We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,500)
Filter reviews
1,500 results
Traveller rating
831
457
123
50
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
457
123
50
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant hurricane bar cabana restaurant sri lanka pool bar main restaurant animation team pool staff day tour all inclusive package train line large pool water aerobics sister hotel great holiday different theme beach sellers
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,500 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

It was a great stay at royal palms.
Nice beach environment to relax and all the sceneries of the hotels are fantastic. And gentle service by the management.

I recomend you for stay a night at royal palms

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Rimas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2016

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. It is a testament to the dedication and hard work of the team. Look forward to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Manoj Perera,
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Just returned from another amazing holiday at the Royal Palms. the hotel provided a high level of comfort and is located on the beach and a short walk to an array of shops and restaurants.

The housekeeping of rooms, pool, grounds, restaurants, bars and public areas were excellent.

Our room was very comfortable, with great views over the pool, gardens and beach. It also provided all the amenities you could wish for, including daily evening bed turn downs, towel changes and chocolates. Did think it was getting ready for re-painting

The restaurant has undergone some changes, where the hot buffet stand has been relocated to the outdoors, this provides a much improved dining experience due to less footfall in the dining room. Found the food of high quality and good variation to suite all taste's. The waiters were friendly and efficient serving your drinks and clearing the tables.

The bars provided a good selection of quality drinks, especially ice cold Lion beer. Found all the staff assertive and very friendly. No waiting for drinks to be served.

Used the gym daily where one of the animators is on hand to show guests how to operate the exercise machine properly and safely. They also have a daily animation program providing serious water aerobics and light hearted lawn games. In the evening they referee for a well cared for snooker table in the main bar. If you don't have a partner to play, the animator is all too willing to compete. All this is a credit to Sanj and his team.

The sun bed lads are real grafters. cleaning the pool early morning, setting up sun beds and even rushing around to make sure all your gear is kept dry if there is that unexpected deluge. They do get to cool of though in the evening, as they are seen in the pool scrubbing the wash line.

Would like to give a special mention to Mr Lucksalyan ( assistant front office manager), he has a 'can do' attitude and will do anything within his power to action any reasonable request with immediate effect. He has the guests interest at heart.

As repeat guests we received a complimentary bottle of wine in the room and an evening 'al a carte dining at the Cabana. that was really special.

One annoying feature is the ever increasing numbers of crows in the grounds during the day. would like to see a dedicated crow man, to assist persuading them to move on. Some other hotels have one and they are very effective.

Looking forward to returning to R. P.

Stayed: December 2016
2  Thank jeffs732016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2016

Dear Sir,
Such a lovely review to be able to share with the team here at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. The team will be encouraged by your feedback and comments. They go each and every day to deliver excellence and Sri Lankan hospitality. Thank you for recognizing them!. Look forward to welcome you once again. Thank you,

Manoj Perera,
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We were allocated a lovely room overlooking the pool, palm trees and sea. All the staff were first class, very welcoming and helpful. There is no doubt that their efficiency was due to the training continually taking place in situ. In the dining room, the food was first class, well prepared and of a wide international variety. The hotel was ideally situated for beach walking, nature rambles and basic shopping. The local squirrels were a joy to watch in the hotel grounds but beware the local insects, prepare yourself with repellent. Overall a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennethbruce2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Dear Mr. Kenneth B,
Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. It is a testament to the dedication and hard work of the team. look forward to welcome you once again.

Manoj Perera,
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Well we booked Sri Lanka not know what to expect!

The Royal Palms on paper looks amazing. When we got there at 5 in the morning, tired, dark and raining we really didn't know what to expect!

After a few days we soon realised what an amazing places (aside from Nationalities who were holidaying there and left little to be desired) - Once they went home the hotel was a joy

So below sums up the holiday

Staff:

Cleaning Staff - Room boys were amazing and exceptionally clean - They were incredibly polite
Pool Staff - Made a massive effort and very friendly
Waiting Staff, Restaurant and Chefs - Again exceptionally friendly and gave very good service

Food - The food was amazing although would like to see more veggie options

Hotel and facilities - Again excellent and the gym staff so so friendly - I wish they would come and work in the UK and teach some people the true value of good manners and customer service.

Room - The rooms were great. The air con is a slight problem. Due to the humidity you have to have it on all the time and it can be a little too chilly but hey, we are from UK so who are we to complain?

WIFI - Free and works well - Could even watch Netflix (some of the time)

Trips - We did an elephant and Kandy tour - Our guide (Booked through Travel Agent and not badly priced) was excellent and very knowledgable - Scary driving but he couldn't have looked after us better! It felt good tipping him when they earn so little, and do so much to make you welcome. He went above and beyond especially when my wife passed out three times at one point in the day. He, and the staff at the Elephant Orphanage made sure she was ok. (Luckily it was just low blood pressure).

Overall we had an amazing time in Sri lanka and loved the hotel even with the daily rain which was nice we got a great base tan and its was gorgeous when sunny.

More people need to visit this country as the you will meet some of the nicest people in the world and they so want and need the tourism in the country

FOOD - AMAZING
STAFF - AMAZING
POOL & SPORT FACILITIES - AMAZING
BEACH - GOOD & BEAUTIFUL - (Minus the locals pestering you)
WEATHER - GOOD BUT RAINLY SEASON - STILL GOT A TAN
TOURS - AMAZING (DEFO RECOMMEND GO WITH TOUR OPERATOR)

5 *****

Room Tip: Ask first floor closest to the beach and on the right hand side of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Dear Mr. Paul S,

What a wonderful comment !!!.

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments with entire world. Such a lovely review to be able to share with the team here at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. They will be encouraged by your feedback and comments. They go each and every day to deliver excellence and Sri Lankan hospitality. Thank you for recognizing all!
Manoj Perera,
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Just got back from a two week stay at this hotel. We had been there seven years ago and liked it so took some friends with us this time. The hotel is low density situated on the beach in its own large grounds. These and the pools are still well maintained, although the maintenance work starts early in the morning and can be a bit noisy at times, but the end results are worth it. The hotel went out of its way to accommodate our pre-arrival request to meet the special needs of one of our party with limited mobility.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable although tropical "critters" occasionally share the rooms with you. Some rooms can be noisy in "rush hour" from the neighboring railway line. Cleanliness and room service are well above the average of many european resort hotels. The same must be said for all the staff who truly reflect the polite and caring character of the Sri Lankan people.

Although the quality of the food is still very good, its menu variety is, from our point of view, less local or national in nature and now reflects the tastes of the various changing and expanding nationalities of its visitors. Inevitable but sad.

The excellent quality of cooking seems sometimes lost by the hotel changing the buffet service location from inside the restaurant to outside where, even with in the warm climate, food quickly cools and spoils.

We avoided the tour offers of both our travel representative and the hotel guest services and instead used the services of Sugan, one of the "tuk tuk" drivers outside the hotel gates. He had an admirable command of English, a sense of humour and an excellent knowledge of local places of interest, culture and geography. We took three separate private car tours with him and his driver Raul including to the elephant orphanage at Pinnewala All well recommended.

Overall a great holiday justifying our decision to return to this hotel and resort and bring our friends with us.

Four very happy holiday makers.

Room Tip: Get close to beach. Avoid rooms near road/railway line
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Dear Mr. Antony B,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments with entire world. Such a lovely review to be able to share with the team here at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. They will be encouraged by your feedback and comments. They go each and every day to deliver excellence and Sri Lankan hospitality. Thank you for recognizing all!
Manoj Perera,
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews