We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
40
75
49
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
75
49
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacream teahoneymoon suiteenglish breakfastfour poster bedlove this placegardens are lovelyold schoolenglish stylenew havenbit wornbeef baconwestern dishesfreshly squeezed orange juiceate beefstyle hoteldressing room
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We have visited Smokehouse to have our breakfast. It was good with reasonable price. The environment was very soothing, you may feel like in western cities in ancient days. The staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhananjoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

My son is living abroad and suggested this place. "Mom you will love the British Charm". The gardens are lovely, the place was indeed charming. The staff made us feel special. You are greeted by the host at the desk. You order from the parlor, have a drink and socialize. Then enter the dining room-so much to look at and enjoy. I was dying for some great vegetables. My husband and I enjoyed the green salad- so fresh. I had the poached salmon and he ate Beef Wellington. We loved the place so much we returned the next night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

The western dishes are recommended by Local people, and located on the way to famous waterfall. The facade and interior are fantastically tradittional. The Coffee are bit high cost but beef stake is reasonable price is indicated. We never tried but if had chance we 'd like to enjoy it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ta-chan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Employees very friendly and helpful, especially manager, Mr. Lee. Food was excellent. Very quaint and relaxed, nice atmosphere. No tv or fridge in room. Lots of birds and wildlife to watch. Room and food not cheap.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

This was a spur of a moment decision. The trip was on the 19 May to 21 May.

Have been to this hotel couples of time however this time it was the spur of the moment thing. Tried calling the hotel to check the availability of room and make the reservation but could not get in contact with the hotel so my partner and I decided to take a risk and drive up. Anyway, my partner needed to be in Kuala Kubu Baru, a town at the foothill of the range, for some last minute work commitment.

When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that there were couples of suites available. Since every suites here were different, we asked to be shown the suites before we decided which one to choose. On our previous visits we have stayed in Alexander, Russel and Scott suites. All of these room were facing the back of the property overlooking the hills and the first 2 were in the main building while Scott was in an annexe at the back of the main building. Scott is an Executive Suite, recently tenovated. This time we were shown to the New Haven suites that faces the back of the property and Charlotte Suites, the so call honeymoon suite, that faces the front of the property overlooking the breakfast terrace. We decided on Charlotte as the suite was brighter due to its location and it was equiped with a rather big and airy bathroom completes with a 2 person jacuzzi. Worth mentioning that there were also some standard rooms available on a separate building to the side of the main building.

Check-in was done in the small lobby where you were required to prepay for your entire stay. All incidental charges, like drinks and foods were to be settled when you check out. They did not ask for any deposit for that purpose.

The suites comes with a king 4 poster bed, a sofa and 2 small chairs and a coffee table that was arranged at the foot of the bed and a separate breakfast nook overlooking the garden. From the bedroom, you walk into the dressing room and through a door to the big bathroom with the above mentioned jacuzzi. A sharp contrast from other suites in the main building, Charlotte Suites looks like it was recently renovated. As is norm of this place, there were no tv or phone in the room. Wi-fi was available but the connection was not good. Mobile reception was also iffy. This, according to the staff, had been a problem of late hence the reason I could not get them on the phone to make my reservation.

To enjoy your stay at this place, first do not expect a 5 star service. Learn to accept that there were nothing much to do. This is a place for relaxation. If you manage to do that, you will enjoy this place with all its idiosyncrasies from the rumbling plumbing to the creaking of floorboards and mildewy books and magazines in the Library and the TV Room. The staff are friendly and since we were returning guest, we were treated more like a friend. The head housekeeper, an Indian lady who works here for more than 20 years, was always happy to welcome us back to her place.

The suite came with free English Breakfast and Good Night Tea. Breakfast is served on the outdoor terrace. Good Night Tea can be taken anywhere you like, in the Bar, the Lounge, the TV room or in your Suites. There was no kettle in the room but they gave you a thermos of hot water. Bring your own tea/coffee if you feel like making your own drink.

We have been staying here everytime we were in the area. We loved the area for the slow pace of life of a small town and we love this place for its history, its staff and its character. The hotel never advertised itself as an upscale star rated property so don't expect a service like that provided by big chain hotels. If you can accept that you will fall in love with this place as we did. Would we return? Of course, at the spur of the moment.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the 2 Honeymoon Suites even though you were not on honeymoon.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adli Izham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews