We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
214
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crepes concepcion volcano wonderful hosts homemade yogurt organic breakfast thought of everything shared bathroom private veranda b bs travel arrangements second level booking taxis a special place easy access perfect place to stay pleasure of staying ometepe island
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 217 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband (boyfriend at the time) and I stayed at La Via Verde a year ago, February 2011--and Eileen was gracious enough to share her pancake recipe. Everytime I make the pancakes I am reminded of what a wonderful time we had at their place. I just read all the reviews for the past year, and everyone else has said the same thing, and it's all true! Eileen helped us with a GREAT car rental that we got in Granada and drove all over the country in (we left it on the mainland for our trip to their place, since she warned us about the rough road). And I just read that it's getting paved--nice. Much easier to get to, altho' you won't have the 'story' of getting there to tell when you get back home! Anyway, we would also say this was the very best place we stayed on our 10 day trip to Nica. I totally loved how friendly the locals were, and the quick little walk down to the lake to take a swim when it got hot in the afternoon. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Thanks Eileen and Darrin--and sorry it took me so long to write this review!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

What a warm hospitality -))).
If you like the nature, birds, small mammals, lizards, the best choice is La Via Verde B+B. From the first contact untill the farewell I can say only good things. Eileen -the owner- organized our travel from Granada to the Organic Farm and at the end of our stay she arranged our transfer to Leon as well. We got substantial breakfast, everything was delicious. Both the rooms were upstairs where there was a marvellous view of the Conception volcan and the Lake Nicaragua. The room and the bathroom were absolutely clean, the bed was comfortable. There was no TV but I didn't care. It worth getting up early to take many photos of the colourful birds and squirrels. There are many restaurants nearby and a pizzeria too. Don't miss the 8-hour long island tour by taxi which is just 60 dollars, and the waterfall hiking, as well as the volcan climbing to the view point of Madaras volcan.
All in all I was satisfied with everything,

Room tip: There are just two rooms. Both of them are similar.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My partner and I spent one incredibly romantic week at La Via Verde. The greatest experience of our two-week trip to Central America was getting to know Eileen and Darrin. They have truly put their heart and soul into making this a very special place to get away from it all, and we truly felt like family when we (sadly) had to leave. We would go back in a heartbeat because the experience of staying at La Via Verde and Ometepe was unmatched during the rest of our vacation.

We had the most amazing breakfasts each morning. I enjoyed the pancakes, homemade vanilla yogurt (I still crave it), granola, fresh fruit, juice (sour orange!), omelette, and the SUPER high octane coffee to get us going! She also chatted with us, inquiring into our plans for the day and giving us advice on the best ways to get around the island, the sites worth seeing, the best places to eat, and anything else we should know to get the most from our stay. We followed her advice faithfully, and between exploring the petroglyphs at the Finca Magdelana coffee farm, swimming at Ojo, hiking with Alexi up the volcano, or biking/hiking up to the San Ramon waterfall, and other adventures, we never had a dull moment. Of course, we took plenty of time to swing in the hammocks with a good book or laying down on the very comfortable beds for a siesta.

Every detail from how the house is constructed to the oh-so-handy coffee maker seemed well thought out with a high attention to quality, satisfaction, and peace of mind. No matter what we asked of Eileen or Darrin, they were always willing to accomodate our requests. On the last day of our trip, Eileen even gave us a couple of buckets and some laundry soap so that we could leave with clean clothes before moving on to Costa Rica.

If you are considering staying here, I would recommend staying for AT LEAST a week so you can get to know Eileen and Darrin and have plenty of time to explore all that the island and its people have to offer.

Room tip: We stayed in each of the rooms and enjoyed them equally. The room upstairs on the left has a slightly better view.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We loved this place. We stayed in the cabin in the back for 4 nights in Jan. of 2012 and could have stayed longer. This is a great place if you are in good enough shape to really enjoy it. Lots of walking, bicycling and horseback riding. Get used to saying hello to every person that you meet on the road. There are a number of funky, hippy places around to eat, buy local stuff and have a good time. Bicycle to "Eye of the Water", a great mineral pool with good food , drinks and a Tarzan rope. swing. We rented horses from a neighbor and had a great experience going to a remote waterfall that was different than the one on the tourist circuit. Eileen arranged great transport in and out of Ometepe. The owners really know what they are doing and were fun to talk to. The breakfasts really were pretty spectacular. We did the Leon, San Juan Del Sur, Ometepe, and Granada circuit with 4 nights in each spot. The biggest mistake is not staying long enough at each place. The last day was the best at each location because it takes one day to figure out where you are and what to do. Then you do the obligatory tourist things, then you still have a day to get off the beaten path for something new.
Thanks again Eileen and Darren

Room tip: Rent the cabin in the back for $10 or so more. Very secluded with great volcano views, yet you still get to interact with the other interesting travelers in the main house.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

For four nights we stayed in the wonderful home of Eileen, Darren, Dozer and Little Guy (2 wonderful people and 2 wonderful dogs that we are so happy to have met). La Via Verde is a terrific place to stay. We concur with all previous comments; wonderful value, great food from their own farm (including coffee we helped pick), and special people that we cannot wait to visit again. If you are going to Ometepe (which you must do!) stay here. Stay here! There knowledge of the culture, the land, the activities and of what makes a special holiday is superior to any other.

Room tip: If available you should request the private cabin at the back of their farm.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews