We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
429
137
44
25
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
137
44
25
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bean bags air conditioner regular tents hot water dining tent parked our car both dinner and breakfast camel ride late at night fire pit watching the stars star gaze chicken unique experience visitor center bedouin tent own bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 679 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We stayed one night as four adults (family). The bubbles were as expected. When we arrived mid afternoon the heat was stifling but the aircon worked efficiently and as we were told, it's actually quite cold at night. Not too many stars to see that night but the full moon shone in and lit up the pod. It's a novel experience. Bathroom area is simple but serves its purpose. Water - luke warm but it was so hot outside it didn't matter.
Food - not great compared to other stays in Jordan (but this is the desert and presumably supplies are not so plentiful). As a vegetarian, the buffet option was very limited - rice and salad (this wasn't the case in other places we stayed). Be aware - we were tempted to buy a 'local beer' at 6JD (it's actually non-alcoholic which wasn't made clear and made a soft drink quite pricey!)

All in all- although pricey - it was a good experience.

Room tip: A pod at the front might be best. We had one in first and one in second row (which looks out over first row).
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

We stayed at the Luxury Camp for a night in late June, towards the end of our holiday in Jordan. There are two really good things about it - firstly, the location is breathtaking. It's remote enough that you really feel you're in the desert and the short 4x4 drive from the nearest village is an experience in itself with gorgeous scenery. The second good thing was the staff (some of them, anyway) who were friendly, smiley and welcoming.

Unfortunately, we were appalled by the astoundingly poor value for money - this was by far the most expensive accommodation of our trip and I would never stay here again.

The first issue was that when we arrived at the village to park our car and make use of the transfer to the camp, we were told they had no recollection whatsoever of our booking - when we produced the email confirmation they seemed to work it all out though. The man at the meeting point in the village spent a lot of time trying to sell us tours, and we eventually handed over some cash for a camel ride the next morning.

Then the tent itself: the water had been switched off so we had to wait to be able to shower on arrival (not ideal after a day's driving and 40 degree heat). It also transpired that they don't turn on the AC until 6.30pm so the internal temperature of our tent was approximately 50 degrees C, and it was actually cooler to sit outside. They made an exception to the rule and kindly switched ours on early, but the tent was so hot it was hours before we could feel a difference. The toiletries in the bathroom were half used.

The staff prepared a traditional Bedouin chicken dish for dinner and invited us to see how it was cooked under the ground - which was a nice touch - but unfortunately the evening buffet was largely inedible. The accompanying dips, salads and breads were stale or in some cases completely off, and had obviously been sitting around for days. Breakfast was a similar story.

When it came to the camel ride, the reception desk at the camp didn't seem to understand who we'd paid the cash to at the village, so we weren't sure the ride was even going to happen. But someone did turn up to collect us to take us on a camel ride, at which point we were told we had to take all of belongings with us because we wouldn't be able to return to the hotel to freshen up before checking out (even though the check out time was much later). In the end we were so keen to leave that we cancelled the ride, and we weren't offered a refund - which was fine because at that point we'd had enough.

We concluded that we'd have understood the rules about the water supply and AC if we'd been staying at an ordinary camp, but the 'Luxury' tag and the VERY luxury price point simply didn't make sense. We felt utterly ripped off and would actively discourage other travellers from staying there - it was shambolic. You'd be better off staying at a more modest camp with exactly the same facilities (or lack of) but for a fraction of the price. The saving grace was that we only booked for 1 night - we'd considered staying for 2 when we started planning our trip and if we had done that, we would have left early and found alternative accommodation. I can't begin to imagine how uncomfortable it would be if you were travelling with children.

Avoid!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HKathU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

So, let me begin with the plus point of this night in Wadi Rum: the Location is perfect.
And now with all the other points which led to the disappointment.
First: we arrived around 3pm in Wadi Rum village and checked in there before beeing picked up and transfered to the camp. There is apparently no wish to have the guests that early in the camp (because of the temperature in the tent...and the fact that the AC will be turned on just after 6.30pm), that is why the employee at the check-in tried anything possible to sell us a tour. We refused thankfully and insisted that we wanted to rest that day (in retrospect an error)
Second: As we arrived the local manager tried again to convince us to book a tour (the first and last time we saw the manager) and than wished us a nice stay. In the tent was not possible to stay (was really like in a sauna) so we went in the restaurant tent...and we waited about 30min to make an order for a lunch basket (another error). About 30min later we got finally these lunch-bags and we ate the sandwiches because we were very hungry, not because it was delicious.
Fourth: There are enough employees in the camp, but the communication is so poor and everybody is trying to make no error...that is why the employees avoid the guest. Here is to say that only that most of the employees are from Sri Lanka and not local Jordanians (so probably they do not understand each other also...).
Third: We were delighted of the idea of sleeping "under the stars" and we booked the Full of Stars Tent (Mars2)...but we decided to wake up 3am and go out of the tent to enjoy the stars, we couldn`t see something out of the bed (the transparent side of the tent is actually blurry, just a good marketing tool).
Fourth: We were all in all for two weeks in Jordan and we loved to chat and eat with locals. Does it means we had some expectations for dinner? Yes, it does. A simple, but tasty barbecue would habe been good enough...but the food was not cooked there (catering) and tasted quite bland, really nothing special. The same story with the breakfast.

Conclusion: We expected something else for 300 JD/night in a "luxury camp". Looking back at the poor service and food and the consistent leak of sensitiveness towards guest needs... only the price was a luxury. And we are astonished that nobody writes about these facts. The same day in the camp we could spot at least 3 other frustrated groups in the camp... .

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicoleta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at this camp in Wadi Rum which includes a timed safari through the desert. Be careful not to spend too much at any location as you will miss other stops on the way. I stayed in a bubble tent which was pretty cool. It was a full moon and the night sky was well lit so I didn’t see many stars. Food at the camp is basic but good. Wadi Rum is an area that shouldn’t be missed on a trip to Jordan, however I would recommend it as part of a day trip starting in Petra ending in Aqaba.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed a night at the luxury camp at Wadi Rum and could not have had a better experience. The 4x4 tour was fun, although our guide was feeling sick and had an old car - but still he was nice and took us to lots of great places. The campsite was wonderful, for a camp in the desert! The dinner was delicious, our beds were comfortable and it was nice to have running water for a shower, toilet, etc ... I think for the isolated location that this camp is, you could not get a better experience than this.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank fishbait_singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews