We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
187
82
22
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
82
22
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckprivate rooftopwater taxifisherman villageour room was spaciousquiet holidayfamily suitequiet beachnew cheflower roomkind assistancestand up paddle boardbeautiful view of the seawarm hospitalitytop deckuniversal diverslunch and dinner menu
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 298 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Cozy room, very clean. Balcony is awesome, with ocean view! Food serving is big potion and good taste. I am prefer to stay here for more privacy and quiet place. Spa is good, worth to try it.... Definitely will come back again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlunanResort, Marketing Consultant at Alunan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi AnnieN, thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room, the seaview, food offering and spa which is newly opened :) It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
The Alunan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Wonderfull Hoĺidays by a place looks like paradies. The service on top. The taste of the meals are amazing. The rooms are greatfull and clean. Bar and personal totally friendly. Wenn want to stay back everytime.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexanderlewetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlunanResort, Marketing Consultant at Alunan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi alexanderlewetz, thank you for staying with us at Alunan Resort, Malaysia and for your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your room, our food offerings as well as warm Asian hospitality from our team. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
The Alunan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018

The reason why I did not rank 5 stars is due to the steep uphill walk to our room. Definitely not a baby friendly place and for those that are not that fit, please request for lower room. We stayed in a quad sharing room which located at the highest point among the other rooms. Perfect view but going up to the room is like hiking up the hill everyday. Good exercise for those that are fit. Very beautiful private beach and breakfast is great. Order to cook and big portion. Lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant is yummy too. If you are too bored with the food, can always take a water taxi to other island.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlunanResort, Marketing Consultant at Alunan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi shirleyyong, thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our views and food + beverage offerings. We are a little disappointed that you have reduced our rating due to the stairs which are clearly highlighted on our website together with a message that our resort is not suitable for young children and those with mobility issues on our booking page. We are sure you will agree that the higher you go, the better the view? Hence, anything that is perfect such as a perfect view as per your comment deserves a little effort, don't you think? We hope the exercise has given you a better appetite and helps you to stay fit as well so that you can eat anything without worrying about burning those calories :) It has been a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,
The Alunan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the Alunan resort.
The staff is really welcome and nice. We got good advices from them about the Island and what to do and visit on it.
The breakfast was complete with several choices (around 10 meals). We got a nice room with sea view (room 6) . You can walk easily from the hotel to the fisherman village and some nice beaches, otherwise there is always a taxi boat to go on the other part of the Island :)
I think the prices are slightly expensive for the room.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nantonizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlunanResort, Marketing Consultant at Alunan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hi Nantonizz, thank you for staying with us at Alunan Resort, Malaysia and for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you ahve enjoyed our warm Asian hospitality from our team and our breakfast offerings. It has been a pleasure having your with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our home.

Warm wishes,
The Alunan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

1. and mostly friendly staff but a few are not that professional minded. here is the reason

at diinner, our company was sitting at Balcony side seats which has a beautiful view but we found out smokers behind. I complained it 'SECRETLY' to one of staff and asked where non smoking section is. Then the staff answered no smoking sections in restaurant. and the staff went to the smoker guests and asked them to stop smoking because of MY COMPLAINT. and they all staring at me. haha. very embarassing. We couldn't sit there anymore too many eyes staring at us.

2. as mentioned above, there is no non smoking section in Bar and Restaurant. so prepare mask at restaurant if you don't smoke

3. Resort Snorkeling or boat tour price is too deer. if you walk 50 meter from the resort there are ad hanging on trees. if you call them almost half price they will offer than resort's.

4. No groinded dripped coffee at breakfast. I haven't seen any 4 or 5 stars hotels providing cheap powder coffee at breakfast except on this resort

5. breasfast was ok but dinner menu needs to be improved

5. no shaver and tooth brush kit provided (unless you go and ask to the front)
Conclusion : Sorry to say I won't recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank JoeyPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlunanResort, Marketing Consultant at Alunan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hi JoeyPJ, thank you for staying with us at Alunan Resort, Malaysia and for your review. We would like to highlight to you that we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel and have never claimed to be one. Also, we have not stated on our website that we will be providing a shaver or toothbrush kit. Hence, these are only available upon request should any guest forgot to pack these items. The same applies to coffee. We would encourage you to read our website info before booking to manage your expectations. As our restaurant and bar is an open air dining space without any air conditioning, there is no specific non-smoking section just like any other restaurant/cafe with outdoor dining. In terms of our snorkeling prices, we are priced based on the quality and safety of our trip as we provide an experienced boat captain and a guide who is also a life guard. Safety briefings are always provided by our team before every trip. Our positive guests' reviews on our excursions are a testament to the high standards of quality that we provide. We hope the above clarifies the points that you have made.

Warm wishes,
The Alunan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews