We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cdillinger

What's changed?!?

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 23, 2012
Must be under new management, the staff used to be super friendly but now seem like they're doing you a favour by bringing you a drink! Could be a great place if run properly, it's a shame because I used to love this bar. Can't speak for the accomodation but I'd go somewhere that appreciates your custom. Amazing location and great music, that's all.
Date of stay: August 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$221
  • Expedia.com
    C$258
0.6 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
    C$542
  • Vio.com
    C$209
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Woodlawn Villas Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$68
  • Expedia.com
    C$69
3.1 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
  • Vio.com
    C$237
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$173
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$138
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
2.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$88
  • Priceline
    C$91
2.5 km from Wind Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Cape Shark
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$306
  • Trip.com
    C$446
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$81
  • Priceline
    C$84
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front swim up bar dive school sunset earplugs sairee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 489 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here lady year just for one night on our honeymoon and fell in love with koh tao and the atmosphere of the place! We had a brilliant night at the wind beach bar and got drunk watching the sunset and fire shows! The staff were amazing and couldn't be more helpful, one attentive waiter even found my husbands wedding ring the next morning, luckily for him!!!

However the room was disgusting and felt like a prison cell! To be fair we only paid for a fan room and prices on koh Tao are quite expensive so we weren't expecting much but It was unclean, uncomfortable, no frills at all and full of insects!

Therefore this year we have come back for 4 days and have chosen to stay elsewhere but were still looking forward to going back to wind beach bar! We did last night and were so disappointed, the dj and location are perfect and both create the perfect atmosphere, however this is completely ruined by the rude and surly staff...all of them! You have to fight for their attention to order food or a drink, one even rolled his eyes when I asked if I could order one and then you won't see them for the rest if the night! Eventually we had enough and asked for the bill, which initially was 400baht too much! Then we went to choppers, which is in sasairee village. It's not right on the beach but the staff are great, food was brilliant, drinks are cheap and brilliant live music!

Do yourself a favour stay away from here and walk to the beach!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in wind beach for 4 nights in koh Tao. The first 2 nights we stayed in a fan room which was really cheap but not worth the torture you put yourself through with the heat! The room itself was small but you get what you pay for. The 2nd 2 nights we upgraded to an aircon room for not much extra -well worth it! Bigger cleaner and newer rooms! Other than that the location of the hotel is perfect, right in the beach with a nice deck area to sit and relax and take in the amazing sunset!
They have special offers in the restaurant at night from 6-9 with 90thb for DELICIOUS Thai food and 100thb cocktails. The dj played really good music creating a chilled atmosphere. We really felt we hit the jackpot finding the wind beach! Cheap food accommodation and drink in a great location! Couldn't ask for more!!

Room tip: Get the aircon rooms! Fan rooms are still too hot!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this online from Ko Phagnan as we had heard that the island was going to be very busy. Big mistake. Fair enough, we got picked up by taxi from the ferry terminal and taken to the resort. On arrival we were told that our booking through laterooms.com was incorrect, we had asked for a twin room but they only provide double room bungalows. Surely their fault, not laterooms! Anyway, we were shown to a twin room with a balcony which overlooked a bike workshop. The beds had mattresses you'd probably find better in the street. No air con but two fans, one of which was broken. The room had a back door and I was curious to find out was was behind it. A tiny courtyard for hanging clothes and beyond an open sewer. "Forget this", I thought, and decided to look for something better. In the end we went to the Regal, which was only 300bhat extra a night (£7) and soooo much nicer.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. Initially booked a room with just a fan as everywhere on Koh Tao is pretty expensive in comparison to the rest of Thailand. Was literally unbearable. We moved rooms the next night for an extra 400 baht per room to one with air conditioning. My room was infested with cockroaches!!! When we got back to our room at around midnight there were about 6 in the room flying around and some dead on the floor. No-one was around the complex to talk to so we ended up having to sleep in our friends room for the night. When we told the manager the next morning, he didn't seem surprised and simply got out a can of insect repellent. We insisted on a new room which was luckily free from cockroaches but still swarming with mosquitoes. The rooms aren't clean, sheets are torn and stained and hairs in the bed. The staff, particularly the managed are extremely unfriendly. The only thing that has saved this hotel is the amazing beach location. Personally I would rather have a clean room, bug-free and walk to the beach! I would definitely not recommend this hotel!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenA277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying on koh tao to do a PADI and stayed at wind resort

Room is basic but fine for the price but what isn't good is the bar immediately adjacent that plays music until 2am into your window. This I didn't mind as much as the other party patrons who playedusic loud until 5/6 am and when asked to turn it down provide threats profanity and abuse.

If you want a quiet stay on a gorgeous island wind resort is not the place to stay

We'll be moving in the morning

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews