We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde, It's a Nice Place.. But Go With Low Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill
Ranked #2 of 6 Bukit Fraser B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2017

My family and I stayed in Fraser Hill Pine Resort last weekend, and we went to Ye Olde for dinner. This place is the most upper class restaurant in the vicinity. Most of the workers are from India, and spoke very good English and were courteous too.

The good points
a) The decoration of this place is very old school, filled with many British influences from the building architecture, sofa settings, dinning area etc. which was very nice
b) Parking the car was also easy, as the spaces are ample.
c) The western food (main course meals) portion is decently big, for one person.
d) The toilets are clean.

The bad points
a) The price for the food and drinks are expensive but I think it’s OK, for one time experience. For example, a plate of chicken chop is RM40 (excluding GST and service charge), and a decent sized glass of hot chocolate is RM20 .
b) The service was somewhat left to be desired, as the workers were slow in getting our food orders. Time taken to prepare the food, was almost 45min. Nonetheless, I don’t blame them as they hardly get many customers.
c) The place closes at 9.30pm, including the bar. It’s bad enough that there’s almost nothing much to do in Fraser’s Hill, and all shops including Ye Olde closes early :-(

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sramraj_sivagnanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We have visited Smokehouse to have our breakfast. It was good with reasonable price. The environment was very soothing, you may feel like in western cities in ancient days. The staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhananjoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My son is living abroad and suggested this place. "Mom you will love the British Charm". The gardens are lovely, the place was indeed charming. The staff made us feel special. You are greeted by the host at the desk. You order from the parlor, have a drink and socialize. Then enter the dining room-so much to look at and enjoy. I was dying for some great vegetables. My husband and I enjoyed the green salad- so fresh. I had the poached salmon and he ate Beef Wellington. We loved the place so much we returned the next night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

The western dishes are recommended by Local people, and located on the way to famous waterfall. The facade and interior are fantastically tradittional. The Coffee are bit high cost but beef stake is reasonable price is indicated. We never tried but if had chance we 'd like to enjoy it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ta-chan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Employees very friendly and helpful, especially manager, Mr. Lee. Food was excellent. Very quaint and relaxed, nice atmosphere. No tv or fridge in room. Lots of birds and wildlife to watch. Room and food not cheap.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This was a spur of a moment decision. The trip was on the 19 May to 21 May.

Have been to this hotel couples of time however this time it was the spur of the moment thing. Tried calling the hotel to check the availability of room and make the reservation but could not get in contact with the hotel so my partner and I decided to take a risk and drive up. Anyway, my partner needed to be in Kuala Kubu Baru, a town at the foothill of the range, for some last minute work commitment.

When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that there were couples of suites available. Since every suites here were different, we asked to be shown the suites before we decided which one to choose. On our previous visits we have stayed in Alexander, Russel and Scott suites. All of these room were facing the back of the property overlooking the hills and the first 2 were in the main building while Scott was in an annexe at the back of the main building. Scott is an Executive Suite, recently tenovated. This time we were shown to the New Haven suites that faces the back of the property and Charlotte Suites, the so call honeymoon suite, that faces the front of the property overlooking the breakfast terrace. We decided on Charlotte as the suite was brighter due to its location and it was equiped with a rather big and airy bathroom completes with a 2 person jacuzzi. Worth mentioning that there were also some standard rooms available on a separate building to the side of the main building.

Check-in was done in the small lobby where you were required to prepay for your entire stay. All incidental charges, like drinks and foods were to be settled when you check out. They did not ask for any deposit for that purpose.

The suites comes with a king 4 poster bed, a sofa and 2 small chairs and a coffee table that was arranged at the foot of the bed and a separate breakfast nook overlooking the garden. From the bedroom, you walk into the dressing room and through a door to the big bathroom with the above mentioned jacuzzi. A sharp contrast from other suites in the main building, Charlotte Suites looks like it was recently renovated. As is norm of this place, there were no tv or phone in the room. Wi-fi was available but the connection was not good. Mobile reception was also iffy. This, according to the staff, had been a problem of late hence the reason I could not get them on the phone to make my reservation.

To enjoy your stay at this place, first do not expect a 5 star service. Learn to accept that there were nothing much to do. This is a place for relaxation. If you manage to do that, you will enjoy this place with all its idiosyncrasies from the rumbling plumbing to the creaking of floorboards and mildewy books and magazines in the Library and the TV Room. The staff are friendly and since we were returning guest, we were treated more like a friend. The head housekeeper, an Indian lady who works here for more than 20 years, was always happy to welcome us back to her place.

The suite came with free English Breakfast and Good Night Tea. Breakfast is served on the outdoor terrace. Good Night Tea can be taken anywhere you like, in the Bar, the Lounge, the TV room or in your Suites. There was no kettle in the room but they gave you a thermos of hot water. Bring your own tea/coffee if you feel like making your own drink.

We have been staying here everytime we were in the area. We loved the area for the slow pace of life of a small town and we love this place for its history, its staff and its character. The hotel never advertised itself as an upscale star rated property so don't expect a service like that provided by big chain hotels. If you can accept that you will fall in love with this place as we did. Would we return? Of course, at the spur of the moment.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the 2 Honeymoon Suites even though you were not on honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adli Izham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is a quaint old place, with an amazing location, but it needs some care and attention to bring it up to the highest standard. It reminded us of a country hotel in the English lake district - from about 50 years ago! But the views are amazing, breakfast or evening drinks on the terrace not to be missed, and the staff are willing and friendly if not exactly polished. We came away saying we would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L5952TKthomasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
37.3 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
32.3 km away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
290 reviews
38.8 km away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 km away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,970 reviews
33.6 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
480 reviews
1.1 km away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#4 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill

Address: Jalan Jeriau, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Fraser
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Smokehouse invites you to experience the charm of English countryside and its architecture that will make your stay at the Hill Resort truly memorable. Stay in one of our well appointed rooms/suites furnished with four poster bed, English furniture and antiques. Enjoy the cool climate and tranquility of Fraser's Hill by indulging in our afternoon cream tea with homemade scones, strawberry jam and a pot of tea. In the evening, head to the bar where a real log wood fireplace awaits you. Have a drink and dine in one of the Hill's finest English restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant
Smokehouse Hotel Bukit Fraser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing