We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Ometepe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

La Via Verde was our FAVOURITE place to stay in Nicaragua. The organic breakfasts were oh-so-yummy and the setting (in the midst of a tropical forest with balconies overlooking the volcanoes) was phenomenal. Eileen and Darren truly made the stay ideal with their hospitality and exceptional service with all the finer details covered like fresh coffee ready when we woke up, fresh-cut flowers with our breakfast and board games available for free use. Our favourite evenings were spent lounging in the hammocks listening to the sounds of howler monkeys and tropical birds in the distance. We only wished we had booked a longer stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moto155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

As the other reviewers wrote, this was the best stay of our trip to Nicaragua. There were so many great aspects to La Via Verde; delicious breakfasts served on the veranda; comfortable, simple, clean rooms; organic food grown by Eileen and Darrin; a view of the Concepcion volcano; a fridge stocked with sodas, lemonade, beers and Flor de Cana rum for low prices; sunrise and sunsets viewed from your room; a hike up the Maderas volcano with an excellent guide, Alexis; and, best of all, two hammocks on the veranda outside the room. This is the place for those who enjoy doing little or nothing or outdoor activities like hiking and kayaking. We were directed to local restaurants with good food. Eileen and Darrin are not "staff", but good people that I would like to have as neighbors and friends. Their philosophy of living "green" is in every aspect of La Via Verde. Getting to La Via Verde means traveling some rough roads, whether in your own vehicle or on the bus. It is, as Michelin says, "worth a journey".

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My partner and I stayed at Via Verde for 2 nights in November during a 2 week trip to Nicaragua. It was honestly, the best part of our trip and we compared every other place to Via Verde. Eileen and Darren are gracious hosts (and AMAZING chefs) and made our stay on Ometepe really special. We felt like we were visiting a friend's home. They helped arrange a guide for the volcano hike, and recommended dinner locations. We loved the location- just enough out of the 'hostel scene' (for a quiet night's sleep) but close enough to walk for dinner. Via Verde had everything that was important to us- firm bed, clean rooms, and hot water. Our room had a beautiful balcony that was perfect for relaxing in after a hard volcano hike. The food rivaled anything we get back home. Eileen and Darren had a breakfast menu that changed daily: breakfast burritos with homemade tortillas and cheese, freshly made salsa and delicious veggies; homemade yogurt and granola; homemade toast and jam! Really- the breakfast is amazing and keeps you full all day. I would absolutely recommend Via Verde for anyone visiting Ometepe, you will be hard pressed to find the same hospitality and quality of service anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sepekala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I had the most delightful and refreshing stay at this new B&B. It consists of 2 second-story rooms, tastefully simple and clean, each with a lovely queen-size bed; and boy did I sleep! Evident throughout was careful attention to detail, quality, and creature comfort, including glass and screened windows. The bathroom was separate but conveniently nearby, complete with running water (drinkable), flush toilet, large mirror, electric outlets, and warmed shower--ah, how I appreciated the warmed shower! A cement-floor veranda encircled the entire perimeter and offered fabulous views of the lake to the east and the volcano Concepcion to the west--with an expanse of lush foliage in between. Each room opened onto a privately partitioned balcony overlooking the lake and furnished with hammocks and rocking chairs. I loved relaxing here and basking in the fresh warm breezes blowing in off the lake. On the veranda to the west I enjoyed delicious fresh-brewed coffee from the farm and great selections from the menu for breakfast; also drinks from the fridge at any time. The owners, Eileen and Darrin, were great hosts and so knowledgeable and helpful. Hats off to them for what they have created here--out of virtually nothing. I wish them great success; and to anyone reading this I say, "Try it--you'll love it!"

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nellis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexandrineEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
6.5 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
318 reviews
1.2 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
366 reviews
6.2 km away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#8 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $63 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing