We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Right in the middle of things in Sandakan, though pretty quiet. Clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff and well priced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EttaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear EttaP,

Thanks for your compliment and we from Central Hotel Sandakan will strive for our best to serve you even better for your next stay.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

I recently stayed here for three nights and its good value for the money. It was very clean and the staff are nice and helpful. The wifi didn't work though. There is supposed to be wifi in all the rooms but we only got a signal in the elevator. There is a computer in the lobby that guests can use for a small fee but that was hooked up to wifi too and had a very spotty connection.

If you expect a real budget hotel, you might be a bit impressed with this place. (except if you want to get online)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear vylin,

Thanks for your compliment and your compliment is the ultimate prize that our hotel really appreciate. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Central Hotel Sandakan, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Arrived from the airport to the hotel and got dropped off by a night market / second hand clothes market. It cost 26 riggits to the centre of town. Thank fully the hotel was in clear view of where we got dropped off. We arrived at the hotel to check in. All seemed to be okay. The hotel brochure showed pictures of the room. The hotel room itself had air conditioning and two single beds, no window. The bathroom provided a toilet, sink and shower! We had a tv in the room which was nice with a couple of English channels on.

The following morning we were woken at 7am with a fire alarm, obviously being British, we followed the rules and evacuated. After a few minutes we were followed by a few more guests…… and sadly that was it… a hotel which has the capacity of 48 rooms had 7 guests were staying the evening. When other guests started to returned back into the hotel, we did too - without any indication from the staff, one of whom was busy stopping the alarm every few moments with his hand.
Although we booked via a third party – askholiday.com –you would have thought that we could have been upgraded to a room with a window and a double bed seen as most of the rooms were empty.
There were 2-3 mosquitoes in our room, which we had to kill. The hotel looked after my suitcase (in the little laundry room) while I was away on a trip for 3 days.
There’s not too much to see or do in the town, more of a base while you go on trips in the area. I don’t agree with reviews that its not safe (sandaken town), its just a bit poor and lacking in any kind of style. There were better looking hotels in Sandaken, but in the end of the day you get what you pay for – basic but cheap, would’ve just liked an upgrade to a better room due to the fact that there was no-one in them.

We went on a 3 day 2 night Sandakan package, with Dolphin diaries, however the website is www.journeymalaysia.com

Dan was our tour guide for the 3 days and worked for Interhighland Adventure. He comes highly recommended from us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_sees_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

my first time to sandakan, and found this hotel online. hotel personal are really friendly and helpful. I will highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLIVIER r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#31 of 33 in Sandakan
13 reviews
4.9 km away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#23 of 33 in Sandakan
59 reviews
1.8 km away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#10 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel City View
Hotel City View
#30 of 33 in Sandakan
16 reviews
1.9 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Sandakan

Address: Lot 5A-B 6a-B Block 24 Jalan Lebuh 2, Sandakan 90307, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $18 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel Sandakan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing