We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget place, friendly service, big rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel Sandakan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice budget place, friendly service, big rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Nice budget place, friendly service, big rooms.

But all through the night we were tormented by sheets stinking with nasty cigarette odor. Unacceptable for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annavalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear annavalberg,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a very clean and well kept hotel. Location is brilliant - right in the middle of town and very close to all nearby amenities.

The room was small but very well furnished and the bathroom was great too.

Only downside was that the staff were not particularly helpful or friendly but this didn't bother me that much.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Suz B,

First of all, we from Central Hotel Sandakan, would like to say thank you for your encouraging comment. There is nothing better than a satisfy guest that has stay with us.
On the issue of our staff , i on behalf of the hotel would like to say sorry on the shortcoming of us. We will look into the problem and rectify it before your next visit.
Once again , we from Central Hotel Sandakan would like to express our appreciation for staying with us. THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Central Hotel Sandakan is strategically located at the heart of the busy Sandakan town. There is 24-hr taxi stand just round the corner, varied kinds of eateries, supermarket, KFC, an excellent cake shop named "Kelly's". Since most of the tourists do not come to Sandakan for a leisurely stay, the location and the amenities provided by the hotel are good enough for relaxing in between the day-long trips. We were travelling with kid and arrived straight from the Turtle Island at Selingan. So we did a hassle-free early check-in. The room was spacious, and clean though without any view (as expected from a city-centre hotel). The amenities include TV, air-con, toileteries, towels, heater, complimentary tea-coffee. The front-desk staff was helpful and provided us with necessary information when asked. We stayed for 1 night only before flying off to Kota Kinabalu. There's nothing to complain, so we look forward to visit again.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms may be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arpitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear arpitam,

First and foremost we are from the hotel would like to say thank you for and are deeply gratify with the great comments that you have made. For us , there is nothing better than a satisfy guest . Your comment will serve as a great motivation for our entire team of Central Hotel Sandakan. We hope that we will be seeing you soon to give you an even better experience.

Once again , we from Central Hotel Sandakan would like to express our appreciation for staying with us. THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Was a bit regret when first arrive at the hotel entrance but saw one of the reviews that don't judge from the outside to check-in finally. I must say the room is much more better than what i expect.. spacious room, coffee, TV, air-con, toilet, water-heater, towel, wifi .. basically all those i need from a hotel are here but why can't i find it from hotel instead at BB.

Anyway, will certainly return as so far nothing to complain..

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe .. lot better than Standard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfloo3798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear cfloo3798,

Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

Thanks for your pleasant reviews on our hotel for your compliments means a lot to us as a hotelier. We will will be waiting for your next stay.

We from Central Hotel Sandakan appreciates your stay with us. Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel is located in the middle of Sandakan CBD with lots of activities going on around it. The hotel itself was clean and decent. And it is also cheap. They have free wifi too. But if you are driving there might be a problem with parking if you are arriving during peak hours or weekends. [btw, this place should be categorised as "hotel" and not "inn" or "b&b".]

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is right at the center of the Main Town area of Sandakan. Hotel room has a great space & clean. Staff was friendly but clueless. Ask about the number for the airport they can't provide. Around the hotel I can find banks, eating places, supermarket, cake shop, wet market, KFC & many more. I would say this hotel is good for stay but can't count much from the staff for info. Better research yourself what you need to do in Sandakan.

Room Tip: Staff are Clueless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is a few streets back from the Waterfront restaurants, so only a few minutes walk. There is parking in the street which must be paid for during the day, but is free overnight and on Sundays. Small but clean rooms, wi-fi internet, but no food in the hotel. Staff friendly but not much tourism knowledge, let us use showers, toilets and luggage store even after we checked out. Perfect for a central point to travel in and around Sandakan.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear KarinL65,

Hello from us at Central Hotel Sandakan, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
1.5 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.3 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Ramai
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.3 km away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.7 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Sandakan

Property: Central Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot 5A-B 6a-B Block 24 Jalan Lebuh 2, Sandakan 90307, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel Sandakan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Central Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing