We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my fave accommodations ever, anywhere - really hope to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2017

this review can't do justice to how awesome this place is, but i'll try.

PROS
1. HOSTS. holy smokes, eileen & darren are 2 of the warmest, most welcoming hosts we've ever had anywhere, including all the awesome air bnb hosts we've had. you don't expect that from a commercial B&B. they're both very kindhearted, friendly, smart and we loved what they're all about as human beings. eileen is funny. great conversations. i really loved how, when darren saw how much i love wildlife, insects & spiders, he made an effort to take me around and show me things on the property, including a tarantula, which is something i've already wanted to see. we were able to totally be ourselves with them, and that was an almost instantaneous dynamic from the moment we arrived. also, eileen is extremely helpful - she'll help you organise whatever activities you want to do, change $ and will be super flexible.
2. FOOD. OMG, just OMG. breakfasts are beyond delicious and if you want to stuff your face, you can do that. i recommend everything on the menu.
3. PROPERTY. i wish we'd had more time because i would've gladly spent an entire day just hanging out, poking around the farm looking for critters, reading in the hamac and enjoying the amazing and constantly changing view of the volcano. this is complete & utter relaxation in the most beautiful surroundings.
4. LOCATION. ometepe is a big place, and i preferred this area, with its proximity to a village with awesome dining at cafe campestre and the wood-fired pizzeria / hippy hostel in the forest (so bizarre), to where the area around xalli ometepe B&B, where we had to go stay our 3rd night because eileen was booked up that night.
5. BLDG. beautiful construction, with super high-end finishing like you don't expect in C Am. they built it themselves (i mean, acted as contractors) and gladly shared the story of all that (see point 1 above).
6. ROOM. holy quality, comfy bed ! holy amazing balcony ! yes, the rooms are very small, but when you factor in the lg additional living space offered by the balcony, with its rocking chairs & hamacs, it's pretty spacious. besides - who comes here to enjoy the interior of a room, anyway ?
7. BATHROOM. OK, it's shared. so if you're not cool with that, don't come here. we didn't actually realise that before we showed up, and after an initial 'UM...' moment, we ended up not caring. they keep it super spotless anyway. and it's large and beautifully appointed, and we never had a "conflict-of-interest". besides, there's another full bathroom downstairs so that technically, there's 1 per room (as in, there's only 2 rooms).
8. CLEANLINESS: except for the spiders (see below), this place is spotless.
9. BATS: a small colony of bats roosting in the shed - that makes this bat biologist very happy.
10. DOGS: one dog is always around and he's one of the most beautiful dogs i've ever seen (also very clean, i.e., doesn't smell like dog). very calm as well. the other dog, we saw only once.
11. VALUE FOR $. it simply doesn't get better than this.

CONS
Well, these aren't really about this B&B, and they might not be cons per se.
1. SPIDERS: Ometepe has more spiders than any place i've ever been. EVERYWHERE. you can't walk anywhere, incl on the road or the property without running into spider webs. while i was having breakfast, a spider spun a silk thread to my hair. around playa domingo, we saw a spider infestation in the roadside trees like something out of a movie. now, i like spiders, so i'm fine with that, but if you don't, then i don't really recommend ometepe at all.
2. FERRY: i live in SE Asia and have used ferries in the philippines & indonesia on several occasions. but i've NEVER seen anything like this. overcrowded (in a major way), the smaller passenger one on the way back had holes & cracks in the wood and we could hear the wood creaking, and the ride was super rough on the way there (and we were standing in a sardine-like situation). on the bright side, it's cheap and there are life jackets.

if you can handle those issues, then book this place - i can't imagine a better stay anywhere.

Room Tip: there are only 2 and i think they're the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BatgirlinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016

We highly recommend staying here! La Via Verde was a perfect spot to relax and unwind during our honeymoon in Nicaragua. Eileen was a great host! She was very knowledgeable about the area and gave great recommendations on what to do during our stay. She made the trip easy for us by setting up anything we were interested in doing. The location was beautiful over looking Volcan Concepcion. We found ourselves spending most of our time at La Via Verde because it was so peaceful. The breakfast is also delicious and very filling. Their homemade yogurt is amazing as well as the bread!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank catbarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Second floor rooms with charming views, individual balconies. Eileen runs a super smooth ship; all is very clean and well thought out. The morning breakfast is delicious. Try her homemade granola with her homemade yogurt. Yum. Shared bathroom, that might be a tad awkward, though we were the only ones staying for our visit, so it felt like a private suite of rooms. Loved the menagerie of dogs, cats, rooster, hens and chicks, birds and butterflies. Fireflies at night.
Location just off the main road and close to many restaurants. Hard to find the entrance gate unless you know exactly where it is. Call for directions, if you are driving.
Highly recommend, very tranquil. Only reservation would be the tight quarters if both rooms were in use.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the very beginning of December and encountered just what we had hoped for, a place away from it all in a beautiful jungle setting. However with an outstanding breakfast, an outstanding service that goes beyond the mile by Eileen and her husband, you have conveniences you would only normally get in a city, like a range of restaurants delivered to the table outside your room. The difference clearly being the view and tranquillity!

Basically if you are looking for a place to recharge the batteries this is your place.

Thanks guys, we had a fabulous time and was lovely chatting with you Eileen.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is the third time we have stayed here and it just gets better. Eileen takes alot of time to talk to her guests, arranging transport to get there (no worry taxis), planning your day while there, arranging for dinner (either brought in or eaten out, and just talking about Nicaraguan society and their organic farm. THe breakfasts are famous for choice, quality and flavor. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms and both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Via Verde is a brilliant B&B.

The building itself manages to feel modern whilst still maintaining a rustic charm. The amenities though are certainly not rustic: water you can drink from the tap; a proper plumbing system so you can flush toilet paper; a comfy bed; and sealed rooms to keep out the bugs to name a few.

The view from the balcony is postcard material and a perfect spot to enjoy your dinner (there is a wide selection of good food that Eileen will order in for you - we did this every night, and there are drinks to buy from the balcony's fridge so no need to leave!).With that said, the food highlight is definitely the breakfast: As well as fruit you can choose 3 breakfast items each every morning (the pineapple & lime crepes and the granola w/ homemade vanilla yoghurt were personal highlights).

Eileen was so helpful throughout our stay. As well as the aforementioned food ordering, she can organise trips, sort transport, and provide lots of other helpful advice. She will even go the extra mile including sweeping our room for spiders before we arrived! We really can't thank her enough.

We would definitely recommend (as we did to some friends who are staying there this week!)

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_B_Islington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

It is impossible to fully convey the feeling you have staying at Via Verde. Eileen could not possibly have done more for us: she organised taxis, ferries, pointed us to dinner places, bike rentals, hikes, swimming spots etc. If we could have stayed and just worked on the farm forever, we would never have left - but we would have insisted on Darren's breakfasts! The food that fueled us every morning was AMAZING! And plentiful! And fresh! We have missed it every day since leaving.

You cannot spend one night here, you will be robbing yourself of one of the best experiences in Nicaragua.

A simply incredible place!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AdyWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
370 reviews
6.5 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
317 reviews
1.2 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
364 reviews
6.2 km away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#8 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $63 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing