We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChristineR3

Great location and good atmosphere

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 13, 2012
We stayed in wind beach for 4 nights in koh Tao. The first 2 nights we stayed in a fan room which was really cheap but not worth the torture you put yourself through with the heat! The room itself was small but you get what you pay for. The 2nd 2 nights we upgraded to an aircon room for not much extra -well worth it! Bigger cleaner and newer rooms! Other than that the location of the hotel is perfect, right in the beach with a nice deck area to sit and relax and take in the amazing sunset!
They have special offers in the restaurant at night from 6-9 with 90thb for DELICIOUS Thai food and 100thb cocktails. The dj played really good music creating a chilled atmosphere. We really felt we hit the jackpot finding the wind beach! Cheap food accommodation and drink in a great location! Couldn't ask for more!!
Date of stay: August 2012
Room Tip: Get the aircon rooms! Fan rooms are still too hot!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$258
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
  • Agoda.com
    C$219
  • Priceline
    C$227
0.6 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
C$541
C$280
  • Hotels.com
    C$541
  • Expedia.com
    C$541
  • Vio.com
    C$375
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Woodlawn Villas Pool
C$71
  • Expedia.com
    C$69
  • Vio.com
    C$68
  • Priceline
    C$70
3.1 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
C$280
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
  • Vio.com
    C$237
  • Hotels.com
    C$308
3.8 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$173
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
  • Vio.com
    C$138
  • Priceline
    C$176
2.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$94
  • Expedia.com
    C$95
  • Agoda.com
    C$86
  • Priceline
    C$91
2.5 km from Wind Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Cape Shark
C$306
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$92
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$84
  • Vio.com
    C$81
  • Expedia.com
    C$92
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front swim up bar dive school sunset earplugs sairee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 489 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this online from Ko Phagnan as we had heard that the island was going to be very busy. Big mistake. Fair enough, we got picked up by taxi from the ferry terminal and taken to the resort. On arrival we were told that our booking through laterooms.com was incorrect, we had asked for a twin room but they only provide double room bungalows. Surely their fault, not laterooms! Anyway, we were shown to a twin room with a balcony which overlooked a bike workshop. The beds had mattresses you'd probably find better in the street. No air con but two fans, one of which was broken. The room had a back door and I was curious to find out was was behind it. A tiny courtyard for hanging clothes and beyond an open sewer. "Forget this", I thought, and decided to look for something better. In the end we went to the Regal, which was only 300bhat extra a night (£7) and soooo much nicer.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. Initially booked a room with just a fan as everywhere on Koh Tao is pretty expensive in comparison to the rest of Thailand. Was literally unbearable. We moved rooms the next night for an extra 400 baht per room to one with air conditioning. My room was infested with cockroaches!!! When we got back to our room at around midnight there were about 6 in the room flying around and some dead on the floor. No-one was around the complex to talk to so we ended up having to sleep in our friends room for the night. When we told the manager the next morning, he didn't seem surprised and simply got out a can of insect repellent. We insisted on a new room which was luckily free from cockroaches but still swarming with mosquitoes. The rooms aren't clean, sheets are torn and stained and hairs in the bed. The staff, particularly the managed are extremely unfriendly. The only thing that has saved this hotel is the amazing beach location. Personally I would rather have a clean room, bug-free and walk to the beach! I would definitely not recommend this hotel!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenA277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying on koh tao to do a PADI and stayed at wind resort

Room is basic but fine for the price but what isn't good is the bar immediately adjacent that plays music until 2am into your window. This I didn't mind as much as the other party patrons who playedusic loud until 5/6 am and when asked to turn it down provide threats profanity and abuse.

If you want a quiet stay on a gorgeous island wind resort is not the place to stay

We'll be moving in the morning

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We wasn't diving on Koh Tao and stayed here for 4 nights...although it was overcast we still lounged about on the beds outside the restaurant catching the sun through the clouds and just relaxing! It was great location and close to beach bars and the little town where all restaurants and bars are. Basic fan room with en suite was average - but good for the price we was paying! Had some friends in our room - gheckos! But no bed bugs or cockroaches! Good place to stay!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were only planning on staying in Koh Tao for 2 nights, but happened to walk past Wind Beach Resort and fell in love with their deluxe bungalow suite (V15) and ended up spending the rest of our vacation there! Not only is it in a fantastic location with great staff, they also have a DJ that plays on their part of the beach a few nights a week. Amazing value- I would highly recommend this spot.

Room tip: We stayed in a deluce bungalow suite (I think it was called!)...our suite # was V15. I would highly recommend this type of room...air conditioning, hot water with a rain shower in the bathroom. Within steps of the beach...very clean. We stayed 6 nights...1700 Baht per night.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissMayhem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews