We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
126
319
304
168
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
319
304
168
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch and dinner excellent beach beachfront room crystal clear water white sandy beach turtle point turtle watching boat taxi monitor lizards local food the resort offers ala carte big island life jackets per person beach towels kuala besut jetty
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Pros

1) I love the room location. Right smack on the beach. The beach is fantastic...better than anywhere I've been on Perhentian (been to Long Beach on Kecil & Flora Bay on Besar) and accommodation wise, its the best that I've been, still yet to check out Tuna Bay.

2) I like that they had a fridge in the room.

3) The staff are friendly and cheerful.

Cons

1) Didn't like the food. took the room only package without food, thank god coz the buffet spread was dull and boring. The ala carte was so so and the price was on the high side compared to the rest of the resorts I'm used to around that area. Most of the time, we walk to the other side (Coral view & mama's place). More choices, tastier and better prices.

2) Our room had some leaping visitors on a few occasions. The door gap at the bottom allowed frogs to squeeze in, so had to seal it with the bedspread.

3) The bathroom didn't have a shower curtain in the bathtub, so it was wet all the time after shower. The shower also had inadequate supply of hot water, apparently 6 rooms are sharing 1 hot water solar panel. I was lucky enough to get warm water shower at 4pm, beyond that time, it was cold water :(

Bottom line

I'll go there again for the beach, but I'll try Tuna bay 1st for my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snowmot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in in South East Asia. It's situated on the most beautiful amazing beach which is a terrible waste for such a badly run enterprise. The bungalows are shabby and badly decorated, bathroom shower hardly worked, tap water was all rust colored. Sheets had old blood stains on them, housekeeping didn't change them despite requests. The hotel has a swimming pool situated right next to a pool of stagnant water attracting a million mosquitos. The hotel food is appalling, an abysmal buffet at every meal and our only attempt to order outside of that (a mid morning request for fresh fruit) produced a tiny plate of six watermelon slices, tasting strongly of garlic. All of this would be excusable if the place was cheap, but no, it's the most expensive accommodation in the perhentians by a large margin. We left after two nights; the final straw was to be put on the wrong boat by the surly staff so that what should have been a five minute journey to Long Beach on the other island ended up taking us two hours.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2008

The PIR has the best beach on the island and is probably the most advanced of all of the hotels on the island. It's a fantastic place for families with kids but if you are looking for the whole tropical island experience then PIR's concrete foot paths might not be for you.

I stayed in a standard chalet which was very nice and clean. Everything worked (which is unusual for Asia) and really enjoyed my stay.

Again, the beach at PIR is fantastic and you can see loads of fish just by snorkeling in off the beach. Perhentian Island is definately the best island in Malaysia.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at PIR for 4 nights on early April 08. We had a "regular" room (which means the cheapest one). The room was ok (excepted the AC was broken and could not be monitored...you just put it "off" or "on", blowing freezing air on the bed....no way you can sleep with that).
The only good point about the resort is that it is located on the best beach of the island (good snorkeling point, maybe the best of the island).

The worse thing about it is the poor restaurant which only serves disgusting buffet at prohibitive prices. We were not able to have any "à la carte" items as each time we ask for it we were refused for some unknown reasons..

The breakfast is crap, as well as the lunch and the dinner. One of the worse restaurant I have ever been in Asia. We couldn't understand why so many waiters were "waiting" in the restaurant, wearing "staff shirt" with "Food and beverage Departement" written on it...as nobody is able to cook the simplest meal.

This is a really bad point as the restaurant is the only one on the beach and you would have to walk 15 minutes to find some decent food on the other beach.

When we stayed the swimming pool was closed for several days... so we cannot check it....

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone as you can find lots of better and cheaper accommodations on the next beach. It is really not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank titidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in the best rooms available, 2 semi-suite seaview rooms.
The setting is excellent. Some of the finest white coral sand I've seen. To either side of the bay is a house reef. Coral is quite damaged but regrowing. Good amount of fishes. The reef to the left belongs, strictly speaking, to the Coral View Hotel around the corner. We saw some harmless sharks there as well as lots of rabbitfish and parrot fish, no angel and only a few butterfly fish.
The rooms were quite spacious, bathrooms a bit small. Both in need of refurbishing (to a higher standard!). The buildings are nice and directly in front of the beach.
The main let-down was the food. The first 3 days we couldn't get any a la carte food, neither lunchtimes nor evenings, only buffet. And the buffet was very bland and uninteresting (even the local food!). If they had had rooms and food like in the Berjaya Beach Redang, then it would be perfect!
No alocohol available. If you want a cocktail or some beer you have to go on a well-trodded path through the Coral View and onto some small restaurants (who make a roaring trade)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews