We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
338
147
57
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
147
57
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret beach infinity pool grand sea view koh phangan the penthouse full moon party huge balcony free shuttle building work our honeymoon a lovely stay the hotel offers stayed here for nights beautiful room we loved our stay rent a scooter low season
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 590 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2015

Staff were lovely, like a family! Amazing view, excellent restaurant and the pool of your dreams. We returned there after we do not want another hotel that was not good. When I'm back in Thailand I'm sure come back to this hotel, no doubt. Really a perfect place.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sapir808f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetHill_Resort, Operations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2015

Dear sapir808f,
Greetings from Koh Phangan, Thailand!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Sunset Hill Resort!
It was certainly a pleasure to read that you found the family atmosphere in our staffs and that you thoroughly enjoyed our amazing views and the pool. Your comments are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team, as there is nothing more motivating than guests who take the time to send a note of appreciation.
We are already looking forward to your return trip and promise to try even harder to make Sunset Hill a place of good cozy memories and unforgettable experience again.
Warm regards,
AUNG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this wonderful place with my wife and two children. Set in an amazing location, this boutique resort has breathtaking views across to Ang Muang Marine Park. Naturally as you would expect the sunset is special. The apartments are modern, clean and tastefully decorated throughout and the whole place is Buddhist themed. The pool was amazing, the kids loved it, and the pool bar managed by the lovely Anna meant we didn't really need to leave the resort. All the staff were helpful from booking the place with Erika to sorting out our boat travel and anything else we needed. Highly recommended.

The foot was splendid in the restaurant and t

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetHill_Resort, Operations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2015

Dear Khun Marcus,
Greetings from Koh Phangan, Thailand!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sunset Hill Boutique Resort and for giving us a high rating. As you correctly mentioned our rooms are indeed Buddhist themed and is one of the favorite aspects of our guests whom often describes it fondly on it's unique layout, luxury and peacefulness.
Thank you also for highly recommending our resort. We love to hear from you that we have kept our standards at the level of guests full satisfaction. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Anna & Erica who are doing a great job.
Should your travel plans include a return trip to our beautiful Island please contact us directly so that we may create another memorable stay just for you and your family. As a token of our appreciation we would also like to invite you to join our Sunset Gold Club, entitling you and your friends or family to a 10% discount for all future stays booked with us directly. Simply e-mail us at info@sunsethillresort.com with your reservation request.
Wishing you and your family the best in your future endeavors.
Warm Regards,
AUNG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed here with my partner about a year ago now, really nice spot and hotel. This was the final stay on our trip and we were looking to relax after going to busy Bangkok and Phuket. We arrived late to sunset hill and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

We woke up the next morning to go and explore the island. After having such trustworthy staff at our 2 previous motels (Bangkok and Phuket) we left our hotel, leaving the "DO NOT DISTURB" tag on the door. Thinking the staff would respect our privacy, like our other accommodation in Thailand, we left and locked the room with our bags open, planning to sort through all our belongings once we got back from exploring. My partner and I came home to 2 staff members cleaning out our room, even though we left the tag on the door, indicating to them that we didn't want our room made up, they ignored it and did so anyway...

Immediately we thought that something wasn't right, but we didn't question the staff as the walked out, just thinking that they cleaned our room up. About half an hour later, we checked through all our belongings only to notice a few small, expensive items were missing. We were positive we had them the night before because we were sorting through all of the items we had purchased. Noticing that items from back in Australia, that were really important to us were missing, made us feel sick in the stomach.

We immediately complained to the front desk and there was noting they could do about it. Obviously they took their staffs side and said that they would never do something like that, we were positive that the 2 ladies that turned over our room had stolen from us. We then spoke to the owner of the resort who was not very sympathetic and helpful in the situation.

It was such a shame that this happened, because the resort has so much potential. Please if your going to stay here ALWAYS KEEP YOUR BELONGINGS LOCKED UP! NOONE CAN BE TRUSTED.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammstonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2015

Thank you for your positive comments about our friendly staff, beautiful location and for calling our hotel great!

Unfortunately you mention “after more than a year” about a less positive experience which we thought it was finished to your satisfaction. We jave investigated this matter and found that you were upset that housekeeping cleaned your room even though you put the: “do not disturb” sign up and you told us you were missing some (fake) watches.
The housekeeping staff that cleaned your room at the time already work in our resort for almost 4 years and we know they are very honest and never took anything from our guests.
As reception explained to you they still cleaned your room because it was getting near the end of their shift and they had seen you were at the swimming pool and thought you might have forgotten to change the sign and would be unhappy if the room could not be cleaned anymore that day.

We apologize for this “mistake by good intension” and as you know, we have since this incident implemented a strict policy for housekeeping to always adhere to the sign on the door and put a letter under the door why the room could not be cleaned.

The owner remembered that he had advised you to report the missing items to the police but that you did not want to do that. He recalled that you reported the items as found the next day after you had sorted through your stuff, so we are very surprised with your review now.
Nonetheless we agree with your recommendation of always using the safety box provided in each of our rooms for extra peace of mind.
We hope that you had many great memories of your trip to Thailand.
Best regards from the Sunset Hill Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015

This hotel was just perfect. We've stayed in the junior suite. The room was beautiful , 5 stars western standards. The view amaizing. And the service was just a perfect ten...We were upgraded due to a leg injury to a better room with less stairs. The staff knew our names and was concerened with our every need. They helped in changing flights for us and booking the diving we wanted though it was a bit late. The resterant was great. Great food great service. The pool is beautiful and clean and open 24 hours which we loved. We really really enjoyed it. It is however more suitable for travellers with a car, located up a hill. Also better for travellers who arent really keen on being close to the action ( 45 min drive from Haad RIn)

Room Tip: Sea view in this hotel is orobably the way to go. Junior suite was amaizing
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Orit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Sunset-Hill, Operations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Dear Khun Orit W,
Greetings from Koh Phangan, Thailand!
Thank you for choosing Sunset Hill Resort for your recent stay on our beautiful Island. We know that you had a variety of hotels to choose from and we are honored that you have selected our resort.
It was certainly a pleasure to read that both of you thoroughly enjoyed our Junior Suite room, facilities and the services Sunset Hill has to offer. Your comments on the atmosphere of our resort, staff and food are most gratifying and I will be sure to share with all the team members, as there is nothing more motivating than guests who take the time to send a note of appreciation.
We would strive even more to create memorable experiences for all who visit us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in the very near future.
Warm Regards,
AUNG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

We stayed at Sunset Hill in July 2015 and planned to stay at one hotel for the entire trip. The hotel was a little hard to find and, despite being on a very high hill. It's not within walking distance of much, however the island is small. Suggest getting around on a scooter which will be needed to see just about anything.

The grounds are beautiful with a majestic view of the ocean-that I can say. The rooms are beautifully decorated & well kept, though there are other places on the island for a cheaper price that are just as nice. If you have mobility issues, getting from room to reception might be difficult. The property is sprawling & built on a hill with steep inclines in the paths.

We stayed just one night, due to the rudeness & poor service of one staff member (whom with her higher-than-thou attitude, I thought was surely the owner).
The 2 women who assisted during check-in were had beautiful demeanor & very hospitable, possibly local. However, the reservations lady was quite rude and above herself.
I later asked one of the women at reception, who confirmed that she is staff in charge of bookings.

Both my husband and I-on 2 separate incidences were met with the rudest person we met on all of Ko Phangan.

In my particular instance, we already made the decision to leave after just one night because of the encounters with this lady.

She did herself one-up at checkout. I approached the counter and waited to be serviced. She stayed on her computer while I stood not more than 4 feet away from her without acknowledging me for over 4 minutes.

One of the local women walked in at noon, assuming the beginning of her shift. At which time, she juts out her arm without an acknowledgement to that woman or even a glance and hands her a piece of paper with "new check-ins". I can respect that she's not reception, maybe had work to do-but probably not best to put her in face of public.

If you are big on service this is not the place to stay. I write this review based on 2 separate instances of rudeness.

I am not a hard customer to please. I simply ask to be spoken to with respect. I believe that if a customer walks from their room all the way to reception (which is a far trek, considering the sprawling layout of the hotel)-they are probably in need of assistance and should be acknowledged.

Room Tip: Not for guests with limited mobility
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Siren_Songs671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Sunset-Hill, Operations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2015

Dear Siren_Songs671,
Greetings from Koh Phangan, Thailand!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us regarding your stay in July but we are truly saddened to read this feedback. While it seems that your overall resort experience was excellent, this is a lesson how the check-in experience, not to mention, consistency of service are so important. As a general rule, this is the philosophy we live and operate under.
We would like to thank you for your positive comments on the rooms and our majestic views from the hotel grounds and we are particularly pleased to inform you that our reception has been shifted to the newly built lobby area where the guests from all buildings have faster and smoother access. Referring to your comments regarding our reservation lady, we have already discussed in our meeting and she felt very sorry and would like to apologize for her behavior at the time which were caused by some personal issues and had nothing to do with you or the guests and will make sure it does not happen again. Her actions were extremely inappropriate and lacked the respect you deserved. From your point of view we fully understand that this was truly unprofessional and unacceptable. In the future, we have every intention of curbing our actions and learn to adjust our behavior befitting our valuable guest such as you. It was not hers nor our intention to cause any inconvenience at all. While I won't go into details here, rest assured she will be taken serious actions for her inappropriate attitude.
I must admit that this is a lesson learned for all that 90% of your stay was wonderful, as you note, yet two unfortunate experiences - check in and check-out - led you to feel the resort deserved a low ranking. Having said that I would like to thank you for expressing your dissatisfaction so that we can take this very seriously by establishing corrective measures.
I do hope that we can convince you to return to our resort and we would be privileged to have another opportunity to show the real Sunset Hill Resort to you. I would like to extend an invitation to you to join our Sunset Gold Club, entitling you and your friends or family to a 10% discount for all future stays booked with us directly. Simply e-mail me at info@sunsethillresort.com with your reservation request and I will personally ensure that your stay is VIP.
We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.
Warm regards,
AUNG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews