We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”
Review of Ruean Thai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Ruean Thai in Feb 2012 in a ground floor room by the pool. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean & quiet. The owners & staff were wonderful - always attentive, smiling & helpful. The whole complex is full of charm & character & the large pool was a blessing after long hot days in the Sukhothai sun. We left valuables (cards, cash, passports) at reception which the staff were very careful about sealing & having me sign for. Breakfast was of a higher standard & more varied than we had experienced elsewhere on our trip - very pleasant start to the day. They offer free transfers to/from local bus stops & will arrange transfers to/from Phitsanulok for a fee. On the morning we left we caught a very early bus & the owner quickly volunteered to take us there (no charge) at 6:30am. To our surprise his wife was also up early to ensure we had breakfast before we left. A charming, comfortable place to stay with friendly staff & excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beast0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    150
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
175
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A friend and I rented 2 rooms in the hotel for 2 nights in February, 2012. We used the pool 2 evenings, ate in the restaurant both nights, and ate breakfast both mornings. We both recommend the hotel.The hotel is an intriguing mixture of old and new. The hotel itself is a relatively new structure that incorporates old Thai buildings. It is very attractive. It is, however, located in a nondescript part of New Sukhothai in manner that is not unusual in Thailand. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. Everything that was promised was delivered. The hotel restaurant is small, but the menu selection is quite broad. We ordered a mixture of familiar and new dishes, and enjoyed them all. My bed had mosquito netting because the windows have no screens. I assume that is typical of the other rooms as well. The WIFI can be a problem, but I found that using the hotel’s alternative network solved the problem neatly. The hotel car will drive you to Old Sukhothai – or pick you up from there - for a fixed price. It’s an excellent deal if you find other guests to split the cost. The hotel car also drove us to the train station in Phitsanulok.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3d-mapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Let me just say that for the most part we write about places that have stood out for us in a good way. I sincerely wish this was the case here but I'm sad to say that it was not. The food was inedible (Dinner), breakfast was the Thai standard not good but not bad. Our room smelled like the urinal that is in the bathroom (close your bathroom door - ours had been open for some time before our arrival). There was a huge ball of the last residents hair in the shower. There isn't a single restaurant or shop nearby. The owner is very nice as was one of the girls who helped us check in. The rest of the staff apparently were doing their best to ignore us. We have travelled all over Thailand and for the price that they are charging have stayed in amazing properties. The quality reflected here would be better represented at say HALF the price. I have photos of the bathroom and hairball but they would just be gross.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KKMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a charming hotel, with a helpful, friendly staff and a lot of homey character in it's design. The rooms are built around a central swimming pool, which is a nice place to relax (unless it's full of a lot of children, which was often the case when we were there). Breakasts were adeqiate; we enjoyed the food at the restaurant more Downsides are that the rooms are small, with little storage space, and you have a choice between a room on the street side, which is probably noisy, or a room on the backside, where there are barking dogs and roosters. Bring earplugs. Mattresses and pillows are FIRM, to say the least. This is not a fancy place, but it's a good value, and you'll definitely feel like you're in Thailand rather than in a generic hotel that could be anywhere. As for location, it's a 15-20 minute walk to restaurants and the night market, and a drive to historic Sukhothai.

Room Tip: I liked being upstairs, with a deck above the pool, rather than on the 1st floor adjacent to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

First of all I decided to stay here as I wanted my mother who was visiting to be in a nice place while visiting the Sukhothai Historical Park . This place was rated number 1 when I booked . I guess maybe there isn't anywhere else to compare it to and that is why it is number one .

Pros. 1. If you don't have a car it's convenient to go to the park
2. Nice pool
3. Very friendly staff

Cons . 1. Was given a Superior room that was in a corner with new view ( changed to pool view . 2. Very hard beds ( o.k it's Thailand to be expected )
3. A urinal in every guest room ? Wow That's new for me and you know you can't rid of that smell no matter what , keep your bathroom doors shut . STAFF , get rid of urinals
4. Breakfast LOOKED good but everything was iced cold . I don't know why a lot of places use chaffing pans for keeping food warm and then don't use the sterno underneath to keep the food warm . Thai dishes cold , eggs cold , well you get the picture . STAFF , get rid of the ( free) breakfast and get a cook . AND instant coffee , yuk !

Bottom line this place is worth no more than 800-1,000 baht tops and o.k for one night if you must , We moved on to Sukhothai Heritage Resort WOW for just 1,000 baht more , no comparison but you do need transportation . STAY HERE ONLY IF YOU DON'T HAVE A CAR

Room Tip: O.K for a night at the most , close bathroom doors so you don't have to smell the urinal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 1th to 5th February 2012.


2nd February I brought an envelope with amex cheques, cash and my passport to the reception desk and asked them to put it to a safe box. 


3nd I came and asked for the envelope to take my passport to rent a motorbike. They brought the envelope to me. I did not leave the reception desk. I took the passport just in front of them and returned the envelope back to them. 


5 th. I checked out in the morning and asked for my envelope. They answered that they did not have it as I already had taken it and they did not remember the moment I returned them the envelope after taking my passport from it. That is next to impossible because I clearly remember that I returned it back. I asked them to check a camera at the reception, but they answered they did not have cameras in the hotel. I also asked them to check everywhere and moved to Chiang Mai.


The same day I called AMEX support and asked them to block the cheques numbers. They also asked me to go to a police station and get a police report.


6 th. I went to a police station wrote the full story and they provided me a report. 


8 th. I went to the police station to check progress about the investigation. No luck. A guy from the police station said if they wanted to steal money it's hard to prove. 
I called back to Sukhotai hotel to wonder maybe they have found the envelope, but the answer was no again. This time the owner suggested me to lie that I lost my travel cheques in Chiang Mai not in Sukhotai. Nice.




By the way, it's a nice hotel, but keep all your valuable belongings far away from the reception desk.

P.S. This is an updated review. I attached the police report in my previous post, but it did not appear. Hope this time it will work.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
117 Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It is a very nice hotel with a lovely swimming pool, cosy interiors, decent breakfast and a very pleasent service. I do recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
10.9 km away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#3 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
23.2 km away
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
#2 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
11.6 km away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#5 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
11.4 km away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
11.5 km away
Le Charme Sukhothai
Le Charme Sukhothai
#6 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruean Thai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruean Thai Hotel

Property: Ruean Thai Hotel
Address: 181/20 Soi Pracharoumit | Jarodvithithong Road, Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruean Thai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a good service with warm welcome to everyone at Ruean Thai Hotel, Sukhothai. Come and Relax your day with our luxurious rooms. Thai Style Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruean Thai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruean Thai Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing