We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
244
127
33
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
127
33
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa sea turtles fish marine biologist lunch and dinner our honeymoon tawau airport snorkeling trip main building amazing experience dive instructor semporna jetty served buffet style paradise resort boat esa
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 427 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary, we decided to take our family to Pom Pom to celebrate. The staff were amazing, and could not do enough for us - they even surprised us with a special cake for our anniversary! Watched the release of one-day old hawksbill turtles with Orianna, the resident marine biologist, who was very informative and helpful. Went snorkelling to find (and found many!) adult turltes, amidst the most pristine blue ocean, filled with exotic sealife and colourful corals. A truly magical experience, beautiful people, stunning scenery - what more could one ask for?

Room Tip: The beach and garden bungalows are worth the extra money - they're gorgeous, on stilts with wide balcony, and hammock out front
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GregandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful and unique Island! an Amazing beach!
Staff so nice! a special Thank is for ESA who made our lunches and dinners so delitious with the help of the chef ;-). They prepared for us wonderful food...different from the chinese one. Right place to see turtles and marine biodiversity! Thanks to Oriana, the biologist, and The brasilian girl, dive instructor, Thanks to them we had also the chance to see the release of small turtles into the see...amazing experience!!
I really suggest to try the SPA...so good and relaxing!
We will see sono again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carlonebrasilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We reserved directly with their reservations department in KK, Sky was excellent!!
The location is idyllic and SEEMS perfect for a honeymoon destination get away.
For the price, I really think there are better options elsewhere (Thailand). We enjoyed our stay here but would warn other honeymooners away and cannot see ourselves ever returning, which is a shame, since it was the last stop of our honeymoon. We chose a beach villa against a water villa (staying in a water villa during a storm is an experience if you want one). The beach villa was spacious and quaint, but lacked character and warmth. The general service was pleasant but some of the senior staff members seemed as though they couldn't be bothered to be there. The food needs improving drastically, we requested some traditional food and this was so good and tasty, we wonder why they continue to prepare the other greasy options! We were so lucky to see the sea turtles released and this alone is worthy of a visit here. Finally, for such a stunning location you would expect the sea and beach to be a lot cleaner. Unfortunately, the Malaysians that live on the water don't realise they live on a goldmine of natural beauty and do not know how to care and maintain such luxury. Instead throwing any waste (nappies, bottles, plastics of all sorts) directly into the sea, which inevitably washes up on these beautiful islands. We did scuba dive here and again were so sad to see the volume of fish mining which has destroyed the house reef coral. Some intervention is needed urgently, otherwise there will be no more coral in 10 years and guess what NO TOURISTS!
Finally, we did have some time to use the spa - it was fantastic - in fact, complete contrast to the hotel.

Room Tip: Use the spa and ask for the new beach villas - unlikely you'll be able to dive Sipidan
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

I went to pom pom island last month and stayed there for 5 nights with my family. The island is small but beautiful. Soft white sand beach, crystal water, large villa and nice food.Staff are friendly and polite in the resort. Everything is perfect.
Snorkeling before the beach is great, sting ray, corals, sea stars, fishes can be seen. Diving is also amazing, many turtles ,eagle rays can be seen near pom pom island. But what a pity some corals are white and dead.Good news is that the staff of the resort are planting corals. Special thanks to my dive guide Su and Nebew (sorry I don't know how to spell their names), they are really nice. Thanks
Unforgettable vacation. must be back!

BTW, there are many trashes on the other side of this island. I worry why the people of other resorts don't care about this.

Room Tip: Garden room is the best value.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ultimate2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Pickup directly from airport and transfer by boat to Pom Pom island make the trip very easy. The resort is very small with no real activities besides snorkelling and diving but it is a perfect getaway. Three meals a day is provided and there is a small bar in the main building. Very friendly diving crew that can assist with various locations - make sure you see the sea turtles!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThenTryThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews