We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, but patio view delightful”
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salad Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I was not a hotel guest, but a semi-happy restaurant patron. I endured an arduous hike in the heat, and it was lovely to stop in for a beer and shrimp papaya salad. The food options are pricier than the Haad Yao restaurants I visited. It felt long waiting for our dishes to arrive, but maybe I was famished and dehydrated.

I've noticed that servers are not animated and do not make one feel welcome in general in Thailand. The same attitude at this resort.

I also did not like that the server provided the cutlery after the plates were set on the table. There would have been plenty of time to prepare for this. When the food arrives one just wants to eat.

My papaya shrimp salad was beautifully presented with very spicy hot chilli pepper and garlic. It was only satisfactory. The vegetables were warm (I didn't want stirfry) and both peanuts and green beans were soggy.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank brendabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel, knowing it was going to be basic. Myself and my partner just really wanted a bed and shower to go to as we had to be just heading to the full moon parties etc. A number of things let the hotel down.
1- Air con- the air con was located over the bed in which it was dripping out dirty water. My partner had to regularly get up and wipe down the air con to prevent this happening. Instead we just chose to sweat it out... literally.
2- The toliet- no flushing ANY tissue in. Therefore soiled toliet rolls were to be placed in the basket to smell up the already small room!
3- Shower- the shower located in the bathroom was useless. Little to no power and it was communal to the toliet & sink. Myself and partner had to shower in our flip flops as we didnt trust that the floor was even clean.
-4- The room in general- outdated and in massive need of refurbishment. They use 2 pin sockets rather than the new 3 pin that we had an adapter for and have used in all of our previous hotels. When I asked reception staff they were little to not helpful. Told me to go to the electric shop and get a new one that would fit. This shop was an hour away. We were also given 2 single beds that were later pushed together by the cleaners to give us our "double".

Advantages of the hotel is that it is located on a nice enough beach. Nice enough sunset on it too.

We are a young irish couple who wouldnt usually be fussy with things at all. We read reviews here and didnt listen. Although we wish now that we did. After about 5 hours here we booked another hotel that is absolutely AMAZING!!! Please do not be as niave as we were and listen to reviews. There were lots of just bad vibes from the beginning! - holes in doors, doors seemed to be easily opened regardless of having a key. I could go on!

We didnt bring any of this to the attention of staff as we didnt want to be upgraded or given another room. We just wanted out! On walk around the resort all the other rooms seemed to be similarly outdated and probably with similar problems to ours.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emzic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The hotel is nice but the people working there is really rude. Don't eat in the restaurant, bad food and expensive.The hotel is good for families, no party hotel. In low season at least theres nothing around, everything was close and prices in the area are higher than in the rest of koh phangan. A bit far of everything. For me at least Had Rin is better area to stay. Beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located in a stunning part of the island with your own private beach at the rear of the property. Rooms were nice and the breakfast was delicious.

We stayed here for 2 nights during the full moon party, the only negative is that it's about a 45 minute drive from the full moon party, long way to travel at 6am after a huge night!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

A little expensive for the quality. Rooms were average..first room we got had a bunch of little bugs crawling in the beds so that turned us off but we got a new room once we complained and it appeared to be fine. Right on the beach so that was nice. The room wasnt cleaned every day despite the sign left on the door..not a terrible room just asking a little too much price wise. It did have ac though.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Desirée B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

First stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and it was good. I am afraid it is now in need of a facelift. The pool villa is large no tea and coffee making facilities a safe which is in the most difficult place on the floor to get access to. Bathroom very old with shower in the toilet area. Breakfast was basic with little choice. Good points very good staff both at reception and restaurant I was given a lone of a kettle and cups. Pool is very clean, lots of comfortable sunbeds both at the beach deck and pool.
Pool villas noisy when there are lots of children as these rooms are more expensive
I would recommend the garden villas instead. It was not value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AllyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

CON:
Complicated direct booking system where we for about a month exchanged more than 20 mails just to confirm and pay the deposit.
No mosquitonet over the bed. With 4 days of rain during our stay, we would have appreciated it

PRO:
Stayed at the front beach bungalow which was amazing. We travelled with a 6 month old infant who went to bed around 6 o clock and the restaurant served us dinner at the terrace every night. GREAT and very appreciated service and easy for us + the food was excellent and cheap.
All staff members were very helpful and smiling all the time. They praised our daugther, played with her, hugged her and made parenting easier.
The massages we got at Salad Beach Resort ruined it for all futuring spa treatments - Mr Magic Hands and Miss Healing Touch releaved months of stress and send ud to heaven with their professionel massage.
The pool was perfect for our babygirls daily short swims and we fell a sleep to the sound of the waves every night.
We will come back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Leyla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 km away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
576 reviews
9.3 km away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
2 km away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#40 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
513 reviews
2.6 km away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
9.8 km away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: Salad Beach Resort | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $37 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing