We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
214
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crepes concepcion volcano wonderful hosts homemade yogurt shared bathroom private veranda booking taxis b bs travel arrangements second level a special place pleasure of staying taxi service swimming hole perfect place to stay ometepe island highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 218 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

For four nights we stayed in the wonderful home of Eileen, Darren, Dozer and Little Guy (2 wonderful people and 2 wonderful dogs that we are so happy to have met). La Via Verde is a terrific place to stay. We concur with all previous comments; wonderful value, great food from their own farm (including coffee we helped pick), and special people that we cannot wait to visit again. If you are going to Ometepe (which you must do!) stay here. Stay here! There knowledge of the culture, the land, the activities and of what makes a special holiday is superior to any other.

Room Tip: If available you should request the private cabin at the back of their farm.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Eileen and Darren are fantastic! Her breakfasts were hands down some of the best food we had on our entire trip. They only have 2 rooms and every little detail is looked after. The fridge is stocked with cold sodas and beers for sale (cheap) as well as half a dozen bottles filled with the best water EVER! Unlike the rest of Nicaragua, the water comes directly from a spring and it's such a treat after drinking bottled water for weeks. They gave us several recommendations, we followed all of them and had a really great time on the island. I also really appreciate their dedication to sustainability and their environment. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I enjoyed staying at La Via Verde. Eileen and Darrin are wonderful hosts. Eileen is helpful, caring and so knowledgeable about the island. She answered all my emails promptly and talking to her, I knew right away I was in good hands. If I ever have the chance to return to Ometepe, without hesitation, of course I will try to stay there again. Their service is impeccable, professional and their breakfast is damn good! To the whole team there, including Dozer and Little Guy (their dogs) thanks a lot for the nice weekend!

Room Tip: On the weekend, there's a club or music coming from the woods. Maybe is a club or a bar. If you want more tranquility maybe you'll prefer staying in the rooms in the main house.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We loved our stay at La Via Verde. Eileen was so helpful and we felt like we were visiting family. My husband came down with a bad cold while we were there and she went out of her way to make him feel better. The room was perfect for us and we loved both the private balcony and the shared deck for breakfasts and hanging out. We met some great people! There are beautiful views from the deck and it was very relaxing.

The shared bathroom was never an issue, it's very large and extremely clean. Plus there's another bathroom downstairs to use as well. I'm quite a clean freak and this was the cleanest hotel we stayed on our entire 3 week trip throughout Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

We would highly recommend staying at La Via Verde.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Via Verde was simply awesome. From the very moment of our arrival we were treated like family instead of guests. Eileen and Darren were great hosts and even better chefs. Food was tasty and organic and home made whenever possible (They grow and roast their own coffee and make their own bread yogurt, jams etc) Beautiful setting with striking views of the lake and volcano surrounded by tropical vegetation and flowering plants. One of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews