We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruean Thai Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pai Sukhothai Resort(Sukhothai)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tharaburi Resort(Sukhothai)
US$48
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sukhothai Heritage Resort(Sukhothai)
US$53
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sila Resort(Sukhothai)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Guesthouse Bungalow(Sukhothai)(Great Value!)
US$10
US$6
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
EZ House(Sukhothai)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$11
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
174
159
50
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
159
50
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolthe busbeautiful hotelthe ownerhistorical parkfree rideoffer freenice serviceold cityhotel restaurantstayed two nightsquiet at nightgreat poolstayed longerrabbitsthaistation
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 406 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

A friend and I rented 2 rooms in the hotel for 2 nights in February, 2012. We used the pool 2 evenings, ate in the restaurant both nights, and ate breakfast both mornings. We both recommend the hotel.The hotel is an intriguing mixture of old and new. The hotel itself is a relatively new structure that incorporates old Thai buildings. It is very attractive. It is, however, located in a nondescript part of New Sukhothai in manner that is not unusual in Thailand. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. Everything that was promised was delivered. The hotel restaurant is small, but the menu selection is quite broad. We ordered a mixture of familiar and new dishes, and enjoyed them all. My bed had mosquito netting because the windows have no screens. I assume that is typical of the other rooms as well. The WIFI can be a problem, but I found that using the hotel’s alternative network solved the problem neatly. The hotel car will drive you to Old Sukhothai – or pick you up from there - for a fixed price. It’s an excellent deal if you find other guests to split the cost. The hotel car also drove us to the train station in Phitsanulok.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3d-mapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Let me just say that for the most part we write about places that have stood out for us in a good way. I sincerely wish this was the case here but I'm sad to say that it was not. The food was inedible (Dinner), breakfast was the Thai standard not good but not bad. Our room smelled like the urinal that is in the bathroom (close your bathroom door - ours had been open for some time before our arrival). There was a huge ball of the last residents hair in the shower. There isn't a single restaurant or shop nearby. The owner is very nice as was one of the girls who helped us check in. The rest of the staff apparently were doing their best to ignore us. We have travelled all over Thailand and for the price that they are charging have stayed in amazing properties. The quality reflected here would be better represented at say HALF the price. I have photos of the bathroom and hairball but they would just be gross.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KKMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a charming hotel, with a helpful, friendly staff and a lot of homey character in it's design. The rooms are built around a central swimming pool, which is a nice place to relax (unless it's full of a lot of children, which was often the case when we were there). Breakasts were adeqiate; we enjoyed the food at the restaurant more Downsides are that the rooms are small, with little storage space, and you have a choice between a room on the street side, which is probably noisy, or a room on the backside, where there are barking dogs and roosters. Bring earplugs. Mattresses and pillows are FIRM, to say the least. This is not a fancy place, but it's a good value, and you'll definitely feel like you're in Thailand rather than in a generic hotel that could be anywhere. As for location, it's a 15-20 minute walk to restaurants and the night market, and a drive to historic Sukhothai.

Room Tip: I liked being upstairs, with a deck above the pool, rather than on the 1st floor adjacent to the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2012

First of all I decided to stay here as I wanted my mother who was visiting to be in a nice place while visiting the Sukhothai Historical Park . This place was rated number 1 when I booked . I guess maybe there isn't anywhere else to compare it to and that is why it is number one .

Pros. 1. If you don't have a car it's convenient to go to the park
2. Nice pool
3. Very friendly staff

Cons . 1. Was given a Superior room that was in a corner with new view ( changed to pool view . 2. Very hard beds ( o.k it's Thailand to be expected )
3. A urinal in every guest room ? Wow That's new for me and you know you can't rid of that smell no matter what , keep your bathroom doors shut . STAFF , get rid of urinals
4. Breakfast LOOKED good but everything was iced cold . I don't know why a lot of places use chaffing pans for keeping food warm and then don't use the sterno underneath to keep the food warm . Thai dishes cold , eggs cold , well you get the picture . STAFF , get rid of the ( free) breakfast and get a cook . AND instant coffee , yuk !

Bottom line this place is worth no more than 800-1,000 baht tops and o.k for one night if you must , We moved on to Sukhothai Heritage Resort WOW for just 1,000 baht more , no comparison but you do need transportation . STAY HERE ONLY IF YOU DON'T HAVE A CAR

Room Tip: O.K for a night at the most , close bathroom doors so you don't have to smell the urinal
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 1th to 5th February 2012.


2nd February I brought an envelope with amex cheques, cash and my passport to the reception desk and asked them to put it to a safe box. 


3nd I came and asked for the envelope to take my passport to rent a motorbike. They brought the envelope to me. I did not leave the reception desk. I took the passport just in front of them and returned the envelope back to them. 


5 th. I checked out in the morning and asked for my envelope. They answered that they did not have it as I already had taken it and they did not remember the moment I returned them the envelope after taking my passport from it. That is next to impossible because I clearly remember that I returned it back. I asked them to check a camera at the reception, but they answered they did not have cameras in the hotel. I also asked them to check everywhere and moved to Chiang Mai.


The same day I called AMEX support and asked them to block the cheques numbers. They also asked me to go to a police station and get a police report.


6 th. I went to a police station wrote the full story and they provided me a report. 


8 th. I went to the police station to check progress about the investigation. No luck. A guy from the police station said if they wanted to steal money it's hard to prove. 
I called back to Sukhotai hotel to wonder maybe they have found the envelope, but the answer was no again. This time the owner suggested me to lie that I lost my travel cheques in Chiang Mai not in Sukhotai. Nice.




By the way, it's a nice hotel, but keep all your valuable belongings far away from the reception desk.

P.S. This is an updated review. I attached the police report in my previous post, but it did not appear. Hope this time it will work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
117  Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews