We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Koh Phangan was the place in Thailand which we settled at for the longest, 5 days. We were there for the Full Moon Party and my friends birthday so we booked into the Sunset Hill Resort with plans to relax in the lap of luxury and we weren't disappointed. The room was fabulous and very clean with all the mod cons. The veiws from the Sunset Lounge were absolutely amazing during the day, and at sunset... just WOW! The staff were very welcoming an so helpful whenever we needed anything. I will definitely be staying there again if I go back to Thailand and would highly recommend the Sunset Hill Resort to anyone looking to stay in Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    118
    44
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
236
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our party stayed at the Sunset Hill Resort for 2 nights, and was most enjoyable. The hotel is nicely laid out, and feels very spacious. The spotless rooms are modern, but still have that Asia touch! The resort is peaceful with the most amazing views, I would recommend a cocktail in the bar for sunset! Staff were friendly and helpful, but I have to say my favorite member of staff is monkey the hotel dog ;)...
On the downside, it is located in a very quite part of island. And if I had any other comments it would be for more loungers at the pool,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and unwind and get away from it all, not a place for some of the party people who visit Koh Phagnan....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clairebear12840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The rooms were very clean and modern. The location was far enough away to relax and enjoy the beautiful sea views, but close enough to get to the beach etc.
The staff at the sunset hill resort really made this trip! So helpful and kind. The food was yummy and the cocktails were delicious.
We were in a group of 6 and there to experience the famous full moon party. The hotel organised everything for us! Dinner, transport (with takeaway bacardi breezers!) and told us everything we needed to know. Although, they could have warned us more about those buckets of booze ha ha.
I would reccomend this place to everyone, I honestly can't fault it one bit.
Thanks again to the staff for looking after us. We miss sitting with our Mai Tai's on the thai chairs looking out to the beautiful sea!!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

The best hotel we stayed at the full moon party was awesome and we had the best time! Defs coming back !!!!! :-) Nic

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic69_hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Many thanks for a comfortable and very pleasant stay. Staff friendly and very helpful. definitely recommend for comfort and value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at Sunset Hill Resort for the last 10 nights of our month long trip through Thailand. The Resort is situated on the North West of the Island near great snorkelling beaches and away from the party places in Haad Rin which is why we chose the resort in the first place.

What we found at Sunset Hill Resort was much more than we had ever expected though..... Amazing views and surrounds at the resort, we encountered so much beautiful wildlife whilst lazing by the pool or sitting in the reception gazing at the jaw dropping sunsets!

All of the staff at Sunset Hill were super helpful from the moment we arrived until the minute that we left. Aswell as giving us tips on where to go and how to get places they organised tours and cars and anything else we needed. We ended up hanging out with them and came to think of them more as friends by the end of our stay that we didn't want to have to say good bye to!

We stayed in the "Jasmine" part of the resort facing away from the ocean. The room was like a small apartment with a kitchenette, really comfy and well decorated. It became our "home away from home" The room had air-conditioning and a fan to circulate the cold air which was on most occasions a great relief from the scorching sun outside. The house staff were so thorough and we arrived back from our adventures everyday to find the room spotless and fresh towels etc waiting.

My boyfriend and I both agreed that of all the places we stayed in Thailand Sunset Hill was by far the best and most memorable for us. We still think it is unbelievable value. It cost us the same amount to stay in Koh Tao for 3 nights as it did to stay at Sunset Hill for 10 nights! We will be back to Koh Phangan again and would not stay anywhere else.

Note - A couple of tips for people heading here: There is a bike hire just down the hill from the resort that deals with Sunset Hill so you get a good price. The guy that owns the place is so helpful and after a day of having our bike he came up to the resort to let us know that there was a more powerful bike had just been returned that he would swap over for us for no extra cost. Riding around the island on motor bike is the best way to see all of the amazing sights that Phangan has to offer. The roads are really well maintained (apart from a few pot holes that you have to keep an eye out for) and as long as you are safe I'd totally recommend getting a bike (for 10 days it cost us 1800 TB = $55 Aus) Taxi's we found were a bit pricey (500TB for one trip!)
The staff at the resort also warned us about things like this - ie what we might get ripped off with , which again was really helpful to know. They can also organise bikes/cars that can be dropped directly to you at the resort.

An awesome restaurant near the resort is Big Mountain. We ate here everyday. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the food is AMAZING and so cheap. Under $10 Aus for non alco drinks and heaps of food. Seriously crazy!

There is a bar across the road from Big Mountain called Charlie's Bar. It's a must visit also. The bar can't be described in words. It has been built around a tree and has so many cool little sitting places and well it has to be seen to be believed. The bar is one reason to go but the main reason for a visit is definitely the owner Charlie. He is such a character and so welcoming. A really great guy who we befriended and will never forget. We spent our last night in Phangan at Charlie's Bar (with other guests and staff from Sunset Hill, locals from the island and other travellers) singing to live music, making new friends and soaking up the atmosphere. A night we will remember always.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karratha
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the sunset lounge for six days this year. It was fantastic! The staff were very friendly, flexible with our needs and generally very accomodating - thanks guys.. The view from our room was amazing, the sunsetting over the ocean, the palm trees ahhhh pure heaven! I would recommend this hotel to people foa loveley relaxing holiday

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
9.9 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
15.2 km away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 km away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
10.1 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing