We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and dishonest! Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Huacachinero
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible and dishonest! Avoid!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our group paid a deposit online prior to checking in. The hotel claimed that a deposit paid online through a booking website goes to the "intermediary" and not them so we must pay the full room price. We never received our deposit back. The front desk was clearly being dishonest and trying to take as much money as possible. They claimed that their phone does not work externally (so cannot call the booking site), and also do not have the capability to charge on a credit card. Overall, horrible experience.

Also do not book your tours here, they are overpriced.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    225
    100
    31
    23
See reviews for
69
266
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and spacious. The pool is a great place to relax and cool off in the hot sun. Only complaint is that the wifi is spotty at best. Couldn't get a connection in the room but had the best luck in the restaurant or by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We (couple) stayed there after traveling in Ecuador and Peru just to relax and visit some wineries. It was not the highlight of our trip and we also did not expect it would be (before we visited Machu Picchu, jungle, Quito etc. so no wonder that Huacacchino was not a highlight;))) but just a nice relaxing ending before flying back to Europe.

For little money you can ask some taxi driver to bring you from this hotel to wineries. There are bunches of taxi drivers everywhere so you can always just pick up one, which is not expensive at all (I think taxis were less expensive than public transport in Western Europe).

We went also to Paracas - a wonderful, wild, empty space - bit scary though to be there alone. If you decide to go to Paracas, you MUST eat sebiche and a fresh fish there!

Off the season El Huacachinero and Huacachina was a very nice place but during the season I would not like it.

The hotel was very nice.
The only minus: no internet, but you can use it in a hotel nearby

Do sandboarding - very nice experience!

Go to wineries / places where pisco is made!

October 2009

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Even the hotel is not located at the frontside of the oasis it seemed to be the best place at Huacachina to me. Staff is excellent and great English speaking, the pool was clean and wonderful refreshing. Breakfast was great and the restaurant – not the cheapest – has open till late in the evening and served quite delicious food.

Rooms were very spacious and have great beds and showers. Unfortunately we had a problem with our toilet the first night we immediately received another room in exchange. Wifi was excellent all over the place. There is even table tennis to spend your free time and an ATM round the corner to get some cash

The hotel offers also tours to the nearby wineries, Paracas and rides to the sanddunes. Also you may find cheaper trips around the oasis it’s nice to sign the trip at Huacachineros as there are always people who will join the trip. I liked it more than being alone and have fun together in a group.

The only things I disliked was the fact that many of the pool folding chairs were in quite bad condition (seemed to me that someone jumped on them), the table tennis and the necessary equipment were scrap and it on the weekend you will hear the noise from the near discotheque. But last thing can’t be avoided in any other hotel at the oasis so I can’t blame El Huacachinero for it.

We stayed there 3 night and really loved this place so we can recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Beautiful hotel with a very clean pool and restaurant area. A tad on the expensive side, but everything seems to be here. rooms were very clean, large and very comfy beds. No AC, so rooms can get a bit stuffy and hot in the afternoon - however at night the ceiling fans are fine. The restaurant has a large selection of food and is open all day. The included breakfast is a bit disappointing however (especially for the price paid) a bit of fruit, jam and butter - first day at least had some good bread rolls, second day was stale bread.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. They also let us stay till 9pm in the communal areas while we waited for our bus.

Room Tip: Room 215 is a bit away from the pool and foyer area - so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

A little on the pricier side, but certainly more of a hotel than a hostel and the pool was great. Awesome to be surrounded by the dunes whilst cooling off in the pool and just a minutes walk to the oasis itself and restaurants and bars. Did the dune buggy with the hotel too which we were very happy with - good price and felt safe. Rooms were spacious and clean and breakfast was basic, but good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We arrive not knowing what to expect but were greeted by efficient service and friendly staff. The rooms are very spacious comfortable and clean and ours above the restaurant had a nice view of the pool. Lunch at the restaurant was excellent and very cheap. We have the shared seafood platter from the 'chef's recommendation' part of the menu for 65 soles including two excellent pisco sour cocktails. Lovely place to stay in a great part of Peru.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgerc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huacachina
0.2 km away
Hosteria Suiza
Hosteria Suiza
#4 of 5 in Huacachina
211 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 28 in Ica
1,110 reviews
0.0 km away
Hospadeje Rocha
Hospadeje Rocha
#5 of 5 in Huacachina
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 28 in Ica
235 reviews
1.9 km away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
3.4 km away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Huacachinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Huacachinero

Property: Hotel El Huacachinero
Address: Av Perotti s/n | Balneario de Huacachina - Ica, Huacachina, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Huacachina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Huacachinero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the huacachinero hotel, we are a company dedicated to tourism providing lodging and food. In our establishment you will find quality of service, tranquility, relaxation and good attention. We inform our visitors to be careful with the taxis that they take in the bus station, many of them are informal and they tend to offer tourist services without having travel agency so it does not have any guarantee of the sold being in the end scams. Take as a suggestion our recommendation so that your stay in our country is of your total pleasure without spending any unpleasant moments. We look forward to your soon visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Huacachinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Huacachinero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing