We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel Sandakan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel is located in the middle of Sandakan CBD with lots of activities going on around it. The hotel itself was clean and decent. And it is also cheap. They have free wifi too. But if you are driving there might be a problem with parking if you are arriving during peak hours or weekends. [btw, this place should be categorised as "hotel" and not "inn" or "b&b".]

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is right at the center of the Main Town area of Sandakan. Hotel room has a great space & clean. Staff was friendly but clueless. Ask about the number for the airport they can't provide. Around the hotel I can find banks, eating places, supermarket, cake shop, wet market, KFC & many more. I would say this hotel is good for stay but can't count much from the staff for info. Better research yourself what you need to do in Sandakan.

Room Tip: Staff are Clueless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is a few streets back from the Waterfront restaurants, so only a few minutes walk. There is parking in the street which must be paid for during the day, but is free overnight and on Sundays. Small but clean rooms, wi-fi internet, but no food in the hotel. Staff friendly but not much tourism knowledge, let us use showers, toilets and luggage store even after we checked out. Perfect for a central point to travel in and around Sandakan.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear KarinL65,

Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

-nice and lovely room
-clean room
-friendly staff who are willing to help you at any time
-nice and clean bathroom
-never encountered with any insect ! i love this hotel!
-reasonable price!
-i stayed for 4days and 3nights, in a standard room (with 2 single beds), we only need to pay around RM265~
-really recommend this place for anyone who look for cheap and comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbak85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear xshajiax,

Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

It is feedback such as yours that makes our day. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest because the hotel is dedicated to ensuring comfort at all times.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay us in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Right in the middle of things in Sandakan, though pretty quiet. Clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EttaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear EttaP,

Thanks for your compliment and we from Central Hotel Sandakan will strive for our best to serve you even better for your next stay.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I recently stayed here for three nights and its good value for the money. It was very clean and the staff are nice and helpful. The wifi didn't work though. There is supposed to be wifi in all the rooms but we only got a signal in the elevator. There is a computer in the lobby that guests can use for a small fee but that was hooked up to wifi too and had a very spotty connection.

If you expect a real budget hotel, you might be a bit impressed with this place. (except if you want to get online)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear vylin,

Thanks for your compliment and your compliment is the ultimate prize that our hotel really appreciate. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Arrived from the airport to the hotel and got dropped off by a night market / second hand clothes market. It cost 26 riggits to the centre of town. Thank fully the hotel was in clear view of where we got dropped off. We arrived at the hotel to check in. All seemed to be okay. The hotel brochure showed pictures of the room. The hotel room itself had air conditioning and two single beds, no window. The bathroom provided a toilet, sink and shower! We had a tv in the room which was nice with a couple of English channels on.

The following morning we were woken at 7am with a fire alarm, obviously being British, we followed the rules and evacuated. After a few minutes we were followed by a few more guests…… and sadly that was it… a hotel which has the capacity of 48 rooms had 7 guests were staying the evening. When other guests started to returned back into the hotel, we did too - without any indication from the staff, one of whom was busy stopping the alarm every few moments with his hand.
Although we booked via a third party – askholiday.com –you would have thought that we could have been upgraded to a room with a window and a double bed seen as most of the rooms were empty.
There were 2-3 mosquitoes in our room, which we had to kill. The hotel looked after my suitcase (in the little laundry room) while I was away on a trip for 3 days.
There’s not too much to see or do in the town, more of a base while you go on trips in the area. I don’t agree with reviews that its not safe (sandaken town), its just a bit poor and lacking in any kind of style. There were better looking hotels in Sandaken, but in the end of the day you get what you pay for – basic but cheap, would’ve just liked an upgrade to a better room due to the fact that there was no-one in them.

We went on a 3 day 2 night Sandakan package, with Dolphin diaries, however the website is www.journeymalaysia.com

Dan was our tour guide for the 3 days and worked for Interhighland Adventure. He comes highly recommended from us.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_sees_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.9 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel New Sabah
Hotel New Sabah
#21 of 32 in Sandakan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.8 km away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Sandakan

Property: Central Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot 5A-B 6a-B Block 24 Jalan Lebuh 2, Sandakan 90307, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel Sandakan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Central Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing