We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perhentian Island Resort
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in the best rooms available, 2 semi-suite seaview rooms.
The setting is excellent. Some of the finest white coral sand I've seen. To either side of the bay is a house reef. Coral is quite damaged but regrowing. Good amount of fishes. The reef to the left belongs, strictly speaking, to the Coral View Hotel around the corner. We saw some harmless sharks there as well as lots of rabbitfish and parrot fish, no angel and only a few butterfly fish.
The rooms were quite spacious, bathrooms a bit small. Both in need of refurbishing (to a higher standard!). The buildings are nice and directly in front of the beach.
The main let-down was the food. The first 3 days we couldn't get any a la carte food, neither lunchtimes nor evenings, only buffet. And the buffet was very bland and uninteresting (even the local food!). If they had had rooms and food like in the Berjaya Beach Redang, then it would be perfect!
No alocohol available. If you want a cocktail or some beer you have to go on a well-trodded path through the Coral View and onto some small restaurants (who make a roaring trade)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2007

We arrived on the 23rd of September for 7 days after booking on internet with Anjung (local travel agent). Here are my impressions:

Anjung travel: Very good and friendly. They pick you up at the airport (Kota barhu) and arrange the boat transfer to the island.

First impression at arrival: Nice location and beach but there was an ugly and noisy construction site to put a useless industrial size peer on one side of the beach. Nobody advised us of that and we get a bit upset as the paradise beach we thought we would find was spoiled...

Rooms: We get a semi suite sea view room with air conditioning. The room is ok and right on the beach... a bit expensive for the 350RM payed but globally we were happy with it.

Beach and snorkling in the resort: Appart from the ugly rusty barge on one side, the noise and the exhaust gas smell due to construction, the PIR beach is by far the nicest. Not boken coral on the beach, beautifull water colors...We went snorkling the afternoon we arrived and were happily surprised to discover 1 to 3 meters deep reefs with coral and lots of colorfull fishes just 30 meters from our room (clown, puffer etc.). The long chairs provided were ok, and it was not unusual to find turtles in the sandy area of the beach (around 75%, the remaining 25% being reefs). If it was not for the construction site, I would have given it a perfect mark.

Restaurant: Crap... crap... crap. By far the worst we tried and we were happy not having meal vouncher tying us to this resort... I don't know if it is because it was ramadan or the end of the season but they only had 25% of what was on the menu.... and what they had was very basic or simply not good. Fortunatly, it takes 5 minutes walk to get to the next beach where the restaurants were quiet good with a friendly atmosphere (I expecially advise the 'reef' with nice coktails and food and welcoming staffs).

Diving shop: We wanted to check a few diving shops (in view of passing the PADI open water diving license) before deciding which one to go to and started with the one on the PIR. It ended up being the only one we visited as we were very happy with their prestation and friendlyness. Nice and helpfull staff for all levels, decent prices... the diving shop was the best thing in this resort... :-)

Overall impression: Nice holidays. We spent 7 nights and didn't have time to get bored. We came at the end of the season and it was very quiet which was what we were looking for. Disappointment with the food at the resort (not a big deal with all the restaurants nearby) and the construction site that nobody told us about prior arriving... Very nice diving and snorkling... over all good impression. Would have get a better marking if not for the unannounced industrial building site 50 meters from the room...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pdechateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Let’s start by the only two good points here. First, the beach: this resort is located on the only good beach of the Perhentians. The second is the diving center which is very helpful.
That’s all for the positive things. The hotel is the worst I have been in my life (or maybe few Indians hotels could also compete for the gold medal of the crappiest hotels in Asia). The rooms are smelly, humid and dirty. Check carefully your blankets, you might have surprises….A/C is leaking as well. In four days there, I saw many guests complaining about the same things, I even saw some of them shouting at the reception. Swimming pool is terrible (water is so dirty,you can’t see 5cm below) Food is terrible. One advice, cross the woodpath at the left of the hotel, and go to the two last restaurants. The last one is called “Mama’s”, nice staff, cheapest items and good food. Before that one, don’t remember the name, there is another very good restaurant (good pizzas, and very good seafood) with nice staff.
If I have to come back on Besar island, I would definitely not come back in this resort and would try another one but would swim on the same beach.
Conclusion: avoid that hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank katmandou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This resort located at an "isolated" part of Pulau Perhentian Besar, thus if you prefer quiet, than definitely you will like to stay at this resort. The room I stayed is not bad, but my others friends's room are dark & the equipments are pretty old already.
The food are bad & not enough (may be during public holiday & peak season, but they should catered-in & counted how many visitors will stayed there).
During our time stayed at this resort, there was one night the resort cut down the electricity power at late night for certain time (even the phone line also been cut). When we checked with the staff on the next day, they said this is normal because they do not have enough power generator during peak season!!!
But, the beach along this resort very nice, the sea water is crystal clear (please see my attached photos).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spl_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Have retuned from 3 week trip to Malaysia having been to this country several times before. My husband is from there.I have never been so disappointed in a resort as in this one.The chalets are VERY basic with laminate flooring which is slippery when wet.Furniture-a bed and a desk and thats it.The bedding and towels looked about 20 years old and the water from the taps shower and toilet was BROWN.
this apparently is due to the fact that the water supply is from a mountain and so can't be helped.The buffet meals were unappetising looking and several things were not available from the a la carte menu.This seemed to actually amuse the waiter!
To sum up the beach is beautiful and the snokling is great there as coral and fish are better than elsewhere but for me anyway its not worth it to stay in a dump.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank charlotte_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We weren't expecting much form this resort as we knew that the island wasn't very developed (a reason for going) and only wanted basic, clean accommodation. It's the most expensive resort on the island and I wish I could have seen more to compare.

The room was fine - basic but nice. The location was amazing. The first problem we encountered was the dirty towels which were changed for others which were not so dirty but still stained and old. Our toilet leaked which was 'fixed' immediately but we then found that they had put a small water bottle under the leak and when this was full the bathroom floor was soaking wet once again.

The worst aspect were the pillows. It took us 3 days to work out why I kept sneezing when we were in the room but when we removed the pillow covers we found that they had mould on them. I asked for them to be replaced but they never were (we used our towels for the rest of the stay).

The food was also awful. We ate most meals at the neighbouring resort (Coral View) and Mama's Place which were lovely. This wasn't a problem as we hadn't pre paid for food and I would recommend that you don't.

All in all I couldn't say not to go there as we had an amazing time on the island (diving with Coral Views dive centre highly recommended) and we knew that the rest of our time would be spent in recommended hotels so weren't really bothered by the issues but the few things I've mentioned may spoil some people's holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EmmaSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

I stayed in the cheapest chalet which was still within a close walking distance to the beach. The beach is very pretty and the water is clean for swimming. The resort provides deck chairs to sit on at the beach. The sand is nice to wak on (unlike the beach at Coral View next door where the sand is very coarse under foot due to the pieces of coral on the sand)

The accommodation is very basic and fairly pricey for what you get. The room itself was clean, however the bathroom was terrible. The celing kept leaking water. After that got fixed a strange mould/sewer smell would waft in every few minutes when the aircon was on. The towels were clean but a bit old.

If you go I suggest you do NOT take package which includes meals as the buffet food is terrible (there were ants in the cereal!). Instead you would probably get better food by paying for the BBQ seafood buffet or ordering food from the menu.

The staff were very helpful, overall, an okay stay except for the food and bathroom.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank shiuraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
25.9 km away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
144 reviews
0.6 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
352 reviews
0.4 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,010 reviews
3.1 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
32.7 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: C$119 - C$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing