We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
214
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crepes concepcion volcano wonderful hosts homemade yogurt shared bathroom private veranda booking taxis b bs travel arrangements second level a special place pleasure of staying taxi service swimming hole perfect place to stay ometepe island highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 218 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

As the other reviewers wrote, this was the best stay of our trip to Nicaragua. There were so many great aspects to La Via Verde; delicious breakfasts served on the veranda; comfortable, simple, clean rooms; organic food grown by Eileen and Darrin; a view of the Concepcion volcano; a fridge stocked with sodas, lemonade, beers and Flor de Cana rum for low prices; sunrise and sunsets viewed from your room; a hike up the Maderas volcano with an excellent guide, Alexis; and, best of all, two hammocks on the veranda outside the room. This is the place for those who enjoy doing little or nothing or outdoor activities like hiking and kayaking. We were directed to local restaurants with good food. Eileen and Darrin are not "staff", but good people that I would like to have as neighbors and friends. Their philosophy of living "green" is in every aspect of La Via Verde. Getting to La Via Verde means traveling some rough roads, whether in your own vehicle or on the bus. It is, as Michelin says, "worth a journey".

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Via Verde for 2 nights in November during a 2 week trip to Nicaragua. It was honestly, the best part of our trip and we compared every other place to Via Verde. Eileen and Darren are gracious hosts (and AMAZING chefs) and made our stay on Ometepe really special. We felt like we were visiting a friend's home. They helped arrange a guide for the volcano hike, and recommended dinner locations. We loved the location- just enough out of the 'hostel scene' (for a quiet night's sleep) but close enough to walk for dinner. Via Verde had everything that was important to us- firm bed, clean rooms, and hot water. Our room had a beautiful balcony that was perfect for relaxing in after a hard volcano hike. The food rivaled anything we get back home. Eileen and Darren had a breakfast menu that changed daily: breakfast burritos with homemade tortillas and cheese, freshly made salsa and delicious veggies; homemade yogurt and granola; homemade toast and jam! Really- the breakfast is amazing and keeps you full all day. I would absolutely recommend Via Verde for anyone visiting Ometepe, you will be hard pressed to find the same hospitality and quality of service anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sepekala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I had the most delightful and refreshing stay at this new B&B. It consists of 2 second-story rooms, tastefully simple and clean, each with a lovely queen-size bed; and boy did I sleep! Evident throughout was careful attention to detail, quality, and creature comfort, including glass and screened windows. The bathroom was separate but conveniently nearby, complete with running water (drinkable), flush toilet, large mirror, electric outlets, and warmed shower--ah, how I appreciated the warmed shower! A cement-floor veranda encircled the entire perimeter and offered fabulous views of the lake to the east and the volcano Concepcion to the west--with an expanse of lush foliage in between. Each room opened onto a privately partitioned balcony overlooking the lake and furnished with hammocks and rocking chairs. I loved relaxing here and basking in the fresh warm breezes blowing in off the lake. On the veranda to the west I enjoyed delicious fresh-brewed coffee from the farm and great selections from the menu for breakfast; also drinks from the fridge at any time. The owners, Eileen and Darrin, were great hosts and so knowledgeable and helpful. Hats off to them for what they have created here--out of virtually nothing. I wish them great success; and to anyone reading this I say, "Try it--you'll love it!"

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews