We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$38/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ameenjeerah Koh Tao(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Woodlawn Villas(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
350
147
39
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
147
39
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villasea view cottageslemongrass teaour honeymoonpirate barchalok bayalvaro divingcold towelsoutdoor showerthe cottageshigh tidemosquito coilssmall beachwalk along the beachthe hotel offersstayed here for nightsthai massage
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 576 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Hello,

They are building new villa's and there is a lot of noise, verry loud.
Only in villa nr 1 and 2 you can not hear the noise.
Did complain by the manager for 5 times, and never a response!!!
(at the last day they gave us an 6.000 bath discount)

If you want to have a nice and romantic hollyday, do NOT go, the only thing you will hear is contruction noise, sometimes even till midnight.

Restaurant outdated!!

(and YES there is a lot off glass on the beach and they do NOT clean it up)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We didn't know what to expect as we booked this place based on previous reviews, which seemed to be very mixed. We stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa between 12th December to 16th December 2010. All we can say is that our stay was truly wonderful and memorable. The service was excellent and our every need was attended to, from asking for a bucket of ice each day, extra glassware, daily room cleaning to a surprise visit by one of the staff members with 3 coconuts cut from the tree for us to drink. On entering our villa, the view took our breath away. All bedrooms had comfortable beds, mosquito nets and air conditioning. Each bedroom had a private outdoor ensuite and the shower felt like our own waterfall. The private infinity edge pool offered spectacular views of the ocean and sunset every night. The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help us. Each morning we had breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the ocean. The breakfast itself was simple, but more than adequate. We had room service to our villa most evenings and the meals were delicious and the portions generous. Due to bad roads, access to the resort is limited, however it is only an easy 10 minute walk along the beach and boardwalk into the nearest town. Occasionally the power would go off, however this is a minor inconvenience as it was always restored almost immediately. We would highly recommend this holiday if you enjoy privacy, views, good service, beautiful beaches and a truly Thai experience. Thankyou View Point for a beautiful holiday! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights here while on our Honeymoon and we can't say enough good things about this place. While the drive to the hotel was quite an adventure, on a 5 mile extremely rugged dirt road, once we reached the top, all of our worries disappeared. We stayed in Pool Villa 4, which was absolutely stunning and even better than the pictures online (if that's at all possible).

The only negative thing I have to say about The View Point is that they are powered by a generator, which unfortunately, will occasionally turn off in the middle of the night, leaving you waking up in a puddle of sweat since the AC is a coveted item in August. But, then again - just make sure to sleep next to the remote control for the AC and you should be fine ;) Plus, this quirky nature is what we really loved about this place - it was the perfect mix of rugged, tropical paradise and luxury. The outdoor shower and bathroom made you feel like you were Tarzan and Jane living in the jungle together, while the infinity pool with unsurpassed ocean views, the media room, and the private veranda with made to order breakfast delivered every morning made you feel like you were a celebrity living the dream.

We were worried that the location would hinder us from really seeing what Koh Tao had to offer, but we were pleasantly surprised that while our room was high on a Cliff, beach access was just a short jaunt down the stairs. Lining the beach were scuba shops (we got certified at Alvaro Diving School - another great experience), friendly bars, and amazing seafood BBQs. Once on the beach you can reach the main street, where you can catch a taxi and drive anywhere else on the island - or better yet - rent a scooter and explore for yourself.

While we only had three nights at View Point, we had wished we could have extended our stay. Of all the hotels we stayed at in Phuket, Ko Samui and Bangkok, this was by far our favorite. We will definitely be coming back for another visit - maybe this time with some family in tow ;)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KristiNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I dont know what these other people expected for the price but I LOVED View Point.
The rooms are very cheap for what you get. I stayed in a V cottage with amazing views overlooking the bay. The rooms could do with a bit of a makeover but we loved them! For the other reviewers who recently gave this place a negative review, you have to get to know the staff and be pleasant and they will bend over backwards for you. Yes, you have to ASK to get your room made up but you could ask everyday and they are happy to do it! We found the restauarant food amazing and the staff there were extremely helpful, pleasant, spoke great English and would service any request we asked.
Yes the trip in was rough on unmade roads but that is part of the charm of View Point. It is remote!
The beach definitely did NOT have glass on it and it was far from mud. It is a perfect, private beach which, after 10 metres of pristine sand, runs into coral reef you can snorkel over for hours. (see photos)

Please do not take the view that ViewPoint is bad, it is extremely cheap for what you get and if you like things a little rustic, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fattymcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2010

No road to resort.
No rubbish removal. Rubbish everywhere..
No clean bed linen or towels. Animal excretment on sheets and towels
No clean room service. Had to ask several times after 2 days.
No room refrigerator.
No properly operating toilet. Raw sewerage flowing on the floor and into the shower floor. No hot water.
No water that was not salt .
No free drinking water. Fist time in 6 years in Thailand not included in room.
No beach to swim. Just a swampy foreshore.
No information about the resort.
No Duty manager.
No english spoken or understood by staff.
No credit card facilities at the resort. Had to be taken to a local shop in the village to use credit card.
No view as no one trims undergrowth
A Totally underwhelming experience. Note to be repeated or recommended

Also a nasty little trick when checking in after the rough uncomfortable ride, looking at all the rubbish along the way, you are told to sign a form after you fill out all the details of your booking which includes, hidden away in the copy, that you have to check out by 10.00 am another first for my time in Thailand
However the food in the restaurant was excellent and at a reasonable price.
Visit at your peril.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yumidesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekapon, Internet Maketing Director at View Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

On behalf of View Point Resort - Koh Tao, we would like to thank you for your patience. We would like to apologize for some of our mistakes.

Below is our explain to your complaints:


No road to resort. Just a rubble track that the 4WD had difficulty with:

There are 2 roads to access to our resort. The one commented is a dirt track across the mountain (4WD only) which is not for guest because it is quite dangerous. Another one which we regularly use is a fine concrete road that stop only at our View Point Shop. Then you will need to walk about 10 minutes along the beach to the front entrance of our resort.


No clean bed linen or towels:
No clean room service. Had to ask several times after 2 days:

We would like to apologize for this inconvenience. The room service for the Cottages is upon the guest's enquiry. There is no daily room service.


Litter and rubbish everywhere. Including on the so called beach:

In some weeks during each years, junks such as pieces of wood or even broken glass were flush from the sea to beaches in Koh Tao, depending to wind directions and tides. These include our private beach in some season. The junks might also drain from the mountain in rainy season. We regularly collect them every evening.


No room refrigerator, No hot water:

We have already describe the facilities in each room types on our on-line booking page. There is no air conditioner, refrigerator or warm shower in Cottage. They are only in Pool Villas.


No properly operating toilet. Raw sewerage flowing on the floor and into the shower floor. No water that was not salt:

We will fix this leaking water. The lack of water is an island's main problem. The water may sometime rusty and salty because it is the ground water. As on your photo, it is a leaking water, not sewerage flowing. Because of the rusty water so it look like sewerage.


No free drinking water:

We provide 2 bottles of drinking water in each Cottages. That was our mistake if you did not have them.


No beach to swim. Just a swampy foreshore:

Most of the beaches and bays on koh Tao are shallow. It is depend on tide (different on each days) what time is suite for our guest to swim in our private beach.


No information about the resort:

We are currently working on the resort facilities information sheets to be provided in each rooms.


No Duty manager:

We do have our manager, his name is Mr. Yao.


No english spoken or understood by staff:

Most of our staffs can communicate in English but some of them are not really good as it is not their native language. There are a few new staffs who can speak English very little but they are practicing, please apologize for this.


No credit card facilities at the resort. Had to be taken to a local shop in the village to use credit card:

Yes it's true, due to our banking security. It is because of the unstable electricity and phone line at the resort location - unlike at our convenient shop which is located in town.


No view as no one trims undergrowth:

We will trim some of the trees. The sea view can be more clearly seen from the Cottage V.


About the check out time:

Our resort's check in and out time is at 10:00 am and it is stated at the reception desk. Because we have to prepare the rooms for next guests who will be arrived with morning boats at 9:00AM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews