We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
louandstevethomas
Grimsby, United Kingdom

Do Not Stay Here

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 20, 2013
We arrived at wind beach on 3 jan 2013. When we arrived we was told we wasn't booked in to stay ( we booked June 2012) we emailed ahead 3 days before to confirm but no replay came back! After showing proof of booking we was given a room in the new build and would be moved to the deluxe room the next day. The resort is in the middle of a large noisy building site ( no pre warning!!) our first room was new and uncleaned but ok till 3 am!!! Constant knocking/banging on doors till 6am so no sleep!! Breakfast in very basic.We moved to our second room which on appearance was nice, but you can hear everything said/done in the next door room. The deluxe room are closer to the beach so till at least 4 am you can sing word for word to the music from the bars on the beach!! Still no sleep!!!! We brought bug spray for the amount of mozzies and bugs in the room! The staff at this hotel are the most rude arrogant people I have ever encountered whilst on holiday, they blanked my husband even when he said good morning to the girl who was stood next to him. The staff who are in the reception and office in the restaurant are very rude and stuck up who make the poor breakfast staff feel on edge. Overall I would never return and would never recommend.
Date of stay: January 2013
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel!!!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$123
C$111
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Woodlawn Villas Pool
C$97
C$69
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$69
3.1 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
C$342
C$292
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$292
3.8 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$119
C$93
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
    C$251
  • Expedia.com
    C$223
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    C$262
  • Expedia.com
    C$316
4.0 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$144
  • Expedia.com
    C$148
0.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$101
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$138
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
2.7 km from Wind Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$94
  • Expedia.com
    C$96
2.5 km from Wind Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
131
117
69
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front swim up bar dive school sunset earplugs sairee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 489 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the bungalows here for a few nights in April. Our room was decently clean and well kept but you certainly don't get what you pay for. You do get free wifi so that's a bonus. This resort sits on a sunset facing beach so the view is great.

I'm generally not a big fan of Koh Tao. It's overpriced and overrun with too many tourists, especially after Full Moon parties on nearby Koh Phangan. I haven't been diving here yet but i did go snorkeling and I was not very impressed. In my opinion there is far better diving and snorkeling on the Andaman Sea side. Phang Nga puts Koh Tao to shame.

If you are going to visit Koh Tao this resort is not a bad option, though i'm sure you could do better.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matticus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was probably the worst place we've stayed in all of Thailand. The room was not very clean and could use some definite renovating. The staff weren't very friendly and the restaurant wasn't open I'm guessing because they are building a pool beside it. Seems unnecessary considering they actually have a great location on the beach. It was just kind of dumpy.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristen_k7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The worst part of our stay here at wind beach resort is the ignorant rude staff, in particular the older man on the reception desk. As backpackers we wern't expecting 5* quality but this was a really terrible experience. I hands down recommend for everyone to go stay elsewhere. The only redeeming factor is its location but as there are plenty of places in the same area you shouldn't struggle to find somewhere else

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charaxes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked an air-conditioned room online, and came to find a room with only a fan, with no AC rooms available. Having paid in cash right before getting our room key, the girl at the front said we could get our money back if we wanted to get a room in another hotel. Finding a room for the same night wasn't easy, but we did, yet when we came back they refused to give us our money. The guy who was now at the front (probably hotel manager or owner) was extremely rude, and despite being told that we did not get the room we booked, and that we were promised, before booking another hotel room, that we could get a refund, he refused to deliver and resorted to yelling and blaming us.

After way too long, we got a partial refund (which was not worth the time spent arguing). The whole experience was very unpleasant, and I would definitely never go back there. While most of the staff seemed to be rather nice and helpful, it was that owner/manager who really made us not ever go near the place again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Natalie486
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We managed to 'endure' one night at the Wind Beach Resort a few days ago. We were greeted by a building site, some stray dogs and some trash as we walked past the bungalows (they look fine on the outside!). We checked into reception, they grunted and said the room was not ready so we ordered some fries. An hour later we got our room. The 'room' was like a prison cell - three 'inmate' style beds lined up in a row with nappy cloth-like blankets. A clacking old fan hanging on the wall. Can it get worse? Yes, if you count the family of ants crawling up the wall and the cold water we had from the shower! It's a complete dive, an almost nightmare scenario and if you meet the Scandinavian woman who works at the beach front bar, avoid eye contact, she clearly hates humanity! Happy to be in Koh Samui at the Hutcha Resort, it's a dream.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews