We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well impressed”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in Milky Bay resort for 4 nights around the full moon party. Our STANDARD Double BUNGALOW was clean, comfortable and well equiped. (A/C, TV/DVD player, ,fridge, safe, hairdryer, torch etc) The mini bar was really well priced compared to others. Best nights sleep in a while. Loved the friendly helpful staff. The resort organised regular taxis the night of the full moon party to and from Hadd Rin and were a lot cheaper (return ticket) than normal taxis. Breakfast was included in our room price and was delicious. The resort itself has a deep pool, massage centre, steam room, badminton court, DVD selection, table tennis area, pool table, book swap, car/mopeds/bike rentals and free computers at reception. The resort is very well maintained and quite. They offer free transfer to/from the piers. Stay here.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a villa which was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry_gal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

stayed here for 4 nights in a bungalow, was very nice, was clean and well maintained, staff were very friendly and helpful, restaurant was great, food was delicious, the resort its self was spot on, very quiet, good location, only problem was we had a lot of ants come in one night and woke up with a number of them in bed with us, overall was a good resort

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The best parts about Milky Bay are the friendly people that work there and the onsite restaurant. Every meal we had there (and we ate there most days) was delicious. Some of the rooms seemed a bit dark though. We had originally booked a (more expensive) deluxe apartment, but asked to be “downgraded” to a superior bungalow, which was smaller but more light and clean feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I Have stay at Milky Bay Resort for 3 nights in a Superior room, all is very nice and best for me, the staff at reception, Housekeeping and restaurant is very friendly and help full for any thong that you need

the restaurant is very nice for view and good testes for Thai food
We are very happy to stay here ,we will come back asap
Thank you very thing from milky bay resort

Room Tip: Please call to hotel for pick up service is free of charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Milky Bay Transportation met us at the pier, and check in was quick & easy. Our room was huge and offered everything we needed. The beds and pillows are a bit hard, but overall a fantastic value for money resort. The staff are all really friendly and pleasant - special mention to Win and Solo!. We loved the massage service on the premises. The restaurant is brilliant, food is great and the atmosphere fantastic. Don't miss Happy Hour between 5-7 pm!!

We did however have a small issue with the in-house scooter rental company (which we were made to believe was owned by the hotel). Be aware that even the smallest scratch or mark on the scooter, will result in the renter being charged highly for a new (replacement) part.
Our issue was resolved (owner level) with a compromise-credit to our final account - thank you Chris.
Overall we were pleasantly surprised with all that Milky Bay Resort had to offer and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I will most certainly suggest Milky Bay Resort to all. It's a great central location to base yourself at in order to explore the whole of Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We moved down from Haad Salad at the top of the island to Milky Bay in Baan Tai because we wanted to be closer to the full moon party. It has really nice beach and rooms however we felt the food was a bit overpriced and "toned down" definitely not as authentic as other food we had tried elsewhere. The sea is warm and clear but there's no way you can swim in it as the tide is really low all day it barely goes up to your waist. Be aware that it is far away enough from the full moon party to avoid the madness but also close enough to conveniently jump into a taxi but if you are planning to drive there yourself there is some very steep hills on the 20 minute journey to Haad Rin. Overall it is a nice resort we just didn't feel it was as authentic or good value as other places on the island. Also if you go definitely check out Fisherman’s restaurant 10 minutes’ walk down the road towards Baan Tai pier where there is also a funky floating bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestyandFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

this place, snuggled in a bamboo forrest, is simply beautiful. kudos to the ever present owner.
i went a little hardcore and gor a villa. while having the room was nice, it may be seen as a little over kill for someone only wanting to party and explore.
the bungalo's seemed good value, despite much less floor space.
my first night was a down side, as at some point the aircon gave out, and it got so hot to the point i couldnt sleep, so i had to crash on the uncomfotable couch under the fan. no further problems beyond that. EXCEPT>>>>>> on the last day, i discovered 8000 baht had been taken from my suitcase.. yes it was my fault for leaving it open, but still, the only person beyond myself in there was the cleaning lady. not happy about that. the receptionist couldnt even get the police to come out, and i couldnt go there as i had a ferry to catch :(
getting past those sad points, this place is amazing. whether you spend your days lazing on the sand bank 50 meters out reading a book sipping a juice, or gorging yourself in the great dining area, or lounging by the (very deep) pool.
play a free game of pool, ping pong or volley ball, get a massage or just sunbake, this place is a great relaxing base, especially for going to the half moon party.
pizza's here are great, as is the fish, the nightly bbq is a great idea. they even took special orders... i got a margarita pizza, and got them to put one of the special sausages on it... OMG to die for.
eat and drink your heart out here, as we did, and charged it to the room (cringe)... but at the end of a 4 day stint, eating 3 course meals, drinking to the point of silly each night, and doing all kinds, we were pleasantly surpised at the end when we got told it all only came to a total of AUD$100.
the scooters from this place were cheap to hire, but werent the best scooters we had been on, but at least 90% reliable :)
we had a small party outside our room on a set of tables that ended up with about 10 people or so (crazy drunken japanese), and the staff even joined in... we managed to get fluro paint all over the table (i imagine its still there)... sorry to the owner!
the place is a little hard to find, but thats what makes it secluded i suppose.
all the staff had good english.
the idea of fishponds all around the villas is a great one!
all in all, a great choice, its just sad about the two let downs :(
but i will be back.

Room Tip: if its just a base, get a bungalo, but if your gonna spend time in the room, get a villa, very spacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanton-chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
10.2 km away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
571 reviews
6.8 km away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
552 reviews
9.7 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
7 km away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
8.9 km away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $35 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing