We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,727)
Filter reviews
1,727 results
Traveller rating
643
533
277
146
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
533
277
146
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach tree house long beach thai food tasting mosquito net free tasting walk into town taxi boat long tail boat standard bungalow free transfer steep steps phi phi town main area baht per person night life nice beach
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 1,727 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Nice decorated and naturel resort with some excellent rooms.
Room C4 is one of the best.
Good food in an extraordinary, really nice looking restaurant.
Great flowers, candels, decoration and good music also.
The beach is small and nice, the walk to town is not to much problems, about 25 minutes.
The staff in the restaurant is something for this resort to instruct, they are friendly, but they just don't know how to operate in the right way.
There are only a few broken wooden chairs on the beach in which you will get
backproblems!
If there were some nice lounge chairs on the beach i would think of return to this lovely place...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaopadkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stay away of this resort! It's a rip off and very noisy. Sheets and blanckets were dirty altough we stayed in the 4000 baht/night room Makmai 1A. Smaller rooms like superior and standard are as big as the bed, there is no extra space. No warm water in the whole resort. Construction around all buildings even during high season and the most unfriendly manager we have ever met.
The only plus is the nice restaurant.
Enjoy your trip to Koh Phi Phi and stay at another place, the island and the beaches are beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeguard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was our first stop on our 6 week holiday. We loved the location, 20 min. walk to the town and partying but quiet and relaxing place to be. Able to also get to town by longtail; 100 BHT per person, 150BHT at night. Great Value on the Island. We met other travelers who were paying more for a room in the middle off the loud town center.WE stayed in a simple bungalow with shared bathroom, which we seemed to be only people using it. Everything was super clean. Small private beach and massage for 300 BHT. If you want a larger beach, Long beach, known as the best beach on the island, is only 5 min. walk. Food was okay a bit over priced, although they have a "tasting menu" at 7pm every night, which was great to wet our appetites for dinner. We mostly went to town and ate at local stalls, "Soda's" was our favourite, suggested by a local. Head straight off the pier about 50 meters down take a left. The thing we liked best was the staff at the Viking. Very freindly and helpful. Often played music at night and socialized with guests. Would stay again when we go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2011

In advance of my arrival I contacted the resort via email and asked best method of arrival from the dock at Kho Phi Phi. No response. I walked/hiked through town and then a long heavy hike with luggage (following 3 other travelers going to same resort in same feeling lost situation). Finally upon arrival via land we pass cabins, more cabins, crazy steps, walk ways and horrible terrain. Reception desk & restaurant is at the last possible area - after you have passed most of the cabins, and walked up/down steep wooden steps w/out railing, through a beach, etc. I can't make up how crazy the terrain is... Staff was just nice but not overly helpful. After checking in we head back through the forested area up/down up/down past a beach, etc back to one of the first set of cabins - can't a reception area/person be stationed here or ANY SIGNAGE (like leave your luggage....). The beach is really nice, snorkeling from shore is good (fin/mask rentals avail at front desk), and the restaurant on site is good. The cabins are thin walled and you hear all your neighbors business at night. Once the area gets dark it is not well lit and challenging terrain.
My best advice - visit during the day and spend the day at the beach - have lunch but leave before dark. The cabins are cute, small but well appointed with oversized furniture. Hammock on the desk of the cabin is a nice touch. Biggest drawback is the terrain, and difficulty climbing over roots, rocks, etc. I'm a good hiker and this was a crazy maze (mostly unmarked) especially in the dark (actually dangerous). Nice idea but pass and stay someplace in town. PS - best way to access the resort is vial boat for 100 bhat each way. Finding a boat to take you can take some time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2011

It is so pity that such a beautifull resort situes in so noisy location! You don't have 5 minutes of calm because of terrible noise which make long tail boats! They pass 10 meters from the beach all day and night so even the most costly bungalows are not situated in calm area! We stayed in the deluxe rooms and paid 6 nights and runned away after 2! Luckily the manager gave us back our money because he was conscient of the problem!
Staff in general isn't friendly and nice like in other places. The restorant is really interesting and they paid attention to all details, but in some strange way you have feeling that you are in the bus station! People are coming and leaving all the time and you can't relax in such environment! If you want peace in Phi Phi go to remote resorts don't stay near Tonsai Village! Even the Long Beach don't offer escape from long tail boats, but it is a little calmer then Viking beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews