We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience in Nicaragua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We loved this place. We stayed in the cabin in the back for 4 nights in Jan. of 2012 and could have stayed longer. This is a great place if you are in good enough shape to really enjoy it. Lots of walking, bicycling and horseback riding. Get used to saying hello to every person that you meet on the road. There are a number of funky, hippy places around to eat, buy local stuff and have a good time. Bicycle to "Eye of the Water", a great mineral pool with good food , drinks and a Tarzan rope. swing. We rented horses from a neighbor and had a great experience going to a remote waterfall that was different than the one on the tourist circuit. Eileen arranged great transport in and out of Ometepe. The owners really know what they are doing and were fun to talk to. The breakfasts really were pretty spectacular. We did the Leon, San Juan Del Sur, Ometepe, and Granada circuit with 4 nights in each spot. The biggest mistake is not staying long enough at each place. The last day was the best at each location because it takes one day to figure out where you are and what to do. Then you do the obligatory tourist things, then you still have a day to get off the beaten path for something new.
Thanks again Eileen and Darren

Room Tip: Rent the cabin in the back for $10 or so more. Very secluded with great volcano views, yet you still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

For four nights we stayed in the wonderful home of Eileen, Darren, Dozer and Little Guy (2 wonderful people and 2 wonderful dogs that we are so happy to have met). La Via Verde is a terrific place to stay. We concur with all previous comments; wonderful value, great food from their own farm (including coffee we helped pick), and special people that we cannot wait to visit again. If you are going to Ometepe (which you must do!) stay here. Stay here! There knowledge of the culture, the land, the activities and of what makes a special holiday is superior to any other.

Room Tip: If available you should request the private cabin at the back of their farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Eileen and Darren are fantastic! Her breakfasts were hands down some of the best food we had on our entire trip. They only have 2 rooms and every little detail is looked after. The fridge is stocked with cold sodas and beers for sale (cheap) as well as half a dozen bottles filled with the best water EVER! Unlike the rest of Nicaragua, the water comes directly from a spring and it's such a treat after drinking bottled water for weeks. They gave us several recommendations, we followed all of them and had a really great time on the island. I also really appreciate their dedication to sustainability and their environment. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My girlfriend and I enjoyed staying at La Via Verde. Eileen and Darrin are wonderful hosts. Eileen is helpful, caring and so knowledgeable about the island. She answered all my emails promptly and talking to her, I knew right away I was in good hands. If I ever have the chance to return to Ometepe, without hesitation, of course I will try to stay there again. Their service is impeccable, professional and their breakfast is damn good! To the whole team there, including Dozer and Little Guy (their dogs) thanks a lot for the nice weekend!

Room Tip: On the weekend, there's a club or music coming from the woods. Maybe is a club or a bar. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We loved our stay at La Via Verde. Eileen was so helpful and we felt like we were visiting family. My husband came down with a bad cold while we were there and she went out of her way to make him feel better. The room was perfect for us and we loved both the private balcony and the shared deck for breakfasts and hanging out. We met some great people! There are beautiful views from the deck and it was very relaxing.

The shared bathroom was never an issue, it's very large and extremely clean. Plus there's another bathroom downstairs to use as well. I'm quite a clean freak and this was the cleanest hotel we stayed on our entire 3 week trip throughout Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

We would highly recommend staying at La Via Verde.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Via Verde was simply awesome. From the very moment of our arrival we were treated like family instead of guests. Eileen and Darren were great hosts and even better chefs. Food was tasty and organic and home made whenever possible (They grow and roast their own coffee and make their own bread yogurt, jams etc) Beautiful setting with striking views of the lake and volcano surrounded by tropical vegetation and flowering plants. One of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Eileen and Darren have created a place that is true to their philosophy and vision of low-impact close-to-nature living. We stayed in the cabin on the property which was private and very quiet, surrounded by natural forest with a lovely view of the volcano. The accommodations were extremely simple: concrete floors, no decorations, and only the small bedroom was screened in. The building itself was not welcoming or particularly comfortable, but provided exactly what was needed for us-- with that in mind, the price was probably a bit high, but we were there during the busiest possible week of the whole year. The B & B owners are friendly and bright and were generous with their knowledge and insights about the island itself and their experiences. The value of Via Verde, for me, was in what I learned and contemplated while I was there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
6.5 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
317 reviews
1.2 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
365 reviews
6.2 km away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#8 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $63 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing