We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NAK Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
US$33
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$38
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$41
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$36
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
49
174
77
27
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
174
77
27
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgreat rooftop barchinese furnitureincluded breakfastnasi lemaklimited choicesea viewbudget hotellinbathharbourkettle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a lot of charm. The decor is quirky, the staff are helpful, and there’s even an elevator! (So nice after doing so many stairs at other hotels on our trip.) This hotel has a couple of things going for it - namely upstairs and downstairs.

Upstairs is the fantastic Ba Lin Rooftop Bar and Restaurant, which has the best view in town and really great food for a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend the Smoked Duck and Hoisin pizza and the cocktails. Downstairs is the San Da Gen Kopitiam, a really cute restaurant where breakfast is provided by the hotel. The coffee was great, and we particularly enjoyed the Nasi Lemak, and the French Toast with Kaya.

The actual rooms at this hotel are nothing to write home about. They’re very basic, and probably could use some extra cleaning, but the beds are comfortable and our room was nice and quiet even though it was next to the elevator. This hotel was founded in the mid-1960s, and our room looked like it hadn’t been renovated since then - but we actually kind of liked the retro charm.

There is no wifi available in the rooms - only the lobby - and it didn’t work very well at that. Note that the restaurants both have wifi and theirs works better than at the hotel.

The bottom line: This is a budget hotel, and I think that the price is right for what you get. The location is really great, the staff are helpful, and if you’re not going to be spending tons of time in your room it’s totally fine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank amflhu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Our room was spacious and reasonably attractive with big views of the harbor. Bed was big and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and willing to help. Included breakfast at next-door Sandagen Café was good, although limited choice. Had nasi lemak one day (good) and French toast the next (excellent). Great rooftop bar with fabulous views Big problem was no internet in room and erratic, slow internet in lobby, otherwise might give 5 stars..

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We booked last minute and the price was still very reasonable ($30US per night). They kindly allowed us to check in early and it's location is very central. This is an older, business style hotel and is reflected in the nature of the rooms which were in dire need of a remodel. In addition wi-fi was only available in the lobby and not throughout the entire hotel which nowadays is unacceptable in my opinion. There is no pool - the nearby FourPoints Sheraton (five minute walk away) and the Sabah Hotel (a five minute taxi ride away) were apparently the only hotels with one in the city with one (the Sabah welcomes day guests at its pool which is where we went once we checked out of the Nak) . Be aware this is a frontier city, so it is manic, with lots of traffic and very dirty - the paving stones outside the hotel are a real danger, watch out! I will say that the staff despite having limited English were very welcoming and the rooftop bar is very cool and a great escape from the madness, fabulous place for a sundowner! The breakfast in the cafe next door was mediocre though the lunch menu looked quite inviting. Not the best, not the worst.

Room Tip: Make sure you close your door tight, it does not always lock automatically (though a light buzzing noise will alert you to that fact)
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the 3rd on room 504, check out on the 4th. Decided to stayed here because the review seemed good. I booked on booking.com,after i check out, they didn't allowed me to make a review on booking.com i supposed they know that i will make a negative review. But on midnight i went to the bathroom and there was cockroaches there. The walls of the bathroom hasn't been cleaned for awhile, soap scum and calcium deposits is very visible, the shower curtains is not something i want or dare to touch. The sink was leaking when used so the water goes on the floor. I went downstairs and the staff was very helpful, even brought the cockroaches spray but unfortunately that means they have been facing this problem for awhile. They moved me to another room, the staff even spray the cockroaches spray in the 2nd room they moved me to, unfortunately again this room is no different, the sink table and walls has a lot of visible soap scum, the pictures is from the 2nd room they moved me to. The hand bidet was broken and leaking.
Bedroom was nice, everything is functioning except the boring channel on tv. I stayed here when i was 17,even celebrated my birthday on the rooftop, it was good. Im not blaming the staff, ita all the management. I would be quite embarrassed as a hotel owner if i were to give this services to people,i'd be dead embarrassed.
I thank the staff for being really nice and helpful, even at the Ba Lin rooftop.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

The Nak hotel is in a good location in Sandikan with a good cafe next door serving good local food. The room itself was a little noisy but I think that was unavoidable due to the location. There was no wifi in the room I stayed in, only in the lobby and roof bar & restaurant. The rooms could do with updating. The roof bar is ok for a drink but nothing to shout about with the food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank nomadicnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews