We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

What a great experience!!! Eileen was the best host. We had the whole floor to ourselves (we were 2 couples). The balcony looks over the trees (great for spotting birds) and what a volcanoview from the balcony. There is one bathroom with shower for the two rooms, but the bathroom is very clean and big and has all the necessities (+extra's like sunblock, buggspray). You have a minifrige where there is everything you need, you just have to mark it when you take something out and at the end of your stay, you can pay her. The breakfast was absolutely great (fresh fruits and juice, coffee, tea, american and/or european pancakes, eggs, home made bread or yoghurt or jam...)! We paid 85 dollars for 4 persons, 2 rooms (so 22.5 dollar/pers) with breakfast and we got an amazing stay for this great price. She gave us a lot of information about the island and all the possible activities and arranged bikes and taxi for us. (little)Downside: Its near a dirt road that is not very easily reach by motorcycle (or taxis) because all of the rocks, so to see the island you have to rent bikes or walk a half hour to an hour before you can rent motorcycles. Thank you Eileen for this great experience!

Room Tip: try to take a room on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viaverdeometepe, Owner at La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

You were absolutely right about the road - it has made getting to us quite an adventure and has probably been the subject for many a travel story once people are home. This is in the process of change - they are working on road as I write this and in the near future it will be paved! This will make transport much more comfortable moving our hotel a little bit less off the beaten path, For those of you looking for adventure, don't worry - there's still plenty to be found.

One other small note: Though few guests have found the need to use it there is a second bathroom located on the first floor of the B&B. Both bathrooms are shared by the 2 bedrooms, each has hot water in the shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

La Via Verde is quite possibly the best place to stay in Nicaragua. The rooms are simple, elegant and beautifully laid out with real attention to detail. The home cooked food is absolutely delicious - incredible to have such a selection considering the limited resources on the island. It is clear that alot of thought, effort and love have gone into making this place what it is. I would recommend La Via Verde to anyone and certainly plan to go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmotlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the perfect place to stay on Ometepe (of course, this is the only place we stayed also) because it is quiet, relaxing, in harmony with nature and has amazing views. Located on the Maderas side, the view of Concepcion Volcano from the upstairs patio is incredible. With only 2 rooms, it is a quiet and peaceful place. The rooms are a little small but extremely well built, clean and really all you need since you are usually outside hiking, swimming, swinging in a hammock, eating, kayaking or just looking at the views. The best part of the room is the large and comfortable balcony with views of the lake and the volcano, 2 rocking chairs, a hammock chair and a regular hammock, it was hard to leave. The shared bathroom is spotless and again really well built to keep out of the bugs. Eileen and Darrin are inspirational and are really aware of the the impact of the B&B upon the environment, they are the most hospital and generous hosts you could ask for. One of the best things about Via Verde is the breakfast, homemade yogurt was the best along with fresh juices such as dragon fruit, orange and carrot and my favorite passion fruit juice. The coffee is fresh Ometepe coffee, fantastic and tasty, the bread is fresh backed on premises with the most tasty jams, I especially like the mulberry jam. Breakfast was one of the highlights of the day, not kidding. They arranged everything for us - transportation to and from Via Verde, guide for hiking Maderas, a delicious box lunch for our hike up the volcano, in room massage, dinner delivery from a local restaurant (Cafe Campestre has amazing Indian curries), plenty of beer and Flor de Cana rum and one the of the best things, free, filtered water. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet and absolutely perfect place on Ometepe, stay here. The only thing that may be a little inconvenient is walking to restaurants for dinner, bring a good flashlight, there are a number of restaurants within a 20 minute walking distance but the road is not great and can get muddy. It really isn't that bid of a deal and if you don't want to walk in the dark, just get your dinner delivered. So easy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights in early July and were greeted with a warm welcome from Eileen. There are two simple rooms that were immaculately clean. The bed was comfy, and we had a private balcony that overlooked the jungle. The upstairs bathroom is shared by the two rooms, but we had absolutely no issue with that. (There is a smaller bathroom located on the ground floor.)

Breakfast is superb and well worth the trip to Ometepe in its own right. The shared breakfast area outside of the rooms faces Volcan Concepcion and the view is nothing short of stunning.

Eileen and Darrin arranged for our transportation to and from their establishment. Round trip cab fare from Moyogalpa was $40. We were especially happy that the price they negotiated for our cab ride from Rivas to Managua was so MUCH lower than anything else we had found in our research. They also had great recommendations for food (try the pizza at El Zopilote!) and arranged for a horseback riding tour (with Hari's Horses - also excellent!)

La Via Verde is a bit of a hike from the port in Moyogalpa, but, honestly, that was one of the things we loved about it. The paved hasn't yet made its way to the Santa Cruz area, which added to the feeling of being "away from it all." To us, it seemed to be a greater adventure to stay on Maderas as opposed to Concepcion.

We truly enjoyed our time at La Via Verde and getting to know Eileen and Darrin (and their dog, Dozer!). I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone and sincerely hope to make a return trip soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The breakfast here is homemade with local ingredients and delicious. The balcony view of Volcán Concepción is awesome. Eileen and Darrin are friendly, informative, and very helpful. The rooms are great, with both a private balcony and common area. Two restaurants nearby can deliver dinner, and a third makes brick oven pizza that is definitely worth the trip to get it. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntvtxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This fantastic B&B has great views and is set off from the main road behind trees, so it feels secluded and peaceful. The building is in excellent condition, and is located on a small organic farm. The two bedrooms are located on the second level with a large shared bathroom that has hot water. There is a shared patio and fridge, which is well stocked with sodas and beer. Each bedroom has it's own private balcony with hammocks. We would start our day with an excellent homemade breakfast from the owners of the B&B and return to a hot shower and hammocks to read and relax in. The owners are warm, welcoming, and give excellent recommendations for places to eat and things to do on Ometepe. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, and both are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

La Via Verde was a breath of fresh air during our travels in Nicaragua. Eileen and Darrel have created a wonderful space that has all the comforts you could possibly want in the middle of the Omotepe jungle. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast is over the top delicious, and the views of the volcano breathtaking. Thank you so much for making our stay so lovely! Excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsey77901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
6.5 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
317 reviews
1.2 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
365 reviews
6.2 km away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#8 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $63 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing