifully kept and the groundsmen are constantly cleaning, sweeping and maintaining, always ready with a smile and a hello.
Our room ( 124 )was very well equipped with an iron, ironing board, slippers, flip-flops,beach bag, robes and umbrella.We were supplied with water everyday and gifts of fruit. The room was kept beautifully clean by the house keeping team and again that wonderful smile and a hello.
The restaurants have high standards of neatness, cleanliness with a good choice of foods, well presented and again excellent service with a smile.
The beach and pool loungers had towels supplied and Alif on the beach seemed to be always on hand with iced water, fruit, a ready smile and a hello. Great service Alif !
All the resort team were neat ,tidy, smartly dressed and always ready to help with a smile !
We felt that Monsieur Franck de Lestapis and his Team gave a service second to none and worked tirelessly to provide an excellent service and always with a smile.
Yes, we always felt special and are looking forward to returning to Pimalai.
They even have their own airport representative at Krabi to help with any issues.
Well done Franck !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckDeLestapis, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Mo J - thank you very much for placing a nice and positive review on trip advisor.
Credits should be given to the crew who runs the show and are being often recognized by our guets are being very friendly, attentive and giving their best ; Thank you for mentioning Alif - he will be told and will surely be very proud. Great to read that you will return to see us.
Sunny regards from all @ Pimalai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

The only thing I wish we'd done differently about our stay here was book more days.

We tried all different budgets of hotel while we were in Thailand, and Pimalai was definitely one of the most expensive, so we were a bit nervous – but after staying, I can say without a doubt that it's worth it. The included speedboat transfer is brilliant – it takes you through the Talabeng islands, which are limestone karsts similar in appearance to Hong Island, and Halong Bay, and is basically like a day trip in itself. We were treated to complimentary massages at the spa, and were upgraded from our double room to a beach front suite, which was a wonderful surprise. The room we were in was GORGEOUS. Definitely worth paying the extra for if you have the spare cash. Even without those extras though, we still would have thought the money we spent was worth it though, as the service provided and hotel appearance (it was a resort but didn't feel like a resort, if you know what I mean) was so top notch. We transferred to the Amari Vogue afterwards for two nights, which we paid the same price for, and while it was a nice resort, it didn't really compare to Pimalai. We'd wished we'd just stayed two extra nights at Pimalai instead!

The resort is located on Kantiang Bay, which is one of the prettiest beaches on Koh Lanta. The one thing to be aware of is that prices for food and drinks are slightly higher all over Kantiang than other Koh Lanta beaches, and the restaurants feel slightly busier than say, Klong Nin, because the beach is a bit smaller and so slightly more concentrated. We looked at it as the price you pay to be somewhere extra beautiful – Saladan, for instance, is the cheapest area but also the most built up. Within the hotel the prices for food and drinks are also quite expensive compared to other bars and restaurants, though there is a very good happy hour offer on cocktails, and there are much more affordable restaurants within a ten minute beach walk away, so you're not stuck. It's also worth noting that the bars and restaurants in the hotel, while more expensive, are also much more upscale. Though we did think 100baht for a scoop of ice cream was a bit much!

From the hotel, it's very easy to get to the National Park, and nearby Bamboo and Nui beach, which are stunning. I'd say we slightly preferred Bamboo Beach to Kantiang. We also visited the nearby waterfall, which was a great experience. I'd say if you can drive though, try and rent a car – taxis all over Koh Lanta are pretty expensive and really start to add up! If you're confident on a motorbike that works too but is a little more risky.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckDeLestapis, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Emma C - Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review . Greatly appreciated - we will not pretend to be the ultimate luxury destination and rest on our laurels. Indeed constant change is required for us to be near the lead in what we offer our guests in a very competitive market. We work hard and have demonstrated over the years that we are a quality resort - even if we do mistakes form time time - as witnessed by many guests who keep returning to stay with us. On a personal note, please make sure that the first ice cream is on the house on your next return :-) -
With sunny regards from all @ Pimalai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

This is a great resort located in a remote beach on Koh Lanta Island. Superb views from the rooms over this Beautiful bay. Really good food and drinks. Highly Recommended resort for Honeymooners, Couples, Weddings, Renewal of vows. Nice staff and beutiful sourroundings, very well kept gardens.

Room Tip: Go for the Pool Villas on the Hillside with Amazing Views!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellingiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranckDeLestapis, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Travellingiguana

Thank you for your short and very positive review,.

Sunny regards from all @ Pimalai including the Gardeners ! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews