We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
4
13
25
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
25
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 80 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2015

Very bad business. We were offered a room at 730pm and were told the person that booked never showed up. I thought that was a bit early but the guy said he spoke over the phone with the person cancelling. An hour later the person with booking shows up and we were asked to leave immediately and to go up the hill and find another guest house in the rain with no help at all from the manager. He only knew how to help himself with double bookings. The room was not that nice either with stains on sheets.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2015

2500rupees for top floor room with private bathroom. Functional, basic, no frills. Fine if you're a backpacker on a budget, yes the bathroom is haphazard but hot water worked ok and no problems to report. On a steep road about 15 min walk to town centre. WiFi very slow.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. For a start there is no view, let alone a “golden” one. It is very noisy, with the staff seeming to believe that 6 am is the ideal time to start moving furniture around. The friend I was travelling with received some toilet paper for his room at the 4th time of asking. The rooms are very basic to say the least.

We dealt mainly with two staff members who we inevitably came to refer to a Pot-belly and Manuel. Pot-belly's job seems to consist largely of staring at people as they eat, and trying to sell them trips to elephant rides, Sigirya rock, spice gardens, etc. He would often rush out into the lane to accost random passing tourists with the same offers. Manuel seems to be a more general waiter/cleaner/dogsbody. He will deliver your breakfasts items in random order over a period of about 10 minutes. Sometimes he doesn't have to be asked to take the toast back and actually toast it. He can usually remember which table has ordered what.

On the 3rd day we asked for our rooms to be cleaned. The owner/manager then claimed that he'd planned to get it done that day all along. Of course we had to leave our room keys there that day. The key to my room was missing when I got back that night. After making various phone calls one of the staff told me that Manual was meant to have left it in the lock. Shock horror! If so, anyone could have been in my room that day and I had no idea what I might find behind the door. After I started talking about kicking the door in and/or phoning the police, they made a few more calls and it transpired that Pot-belly had taken the key home with him.

They were all grovellingly apologetic the next day, but that just added to the impression that the manager has no concept of customer service, while the staff are untrained and know that indifferent performance carries no consequences. (During the key incident the owner's own wife said that he was a bad manager.

Please spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayneinmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

The room isn't spectacular but fairly priced at 1500rs. We did not go on tours or trips but just paid for our room and stayed. It was clean, wifi was fine for most of the time but dropped out occasionally as we were on the top floor, had a nice balcony, warm showers (not hot but the owner was honest about it being warm rather than hot) and when we asked for extra towels, sheets and loo roll it was grabbed for us straight away. Nice place overall.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmyg2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2014

The Guest House people are really nice in the appearance,but they tried constantly to FOOL your money. Be careful! They will ask you to participate in the activities for example for the Dambula Temple or to Sigriya and they will certainly overcharge you by 300%! I went to those activities with the them and the customer's will is NOT respected. They will bring you to other places you don't want even if you refuse and ask for extra money. Even if we complain to the manager, nothing is done since it's a family-run business. The Esala Perahera is FREE, but they will charge you 6000 rupees for A SEAT! Guest houses are about customers, but they look just for their MONEY! For a first-time traveler in Sri Lanka, it really leaves you a bad impression of the people even the people are truly fantastic in other places.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th floor, the highest floor, are full of ants in the bathroom. The roof is made of some metal materials. You can hear all the sounds, from the running of monkeys on the rooftop on the early morning to the hunting noise of crows each day, can hardly fall asleep in the night. Windows not covered with curtains, zero privacy, not recommanded.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ymadeafootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews