We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gimanhala Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$729
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$129
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$32
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
US$155
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
US$94
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
33
80
63
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
80
63
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintrepid tourtransit hotelmosquito nettingsri lankanice sizereliable wificolonial stylenice poolbusy roadair conceiling fanlobby areatea coffeeperfect place to stayclean roomsmain roadstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Because I am a person that relies on feedback and reviews, I must say that our experience was below what is expected from any restaurant of à hôtel around the world. Our kids have strict dietary restrictions and the restaurant was asked for all day dining menu. The pasta on it has two options out of which both are with cream sauce. I asked them if the chef can assist in preparing some pasta with plain tomato sauce and I was brought pasta with catch up. Extremely disappointed considering that in the restaurant they serve lunch buffet, I came across 4 waiters that spoke English and only one other family dining in it. When prompted for clarification, there was no excuse and the bill for my pasta with ketchup was 1200 Rupiah (about 8.5 USD?) I would highly recommend avoiding it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MandeaDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

A group of us ate in the restaurant as we were staying in the hotel. I had the worst restaurant food of my life there., so did the other guests. 2 had prawn fried rice and I had the noodles. All 3 dishes contained only 3 small prawn tails. We did not have a whole prawn between us. My noodles were just an instant packet of noodles which had not even been properly hydrated. Avoid this place at all costs and do not let your tour guide persuade you to eat here

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Mr/ Ms. Christien,

We are really sorry for what you had to face @ our restaurant.
wish you could fixed it if you make a complain on the same time.
any way it is our responsibility to make sure our guests get what they request in proper standard.

Will definitely look into this matter.

Have a good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Shower was OK, Wifi OK, good room, internal balcony to sit out. We had a packed breakfast as leaving early which was very good and filling.Staff pleasant. In the town, shops and restaurants within walking distance, we ate at Hotel Tinaya nearby which was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for commenting on us.
Best of luck !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

I traveled in a group and spend 1 night at this hotel; it is really nice, colonial style, you can spend time in the garden, a nice small shop offers a lot of nice things. Most of us regretted not staying there longer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Ms. Lora,

Wish you could stayed with us more longer.
Hope you'll visit us again.

Have a good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

During Sri Lanka trip,it was a bad day for us being vegetarian. We went to few restaurants but could not get Indian vegetarian meal. Than our driver guided us to this restaurant. They agreed to provide us potato vegetable ,daal curry with Paranthas,tomato soup. Average taste. But their bill was too high LKR3600. As there was no menu to check prices for these items.
Probably they charged more than their buffet prices.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank AnilAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Mr. Anil,

As we know you can't find good places to have Indian food in Dambulla unless you go to some five star Hotels.
Seem that our F&B team had put their best effort to make you and your group satisfy. Therefore they have provided some Indian food which was possible within short time.
Anyhow on talking about 'pricing', its better to calculate backward with number of pax in your group. Otherwise Rs. 3600/= is bit high amount for 'per person'.

Have a good day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews