We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No view”
Review of Golden View Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden View Rest
Ranked #296 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2015

This hotel once had a great view, hence the name. Unfortunately, a new 6 storey hotel has been build, entirely blocking the view. On the balcony of the best room, you are watched by 24 rooms opposite the road.
However, it is still a good value (RS 1800) if you just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Per R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

We ate here having had a very bad experience at the Sharon inn which is located close by.
Staff were very friendly and attentive. We had the Sri Lankan curry which was served with rice, coconut sambal and two additional veg dishes. Food was good and at a reasonable cost. Would recommend for a meal and seeing that the staff were so welcoming I guess the accommodation would be equally welcoming too

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invictus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile


Had hot water (but abysmal shower pressure), a strong fan, a mosquito net, clean sheets and a comfy mattress. Also, its away from the early morning sleep busters, like the music school and temples, so great for a good nights sleep, which i badly needed.

I only stayed one night and for 2000rs it was one of the cheaper options around there.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
Thank wklose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Very bad business. We were offered a room at 730pm and were told the person that booked never showed up. I thought that was a bit early but the guy said he spoke over the phone with the person cancelling. An hour later the person with booking shows up and we were asked to leave immediately and to go up the hill and find another guest house in the rain with no help at all from the manager. He only knew how to help himself with double bookings. The room was not that nice either with stains on sheets.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

2500rupees for top floor room with private bathroom. Functional, basic, no frills. Fine if you're a backpacker on a budget, yes the bathroom is haphazard but hot water worked ok and no problems to report. On a steep road about 15 min walk to town centre. WiFi very slow.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. For a start there is no view, let alone a “golden” one. It is very noisy, with the staff seeming to believe that 6 am is the ideal time to start moving furniture around. The friend I was travelling with received some toilet paper for his room at the 4th time of asking. The rooms are very basic to say the least.

We dealt mainly with two staff members who we inevitably came to refer to a Pot-belly and Manuel. Pot-belly's job seems to consist largely of staring at people as they eat, and trying to sell them trips to elephant rides, Sigirya rock, spice gardens, etc. He would often rush out into the lane to accost random passing tourists with the same offers. Manuel seems to be a more general waiter/cleaner/dogsbody. He will deliver your breakfasts items in random order over a period of about 10 minutes. Sometimes he doesn't have to be asked to take the toast back and actually toast it. He can usually remember which table has ordered what.

On the 3rd day we asked for our rooms to be cleaned. The owner/manager then claimed that he'd planned to get it done that day all along. Of course we had to leave our room keys there that day. The key to my room was missing when I got back that night. After making various phone calls one of the staff told me that Manual was meant to have left it in the lock. Shock horror! If so, anyone could have been in my room that day and I had no idea what I might find behind the door. After I started talking about kicking the door in and/or phoning the police, they made a few more calls and it transpired that Pot-belly had taken the key home with him.

They were all grovellingly apologetic the next day, but that just added to the impression that the manager has no concept of customer service, while the staff are untrained and know that indifferent performance carries no consequences. (During the key incident the owner's own wife said that he was a bad manager.

Please spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayneinmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

The room isn't spectacular but fairly priced at 1500rs. We did not go on tours or trips but just paid for our room and stayed. It was clean, wifi was fine for most of the time but dropped out occasionally as we were on the top floor, had a nice balcony, warm showers (not hot but the owner was honest about it being warm rather than hot) and when we asked for extra towels, sheets and loo roll it was grabbed for us straight away. Nice place overall.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmyg2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 57 in Kandy
557 reviews
0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
0 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden View Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Rest

Address: 46 Saranankara Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing