We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over priced and out dated!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced and out dated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

What a disappointment! My friend and I were so excited to stay on Phi Phi Island and in the cabana hotel which was supposed to be our splurge for our trip. Poor front desk service, paired with less than par rooms and equally under par food=disappointment. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msadrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    402
    320
    151
    121
See reviews for
130
523
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I think location is the one of the two selling points of this hotel. Another one would be the fantastic pool view and sea view from the balcony. When we first arrived Phi Phi and found it was only two minutes' walk to the hotel, we were so happy. The check in staff was friendly and we were lead by the bell boy to our room located on 3rd floor. Please note that there is no elevator in this hotel. It might be a problem for people who have problem with walking and steps . The minute we entered our room, we were so happy to see the view out of the balcony - swimming pool and the ocean view ! You can even walk to the beach from the back of the hotel ! The first thing we noticed about the room was the air condition. It was not cooling enough, it was like you just turned on a fan. At the temperature of 32C outside, we really needed the air condition! Some of the light switch on the night stand was broken. Room was clean and big although is aged, in fact the entire hotel is aged. I think some people may find the king -size bed very hard though. The bathroom was clean with enough amenities however the shower was too small. I could see a bigger size people would have a problem to fit in the shower. The water from the shower were salty! At first I though it was from my face because of the sea water but when I brushed my teeth in the sink, I could taste the water, it was salty like they just pump it from the sea! By the way, there is not hot water from the dink. Charlie had to shave in the shower in order to get the hot water. Although the bottle water was given to us complementary but the water tasted funny too! There was a coffee and tea making facility in the room but we did not use it. Luckily the old- fashion TV still work fine. The buffet breakfast was good but coffee were not not so as the juices - sugar water. We could see this hotel use to have their glorious days but seems like they don't have enough fund to keep it well running. The swimming was big but it grossed me out when I saw algae inside the pool. Some of the beach/ pool chairs were broken too. There is a small fitness center by the pool that looks good though. One more thing, there is a wifi service in the hotel for THB120 for an hour. You can get cheaper Internet when you go outside ( few minutes' walk) by using the Internet cafe or some of the coffee shop provide free wifi. We may not go back to this hotel unless they refurbished the entire property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

this hotel was absolutly perfect in everyway the roomes were delightful the hotel was ideally located the pool was fantastic and the views were to die for , i would recomend this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: ask for the beach side overlooking the pool and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The pool was great during the as you had a beautiful view of the ocean. Other than that I found the bathroom extremely small, the evenings might be a bit loud (but that's only because you came in too early!!).On the up side the rooms were beautiful, the view from the minute balcony was ok but the island has a buzz when the sun sets and it's contagious. We found great restaurants close to the hotel and enjoyed the beach when the tide was low.

Room Tip: If you're om Phi Phi for the party you're in the right place. Looking for something more tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amphoe Muang Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I'm not a sourface or hypercrytical but how anybody could put a 10 to this crap.
We've been living in Thailand (Phuket) for over 2 yrs & travelling a lot (paying 300-5500 bt a night) & this is the only hotel I hated!
We booked Cabana for my birthday & what a disappointment!Absolutely not worth the money, even the promo price is way too big for the quality (actually no quality) we got.
And they are cheaters! They asked an extra 1000 baht on reception saying that the room we'd booked was single knowing we had nothing to do but pay.
And that's only the beginning. Of course no smiles,no help with our bags offered.Reception girl - rude.
The room looks like a 1000-1500 bt one with black spots on the walls,arm-chairs,dust&dirt old-fashioned TV,ugly,small&outdated bathroom and low quality bathing staff, faded towels.
The pool is not blue as on the website but green since it has not been properly cleaned for ages so that the tiles on the pool floor were covered with algae!
The filter bars around the pool are yellow since they seem to have never been changed either.
The sunchairs are of different color (!) and worn out and dirty. They don't even care to simply paint them same color (it's so cheap!) or at least separate them to brown and black and put on other sides of the pool. The area is quite dirty.
The staff. Once the pool man saw a hint of rain he told us to get out of the pool.One guy promised him to get out in 5 min as soon as his wife brings him the towel, but the pool man started splashing chemicals into the water right by the man not minding he was still there.
The pool is oficially open till 7 p.m.and it was about 6 p.m.

The territory hasn't seen either a gardener or a cleaner for a long time. Trees not cut.Uncovered blue tubes seen everywhere along with trash stuck in the trees and on the ground. The tiles on the trails leading through the garden are broken.
As you go to the restaurant where breakfast is served you can see that the tiles on the floor are gone, where they are now or who did this is a mistery.
If you expect a nice beach you are misleaded too. The beach area is not cleaned either, the water and the sand are not clear. The beach area is divided from the hotel area by a bibed wire! very nice and smart and of course very luxury solution of the problem.
The hotel itself is begging for repainting, the look of some parts of it can make its residents cry. And the smell & the noise from airconditioners or whatever stuff working in the part of the hotel facing the other beach where the port is located is disgusting.
The noise from the bars can be easily heard in the room all night long to say nothing about the pool area. The disco noise is topped by the noise from the upper room as if the ceiling and the walls were made of paper.
And still I hoped that at least breakfast will be good. We came at 9.30 and here one more disappointment.
The variety and the freshness of food served is very disputable. You can choose either noodles or fried rice (no seafood in it surely! just some vegetable leftovers).
No omelette, just boiled egg (one!). If you want to have a boiled egg come early since they won't boil or fry anything for you.
No fresh coffee, fruits not covered with flies sitting on it, baked items seem not fresh, probably the leftovers from yesterday's breakfast.
The ham they serve has already changed its color and turned into white one, looking obviously not fresh.
And the last thing that made me mad is that they started packing all food up notwithstanding that one hour was left till the end of breakfast!
Staff started packing things around us obviously hinting that it's high time for us to finish...

So the conclusion is: the only positive thing is the view from the pool and the location close to the pier and nightlife. The view from our room was nice.
But for the money you pay for the night in this crap you can take a 24-hour prive taxi boat and get to the nightlife from whatever part of the island.
I would rather stay in a Maya beach camping overnight than here.

Room Tip: Run from this hotel! Don't believe the pictures on their website! If by any reason you booked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel in February 2012 for 6 nights with my mother and other 2 friends. We had 2 connecting rooms, they were huge with a nice balcony with sea view. The pool is wonderful, huge, with a awesome view of the sea. However, the beach right in front of the hotel is not very big, especially because of the tide. With high tide, there's almost no beach. On the other hand, the sea is very beautiful and there are a lot of boats that leave from there to other beaches and they're very cheap.
Breakfast was not bad but if you're italian like me it's difficult to find many things that you like because there are a lot of sault things that usually english and american people like.
The wifi is not free and it's quite expensive.
But the biggest problem I got in this hotel was the noise. In fact, it is situated on the same beach where every night there are parties, and you can't sleep because of the loud music!!

I would recomend this hotel to young people who want to party, or you can ask for a room far from that beach.

Room Tip: Far from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gipsyqueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

We have a wonderful view from the window... But I am very disappointed with the swimmingpool. You can't relax at the pool after 7pm... And all the lights are off. I've tried but the security guard showed me the piles of chlorine on the bottom and that made me terminate the pool rather quickly. The island itself is great, people friendly and the weather's great. The hotel is fine, the bay view is probably the best part of it though.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 km away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.0 km away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing