We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Scuba Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redang Kalong Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redang Kalong Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scuba Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Went with a group of 6, 5 of us who Scuba. 2 experienced, 1 needed refresher, 2 were getting certified. Overall was a great experience. Only reason not giving 5 stars is that the accommodations are highly functional, not luxurious. Rooms fine (we had no loud neighbors so can't comment as others on thin walls), A/C excellent, showers great (particularly necessary after day of diving). The food was hearty, not fancy, and plentiful. Snacks and drinks put out as divers get hungry. The resort is pretty with lots of open air communal space so you see the people you dove with and can talk during the eves. Beers available on the patio, wonderfully relaxing.
The big selling point is the diving and the dive supervision, which are great. Two of our group had started certification classes in KL and their instructor was on the island when we arrived. They only had to do their open water dives to certify once arriving. We had a range of divers, they got everyone up to speed then allowed us to dive together. The reefs are very alive with wonderful coral and very plentiful fish. We saw a wonderful variety of fish and underwater sights. Varied dives with/without current, night dives available, etc. Diver masters are extremely knowledgable, highly competent, fun, and safety oriented without being smothering. Rental equipment was great and in great condition. Went on one of the free snorkel trips which also showed off very living coral and wide variety of fish. Prices for the stay, the diving, the rental all totally reasonable. Totally professional and fun dive staff. Shout outs to Angie at the front desk, and Tim and Sharon on the dive boat.
Internet only in public areas, but this again promotes the very collegial nature of the resort. Reasonably priced at 20 RM for the entire stay.
This is an excellent place to just relax and be outside, but a fantastic place for a high quality scuba experience.

Room Tip: Agree that beach front seemed nicest. Second choice, end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aequanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    124
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
68
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The island is a gem no doubt and the resort location is great. We throughly enjoyed our stay there. Best part of the stay are the snorkeling trips(twice a day) and the staff.

But the worst happened with us, while going to the resort you have to take a 40 min boat ride.. where you get terrible jerks and the seats have no cushion, unlike perhentian boat ride. I cant blame for 100%, but my husband started having neck pain and on our return to India we were told be doctor its neck slip disk and he is at home for one month bed rest.
I would truly suggest the staff to have a more comfortable ride to the resort.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a plus point
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya_Yadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My friends and I stayed at Redang Kalong from 29 Aug to 2 Sep. It is indeed a value for money and truly relaxing place to unwind.

We were greeted upon arrival at the jetty by Sharon and her team and checked in almost immediately after arriving at the resort. Lunch was served shortly after check in and it was simple prepared local 'kampung' food that was tasty. Only feedback is that the fish should be labeled as some people are allergic to certain type of fish. I have really bad allergy to 'Ikan Tongkol' ie. black tuna. Thank God nothing happened! :)

The beach boys aka Snorkeling guides were a cool bunch of people to hang out with and they were extremely helpful to guide first timers snorkelers around in the water. The trips covered deep water snorkeling and also the Marine Park. However, I'm saddened on how pathetic some people could be when they couldn't care less about disposing off rubbish on at the Marine Park. Please people, this is a conserved marine park and if you don't even care, one day it'll be gone! Your future generations, can't even see a salt water fish....!!

We will definitely be back there again! The best part is that Redang Kalong has got its own private beach....

Recommended for travelers who values the beach and less fussy about room & food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathleentff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were there from 22 to 25 Aug 2011 and found the place nice and quiet. They have only 39 rooms hence a good place for peace and total laid-back kind of holidays. Daily housekeeping is not provided hence you need to keep the place clean yourself. Towels change are provided at 6pm daily but you need to bring them to the counter. Resort practices Eco friendliness hence try to limit towel change. Food is very Asian thus is fine for us, with lots of vege. Endless tea and coffee throughout the day plus bread! Very good value for money and can't complain.
Overall, a wonderful lazy holiday for my friends and I. Snorkeling trips were great and we are normally the first ones to arrive at a spot. Great idea sine it can be quite crowded later on in the mornings and afternoons.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing rooms if you can. Safebox is provided and this was unexpected! Do bring along own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeze262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a good stay in Redang Kalong. The staff is really friendly en will help you with everything. Free snorkeltrip twice a day, to nice snorkelplaces! 2 really negative things: 1)the walls are extremely thin, you can hear anything you're neighbours are saying. 2)the food is not good at all, every day the same, cold, little choice. We were staying at kalong for 5 days and could't wait to have a decent meal....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We a couple in the mid50thies had an excellent stay at this resort. Everyone did their best to do our stay memorable. Both the dive-manager and the resort manager (they were actually brothers) together set the high standards for the other employes. Good food, fantastic snorkeling trips and totally one of our best resorts visited the last 20 years. Not the best beds, not the best rooms, not the best food, the sunchairs should have matresses, but the smile and how this place was managed with solving any small problem we had, should be an excample for others resort we have visited. Thank you again for a wonderful vacation. (Its first time we have extended our stay, so totally we stayed for 7 nights.) Eli and Per from Norway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is an amazing place to learn diving.. With some of the best dive matsters, this is where you should learn diving.. I did my Open Water Course here.. Schedule was for four days, but with the amazing instructions and training provided, i was able to complete in three and used the extra day for leisure dives and fine tuning of my skills.. The staff is friendly and the owners are very modest people.. They even encouraged me to do the Advanced open Water Course and provided me with massive discounts to do the same, but I needed two days to complete this and time wasn't on my side..

The rooms weren't the best i've stayed in, but had the basic necessities.. This aint no 5 star, but its comfortable enough if yuo are ready to do whatever you have to by your self.. Thats right.. no room service, but since you are there for diving, you can still manage without it.. The facilities aint too far away from the rooms and are easily accessible..

Its a sure recommendation if you want to go diving, but i wouldn't recommend this place if you are there for anything else and if you are looking to get spoilt rotten..!! :)

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones facing the beach, the other rooms look over at nothing.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
1.0 km away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.7 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
2.9 km away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
1.0 km away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
49.7 km away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Property: Redang Kalong Resort
Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing