We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bedrooms, beautiful sceneries, non-eng speaking receptionists, lovely experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had a thorough research on which hotel to stay on phi phi island and chanced upon this one. We booked the hotel for 3 days, regardless of the comments that are frightening to our eyes like the rooms being not up to par, toilets being dirty and staff being rude.
The hotel, like every other ones on the island send their bell staff to pick the guests up at the ferry pier. It was an appreciated, warm and welcoming touch esp after a long almost 2 hours ferry ride. The bell staff were extremely friendly and NOTHING like what previous complaints had said of. Of course, a few baht tips wouldn't hurt considering the fact that the guy had literally pushed the heavy trolley filled with your bags from the other end of the island to the port. We were greeted with a small glass of refreshing fruit juices while waiting for the reception staff to check us in. The lady cut to the chase with whatever the charges were and that we had to pay 1000baht deposit for our keys. She left after that without saying a word and left us wondering what we were suppose to do next and left a key on our table that we were seated at. It was the bell boy that brought us in to our bungalow. I'm guessing lots of mis-communications between guests n reception staff would not have caused the hotel a bad name if their English was half as good as their bell staff and waiters at their carpe diem cafe. I've been a hotelier myself and as the saying goes, the receptionists are the face of the organization(hotel) that they represent. Lets move on to the room, it was all clean and renovated, we stayed in the luxury deluxe villa which was a bungalow near the swimming pool without the sea view so don't expect to see any sceneries from your rooms. The bed was so comfortable and so were the pillows. It was nothing like the pictures Ive seen from other travelers so I'm guessing they renovated the rooms. The bathrooms though really could use some lighting(as we were literally showering in the dark) and some tiles would've added a cleaner touch instead of just concrete slabs. We requested for an extra bed from the moment we booked the hotel from 3 months earlier. However the bed only arrived after we went to the reception for the 4th time to ask for it. Overall, the rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable.
There was a massage cabana within a distance from the pool, where you can literally get a massage by the beach with the full view of the mountains and the deep blue sea. Impressed by the view, we opted for a 400 baht massage. The moment i lied down to relax and enjoy the moment, the ladies who were massaging us WOULD NOT STOP talking to each other to a point it was too loud to bear. We couldn't sleep, not to mention even enjoy the massage because half an hour later, followed another hotel staff who came by and they started exchanging words or rather shouting at each other. When I asked the lady if they could bring their volume down, she was offended n replied that they need to order water so they have to talk. So they ordered water for 1 whole hour as we gave up on enjoying our massage and frankly speaking, that was the most horrible massage experience I've had in thailand and i have always loved thai massages. We did not let that ruin our holiday nevertheless, but please take this as a warning before you decide to go there.
Moving that aside, it was a pleasant stay and carpe diem was definately a gem to chill your afternoon listening to bob marley, sipping on our fav carpe diem cocktail. The view of the clear blue waters and mountains are breathtakingly beautiful from outside of the hotel. All the hotel needed was to improve their receptionist staff on their english as it does come across as rude to us when they ask us certain things such as hairdryers, towels and such. I think the in and out system for pool towels is reasonable as guests who arent responsible for the stuff they use should be charged. There are several convenient stores beside the hotel which sells things from snacks, lotions, shower gels, etc so it was very convenient. The hotel is located within a walkable distance from the nightlife yet far enough to get a good night sleep in peace. All and all it was an unforgettable experience esp with my friends and we loved the island as much as we loved the hotel. Hope the hotel could take this comment as something constructive esp in areas they could improve on.
Note: Overall the hotel isn't anything fancy but comfortable and safe for any travelers ready to explore the nightlife and beautiful view of the sea on phi phi island. None of the villas have a direct seaview. If you are expecting a 5star service and luxury, looking for a peace and quiet time there are other options on the other side of the island where the waters are clearer and away from nightlife. But this one is just right for us as we wanted beautiful scenes and nightlife within a walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sa86s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Villa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Once you realise that hotels on Phi Phi are significantly more expensive than in Phuket, then the Phi Phi Villa Resort represents relatively good value for money. It is located just off a quieter part of Ton Sai Beach beach within easy walking distance to the main tourist shops, restaurants and bars.

The resort itself is clean, comfortable and nicely maintained with accommodation offered in bungalows or villas overlooking a garden. It would have got higher rating from me except the bungalow that we were given had damp in one of the walls which made the room smell musty.

The inclusive breakfast was good and there is a very nice swimming pool around which to chill.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willpickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Not quite sure whether people had stayed at the same hotel that we did, but Phi Phi Villa Resort is definitely a great find!

The porter met us at the Pier and walked our bags all the way to the Resort, smiling and chatting all the way. Upon arrival, the staff at the front desk were very polite and helpful, they provided us with a ice cold juice and cold towels, sat us down and checked in next to the pool. They spoke English quite well and very polite and helpful.

Our Luxury Deluxe Villa was quite nice for the price. The room was very big and the bathroom was tastefully decorated. The overall layout is well designed. The valance and curtains were a tad dated but the other decor was quite modern and lifted the villa.

The resort itself is pretty good. Very well maintained. The gardens and the pool are constantly looked after and are very enticing. The gym is small but practical.

The resort was a quick 5 minute stroll to the main markets, however, the resort is only 2 metres away from their supermarket, a pharmacy, a bar and other shops. Only about 10 metres away from a currency exchange and an internet kiosk. Very central but also just far enough away from all the buzz.

The complimentary breakfast was really good with full buffet of eggs, sausages, pancakes, cereals, breads and fruits. Wonderful feed which set us up for the day.

At the end of our stay, (and after 3 days) I'd noticed I had lost my visa debit card and had to use the internet to transfer some extra cash before canceling my card. The Manager so nicely gave us free internet use for about 20 minutes whilst we got ourselves organised. Extra service which was greatly appreciated.

Yes, Phi Phi Villa Resort is only a 2-3 star resort but I'd stay it was a great find with great service, good amenties and close to all the good things. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirza_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Phi Phi Villa was merely a adequate accomodation on my asia tour. The bungalow was in good condition, but the staff was terrible! The woman who worked the breakfast was a total grump. The front desk acted like they wished you had not chosed to stay at their "resort". We stayed two nights on Ko Phi Phi after two in Krabi. I would advise spending the whole time in Krabi and making a day excursion to the Phi Phi islands. Was so disappointed with the trash and party scene that has marred these beautiful islands.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landonc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Only a small walk from the pier i arrived to Phi Phi Villa Resort. I was welcomed by friendly, smiley faces and was checked in nice and quickly, then shown to my room.
My room was so beautiful, peaceful and newly decorated, i loved the decor: boutique and thai style.
I spent plenty of time in and by the pool (being able to stare out to the ocean from the privacy of the pool, is certainly a luxury!) The Breakie was pretty good... its everything you need (and i always ate it all!!), plus the resort has their own cafe (Love Cafe) and the coffee's there are to die for, so i certainly didn't go without!
All in all, i thought it was worth my baht and will certainly be returning!! Ive stayed in many places on Phi Phi & this was by far the best! Thank You everyone there!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Was picked up from the pier and the porter was great. Arrived at the hotel and the front desk girls were terrible. They were very rude and everything was an effort for them, from checking you in, to getting beach towels, or just smiling and saying hello.

The room itself was fine, modern and clean, although they only cleaned my room once in my 5 day stay, and they only made the bed. No clean towels or anything else cleaned.

Breakfast was average, but ok.

Overall the hotel wouldn't be a bad place so stay if they got new girls working on the front desk, as everywhere else in Thailand people are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atko81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Love this island and loved this hotel. You walk everywhere you need to go or take a boat taxi. People were great and they had an internet café for guests to use. Night life was so much fun. Beautiful beach and great tours / activates available. Had so much fun here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepITkep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 km away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
0.5 km away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
272 reviews
0.6 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
2.4 km away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Villa Resort

Address: 1 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $66 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Villa Resort is a Thai Boutique style resort located on the beautiful island of Koh Phi Phi. The Resort has its own white sandy beach with magnificent views of the Andaman sea and the famous Phi Phi Lay Island. The 62 Rooms, Bungalows and Villas are set in lush tropical gardens. The facilities include a Spa, Gym, Cafe and the largest private swimming pool in the Ton Sai Bay area. Officially 2 star but looks like 4 star, especially the new rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Villa Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Ko Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing