We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SETTING, GREAT SERVICE, WONDERFUL STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Thanks for an amazing time, great food, beautiful setting,exceptional service and wonderful boat cruises. WOW !!
We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights as a family of four, had a booking for one room but was given two seperate ones which was an added bonus at no charge. Thanks Jason for answering all my questions via email you were so helpful and informative and your cooking is amazing too!! Also Gert you have a real passion for this place, thanks for sharing your knowledge and we feel very lucky to have visited this very special area and thanks for getting us to Sepilok in time for the morning feed on the day of our departure. I recommend this experience to everyone seeing the elephants ,monkeys and birdlife so close was awesome.
THANK YOU FOR A VERY SPECIAL EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL MEMORY OF SABAH.
PS: The stairs are a bit of a challenge 2 days after climbing Mt Kinabalu......

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertsFamilyAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

I gotta say, straight up, that Jason is one of the most amazing people we have ever met. Helpful, caring, intelligent and I believe also a great cook. He went wayyyyyy out of his way to help us and I'm voting now for Jason to run as Prime Minister for Malaysia! Or Australia. OK, I'll stop gushing. Josill (guide and all round helper) also was fantastic as a guide and found us elephants on the river tour. The food here was easily the best we ate in Malaysia. And they had chilled Australian Chardonney at 80 RG a bottle. FANTASTIC. The rooms, though basic (could we get a screen door fitted guys to let the breeze through??) were clean and comfortable. But you aren't coming here for the rooms. You're here for the food, the staff and the river tour. I cannot praise these people enough. We will be back. And make sure you buy some trees there to cover your carbon pollution in getting here and support the Palm Oil boycott at http://www.zoo.org.au/PalmOil . And don't fret over the stairs, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illawarra34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Fantastic. Great location, great food, great host.

We met lovely people, staff as well as guests and overall the experience was amazing. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending last frontier to anyone. We even saw an Orangutan while we had our breakfast! We will never forget our visit here.
Many thanks to Jason who really goes that extra mile.
For a much, much more detailed account of our stay see Sinkers90's review (Hi, hope you and Steve are both well!)

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Kel_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Wow!!! The LFR was everything you could ask for in a rainforest lodge by a river.
Hornbills, orangutangs, and other amazing creatures at times come right up within view from restaurant. The sounds of the jungle are only matched by the hospitality of the hosts.
Once you reach the top of the stairs a cool breeze blows through the grounds (ah!!).

Room Tip: all the rroms are simple but tropically blend into the jungle scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFISAYGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Last Frontier Boutique Resort is one of the nicest places I ever stayed at while travelling... I simply loved the calming views over the green forest with the river in the distance...

Gert is a passionate and knowledgeable guide explaining you everything about the local wildlife. I felt incredibly happy when driving with the small boat into the sunset on Kinabatangan river, the wind in my face, elephants on the river bank.

And Jason prepares the most delicious food... I would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, 3 days. We were met by Jason and his driver at Sepilok as requested. It is about a 2 hour drive to the resort in an nice airconditoned car. When we arrived it was very hot and the stairs looked like they go on for miles but once you start climbing there is plenty of landing areas to enjoy the view and peace of the jungle. Once we reached the top we went to the dining room and enjoyed a cool drink and met the other guests which were another 2 couples. After that we were shown to our bedrooms which were basic but clean and accomodating with towels and shower products (they are not airconditoned but have ceiling fans which were enough as it got quiet cool in the early mornings). We then went out on our first boat ride to look for the jungle animals. We saw plenty of monkeys, birds and crocodiles but no elephants (unfortunately). The ride lasted for about 3 hours which was very pleasant and our boat driver was very friendly and funny. We arrived back at the resort quite late and it was dark so you will need your torch for the long climb up the stairs. We then got showered and we went to the dining room for a lovely meal preparded by Jason. Jason is a wonderful cook his food is the best we had while we were in Borneo. That night we sat around and talked to the other lovely couples and Jason until we all decided it was bed time. Next morning we had a little sleep in and then had a wondeful breakfast prepard by the marvelous Jason again. After that we got ready for a jungle trek which lasted about 2 hours which was quite pleasant we did not see any wildlife there though. After that we came back and had lunch then a nice rest ready for our boat trip again. We did not see any elephants again but we did hear them and saw the damage they did in their path. That night there was a storm that lit the whole river up and it was so beautiful. After that back up the stairs ready for a lovely dinner. This was our last night and we all wished we could have had another day or two as we all enjoyed our time at the resort the friendships we made. That night was one we will not forget and Jason was so accomodating helpful and a wonderful cook. Not to mention his helpful staff as well they were all friendly and helpful and always smiling. Sorry for such a big review but I just wanted to let people know how wonderful this place is and I am sure that to all the people that book this place will love it immensley and find Jason just a wonderful host that will bend over backwards to help you. On our last day we were visited by a orang utan which was in the tree approx 20 feet away from the dining room so that was a nice going away present.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sinkers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Tip 1) Not good for children less than 9 years old, they are too young. The stairway is a loong trip and there are small animals that can be painfull.
Tip 2) Book two days: Gert and jason have a two days programm, so if you stay there for three days your third day will be the same as the first day.
Tip 3) Sign up for a early in the morning trip at the river. Different wild life than in the evening.
Tip 4) The jungle walk at 10:00 is OK as a nice walk in the jungle, do not think you get to see much wild life. Animals do not like the heat tto, they stay in.
Tip 5) BOOK now.
The stairway: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yaM8FtjXzU

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
38.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.1 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
359 reviews
7.9 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
1.5 km away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
265 reviews
9.6 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Frontier Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Frontier Boutique Resort

Address: Kampung Bilit | Kinabatangan River, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $225 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Frontier Resort is a unique resort in the Kinabatangan area. As the first and only, it's located on top of a 100 meter high hill with a beautiful view over the forest sanctuary and the Kinabatangan River. Our packages include accommodation, 3 meals a day and an evening river cruise. Optional we can provide jungle trekking, night river cruises and night walks in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Last Frontier Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Frontier Boutique Hotel Sandakan
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing