We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service and not as good as you.............”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sipadan Kapalai Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed 3 nights with my family in room5 there.The place is quite beautiful,but do not try to compare it with Maldive or even pompom island nearby,or you'll get very disappointed.
1.My family got to Tawau airport at about 11:00 on 13th March,found nobody came to pick us up.We met a staff of mabul bornear resort who helped us to call the kapalai's staff there.HE checked my name and pointed to it on the paper in his hand,I said yes,that's my name,and think things would be easy then. But to my disappointment ,he called somebody else ,and told me to go by taxi myself.I was shocked ,I have paid all the money.And i have never been treated like that.The staff just left us there,so i had to take taxi to semporna.
2.IN the morning,at about 8:00am,the staff knocked at the door to wake us up to tidy up the room.
3.If you go there,you will find there are so many people,and the staff are not so friendly and it's like a big dining room.All of this make it difficult for you to feel at ease.

Room Tip: If you go there,do not choose the room near the lobby or staff dormitory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louisyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

It's a very good option for diving in Sipadan. The house reef , Mabul and Siamil are also nice for the ones who enjoy the little critters. The rooms are nice, but since it's a big resort, you might end up in one that is far from the dive center... which is not a big problem.
Unfortunately, there are lots of restrictions to go to Sipadan, so if your wish is to dive there everyday, just forget it! But you can try to get in the list in case someone cancel.
They go to the early (really early) first dive there, which for me was always the best, with the bumpheads parrots.
Stil in Sipadan, the guides usually take the divers deeper (20 - 25 m), where most of the cool stuff are right on the shallow (5 -10 m). So, specially if you are a photographer, try to stay shallow.
We had our our gear, so I can not comment about their rental dive gear.
Most of the guests seems to be novice divers. We are experienced divers and fortunately they were flexible enough to leave us alone.

There's one big issue in the resort: the food!
It might be personal taste (and I like different food), but it was far from being average!

And as a last comment, I don't think it's a place for non-divers. There's nothing else to do!

Room Tip: if you are a diver, try to get one closer to the dive center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianabasques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Sipadan Kapalai DIve resort is really a nice resort, my husband and i love it very much. The crystal clear water attracts our attention. You can see the lovely corals under the sea water. The room is spacious, have a big balcony, you can lie down to see stars and enjoy the sea breeze. And if you are lucky, can see the turtles pass by. Small, medium and big fishes are jumping and swimming around. I love everything of the room, but no air-con. If no sea breeze, might be very hot and my husband couldn't have a good night sleep. The resort will prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not many choices of foods because one of their objectives is do not waste food, but i'm ok with it. You wont get hungry because they provide bread, coffee and tea for morning till night. Besides that, is a good place for snorkeling if you are not attached with dive package. You can snorkel at jetty, many types and colorful fishes. Is a big aquarium. Have a walk to artificial beach, white sands beach with sea stars around.Bring your own snorkel equipment, so don't have to waste money to rent it. I will go back again with my husband. It is just amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SienMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Right now in sitting by the balcony of this resort, and all I can say is, I don't wanna go back! the room exceeded my expectation, food was not bad, service is good, the sea water is crystal clear! To all those reading this review right now, don't think twice, just make ur way here. I will definitely make a trip back here :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank furballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great dive crew, rental dive gear was excellent and super well maintained. Sipadan is a fantastic dive (the other spots, not that much), hotel is clean and reasonably organized, staff is helpful but the quality of the food is very poor, with no options if you´re not into their big, greasy buffet. A good place for divers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

A lovely hotel, good food and excellent diving!
Nice staff!
The only complaint is the transfer from Tawau, the driver was crazy and drove extremely fast and dangerous.
The dives under the hotel pier are easy and interesting. Sipadan is a must!
The hotel rooms are big and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelenaUbatuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This resort is overpriced for the value. We (2) spent 6 nights there with the diving package.
Sipadan Island is a true gem as far as diving experience is concerned - Problem we only were taken there for 2 out of the 5 days of diving. This was a big disappointment due to the other days we went to other nearby islands - We went down to 60ft on the first dive at one of these other islands and what they don't tell you is the locals there use dynamite to go out fishing. It was great to spend all this money and be down to 60ft and have dynamite dropped down on top of you. Shame on the government to allow this type of activity that kills the reef and apparently some divers every year. I can say we were very lucky on this trip and refused to dive any more other than the Sipadan Island because it is somewhat protected.
It would have not been so bad if the management at this resort were smart enough to organize other activities at the resort (like crab races, volley ball tournaments, etc.) but it is basically diving and not much else. As reported in other reviews the food totally sucks (unless you can eat fried chicken for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day). This resort should hire a "resort" food and drink manager to at least do a better attempt to present the food and set up a better serving line because some of the other guests lacked manners and it became a free for all. Very disappointed in what was offered for the money as far as food and diving. They could at least make an attempt to bake a cake or something for desert instead of old stale sugar bread.
The Dive Masters were very good but be careful - we brought our own gear and someone popped out one of our $65 dive compasses out of our console.
This would be a great resort if the management got it together and worked on getting repeat customers because to me it was a bad experience and I would not return to this resort - there are other tour operators and dive resorts locally that I would try first before going back to this one.
Never Again

Room Tip: Rooms have not A/C so try to get a room facing into breeze - outward looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank airspeed_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
45.8 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
29.4 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
278 reviews
0.0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
29.6 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
6.5 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Kapalai Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Kapalai Dive Resort

Address: Kapalai, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sipadan Kapalai Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes by boat from the islands of Sipadan and Mabul but a full world away from it lays the exhilarating Sipadan-Kapalai Dive Resort, sitting on its sturdy stilts on the shallow sandbanks of Ligitan Reefs. Planned and built in full style as an airy, comfortable, sunny water village with no land in sight, it boasts a mile-long sandbank of powdery white sand where one can suntan at complete leisure while gazing out to the miles of brilliant turquoise stretching into the horizon offering the purest image of natural serenity. Dive spots Sipadan and Mabul can be reached in just a few minutes by speedboat. Sipadan-Kapalai is an ideal destination for diver and non-diver alike seeking a great holiday experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sipadan-Kapalai Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Sipadan Kapalai Island Hotel
Hotel Sipadan Kapalai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing