We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese with a great lake view”

Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)
Ranked #7 of 180 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: European, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ease on into the laidack vibes of Slightly Chilled Lounge.We have the best sunsets in Kandy town and offer, happy hour on beer between 5pm and 6pm, free wifi,live premiership and other live sporting events on a large screen, pool table, great food and friendly service. Please note we are closed on poya days( full moon)and please call for any other public holidays or elections.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We lived in China for 8 years and it's often tough to find good authentic Chinese food. This was an exception! We had the golden eggplant, spicy sour potatoes, gong bao chicken, ma po tofu, and green beans. The green beans were on the dry side, but everything else was great.

The waiters were friendly and professional and the food came quickly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was expecting something a little more trendy when I read about this place online. It is super basic and filled with foreigners but does offer great views over Kandy and pretty good Chinese food if that's what you're after.

The service is friendly too and everyone is having a nice time. Just don't expext rooftop cocktails and house music with this one, it's definitely more of a beer and a solid 90s Spotify playlist.

Thank BipsiGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry we did not meet your expectations!
When I designed this place I wanted a place that would cater to the whole spectrum of people. It's a happy medium of backpackers that want to have a splurge and tourists staying in high end hotels that are fed up with buffets as well as my local clientele that like a Western feel bar. We cater to all ages of people and the music should change as the night goes on to house music if I am there. There are 40 cocktails to choose from so not sure what that remark was about " Don't expect rooftop cocktails" as to house music if you came here on the 3rd or 4th April I was in Colombo sorting out visas for my family. We have a dj set up, and is the only place that still uses record decks and I am passionate about playing house music.
While I was in Colombo I did go to a rooftop bar and if paying 2700 for two cocktails is your thing then there is a new bar on top a a new hotel behind the Dutch hospital with views of the WTC. I first ordered red wine which had to return as undrinkable then had a very average Mojito.
Regards
Michael
PS we will be closed on the 13th and open again on the 18th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A slightly out of the way and inauspicious building but with a great view over the lake and good selection of beverages. Happy Hour made us even happier when we arrived just in time for an almighty storm. Good atmosphere.

Thank Char L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review!
Anyone coming to Kandy on the 13th to 17th we will be closed for new year.
Also 13th and 14th all bars and liquor stores will be closed so be prepared!
Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for a quick drink and it was so good we stayed until closing time.

Slightly Chilled is a must visit when in Kandy. We only planned to have one beer but the place was busy with happy-looking diners (many were Chinese tourists which is always a good sign) and the food looked delicious so we decided to stay and eat.

The food was both authentic and delicious, particularly washed down with ice-cold Lion. I believe the chef is Chinese and was trained in his profession in China. The aubergine, tofu and Szechuan chicken dishes were truly superb and made a welcome change from the rice and curry we’d been enjoying for the last 2 months.

In response to an earlier critical review about the spiciness of the Szechuan chicken - this reviewer is not to be taken seriously. The dish is spicy - just as it should be - but not overly so. We loved it.

In addition to the great food and cold beer we found Slightly Chilled a relaxed place to socialise with friendly locals. We also listened to some top tunes - the owner has great taste in music!

Michael, the owner, is a really good bloke and goes out of his way to run the place effectively and keep his customers and staff happy. Slightly Chilled’s success is well deserved and is clearly a direct result of Michael and his team’s very hard work and dedication. Given the location and quality of the food and service (and that Michael is licensed) the prices were very reasonable too. In most places across Sri Lanka people serve “bubbly water” aka Lion beer without a license so of course it is cheaper.

We were in Sri Lanka for 3 months and Slightly Chilled was one of our most memorable evenings. Keep up the good work Michael and team and thank you for a top night.

1  Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of kandy which is a little bit mental. Licenced between 12-2 and 5-10 only with happy hour between 5-6.
Great staff, friendly and efficient. This place gets busy quickly so head up here early and enjoy a beer whilst watching the sun set over the city. The food is pretty decent too and a welcome break from local offering authentic Chinese dishes. We had the dumplings, sizzling beef and Gang bao chicken.
Top tunes played too, husband was loving the ninja tune and cinematic orchestra playlist.

1  Thank katythompsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden) also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing