We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The place is very nice, clean, great views, comfortable.
Their breakfast they prepared was always the best meal of my day.
The owners are extremely hospitable and want you to enjoy yourself as much as possible. They arranged horseback riding, three messages, taxi's and recomandations to the best resturants there.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony facing out towards the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband (boyfriend at the time) and I stayed at La Via Verde a year ago, February 2011--and Eileen was gracious enough to share her pancake recipe. Everytime I make the pancakes I am reminded of what a wonderful time we had at their place. I just read all the reviews for the past year, and everyone else has said the same thing, and it's all true! Eileen helped us with a GREAT car rental that we got in Granada and drove all over the country in (we left it on the mainland for our trip to their place, since she warned us about the rough road). And I just read that it's getting paved--nice. Much easier to get to, altho' you won't have the 'story' of getting there to tell when you get back home! Anyway, we would also say this was the very best place we stayed on our 10 day trip to Nica. I totally loved how friendly the locals were, and the quick little walk down to the lake to take a swim when it got hot in the afternoon. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Thanks Eileen and Darrin--and sorry it took me so long to write this review!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

What a warm hospitality -))).
If you like the nature, birds, small mammals, lizards, the best choice is La Via Verde B+B. From the first contact untill the farewell I can say only good things. Eileen -the owner- organized our travel from Granada to the Organic Farm and at the end of our stay she arranged our transfer to Leon as well. We got substantial breakfast, everything was delicious. Both the rooms were upstairs where there was a marvellous view of the Conception volcan and the Lake Nicaragua. The room and the bathroom were absolutely clean, the bed was comfortable. There was no TV but I didn't care. It worth getting up early to take many photos of the colourful birds and squirrels. There are many restaurants nearby and a pizzeria too. Don't miss the 8-hour long island tour by taxi which is just 60 dollars, and the waterfall hiking, as well as the volcan climbing to the view point of Madaras volcan.
All in all I was satisfied with everything,

Room Tip: There are just two rooms. Both of them are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My partner and I spent one incredibly romantic week at La Via Verde. The greatest experience of our two-week trip to Central America was getting to know Eileen and Darrin. They have truly put their heart and soul into making this a very special place to get away from it all, and we truly felt like family when we (sadly) had to leave. We would go back in a heartbeat because the experience of staying at La Via Verde and Ometepe was unmatched during the rest of our vacation.

We had the most amazing breakfasts each morning. I enjoyed the pancakes, homemade vanilla yogurt (I still crave it), granola, fresh fruit, juice (sour orange!), omelette, and the SUPER high octane coffee to get us going! She also chatted with us, inquiring into our plans for the day and giving us advice on the best ways to get around the island, the sites worth seeing, the best places to eat, and anything else we should know to get the most from our stay. We followed her advice faithfully, and between exploring the petroglyphs at the Finca Magdelana coffee farm, swimming at Ojo, hiking with Alexi up the volcano, or biking/hiking up to the San Ramon waterfall, and other adventures, we never had a dull moment. Of course, we took plenty of time to swing in the hammocks with a good book or laying down on the very comfortable beds for a siesta.

Every detail from how the house is constructed to the oh-so-handy coffee maker seemed well thought out with a high attention to quality, satisfaction, and peace of mind. No matter what we asked of Eileen or Darrin, they were always willing to accomodate our requests. On the last day of our trip, Eileen even gave us a couple of buckets and some laundry soap so that we could leave with clean clothes before moving on to Costa Rica.

If you are considering staying here, I would recommend staying for AT LEAST a week so you can get to know Eileen and Darrin and have plenty of time to explore all that the island and its people have to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in each of the rooms and enjoyed them equally. The room upstairs on the left has a slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We loved this place. We stayed in the cabin in the back for 4 nights in Jan. of 2012 and could have stayed longer. This is a great place if you are in good enough shape to really enjoy it. Lots of walking, bicycling and horseback riding. Get used to saying hello to every person that you meet on the road. There are a number of funky, hippy places around to eat, buy local stuff and have a good time. Bicycle to "Eye of the Water", a great mineral pool with good food , drinks and a Tarzan rope. swing. We rented horses from a neighbor and had a great experience going to a remote waterfall that was different than the one on the tourist circuit. Eileen arranged great transport in and out of Ometepe. The owners really know what they are doing and were fun to talk to. The breakfasts really were pretty spectacular. We did the Leon, San Juan Del Sur, Ometepe, and Granada circuit with 4 nights in each spot. The biggest mistake is not staying long enough at each place. The last day was the best at each location because it takes one day to figure out where you are and what to do. Then you do the obligatory tourist things, then you still have a day to get off the beaten path for something new.
Thanks again Eileen and Darren

Room Tip: Rent the cabin in the back for $10 or so more. Very secluded with great volcano views, yet you still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

For four nights we stayed in the wonderful home of Eileen, Darren, Dozer and Little Guy (2 wonderful people and 2 wonderful dogs that we are so happy to have met). La Via Verde is a terrific place to stay. We concur with all previous comments; wonderful value, great food from their own farm (including coffee we helped pick), and special people that we cannot wait to visit again. If you are going to Ometepe (which you must do!) stay here. Stay here! There knowledge of the culture, the land, the activities and of what makes a special holiday is superior to any other.

Room Tip: If available you should request the private cabin at the back of their farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Eileen and Darren are fantastic! Her breakfasts were hands down some of the best food we had on our entire trip. They only have 2 rooms and every little detail is looked after. The fridge is stocked with cold sodas and beers for sale (cheap) as well as half a dozen bottles filled with the best water EVER! Unlike the rest of Nicaragua, the water comes directly from a spring and it's such a treat after drinking bottled water for weeks. They gave us several recommendations, we followed all of them and had a really great time on the island. I also really appreciate their dedication to sustainability and their environment. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
6.5 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
318 reviews
1.2 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
366 reviews
6.4 km away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $64 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing