We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you do not expect too much”
Review of Golden View Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden View Rest
Ranked #296 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2016

It is basic accommodation. Rooms miss maintaince and many things are broken, especially in the bathroom. Beds are clean, at least they look fine at the first glance. The location is convenient and every tuk-tuk will drive there without any doubt if you say not 'Golden View' but 'Hotel OZO', which it a big one and next to Golden View.
Wi-Fi works so good it is possible movie streaming.

Room Tip: Some rooms have metal bars on the windows protect you against monkeys - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

The owner looked through the window as we where getting changed, (didn't appoligised) the food was hawfull. But the rooms are quite good for the money 2500 roupis. Talking to the owner from another guest house it seems that they will add taxes to the cost of your room randomly .

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ukdid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

You could see that the host was not a nice person, only after the money. When we came there he promised much more than he later delivered. (For example for breakfast we got half of what he promised at the beginning) He suggested that we should go to Millenium orphanage, he got us a tuktuk for 2000rp, the entrance there is also 2000rp/person. The driver was visibly unhappy when we stopped at spice garden and tea factory and we didnt buy anything.
When my boyfriend got sick and needed to go to hospital, they wanted to charge us us 300rp(the hospital was 10min walking distance); later we payed 200. He never asked if he is ok, if we need anything.. Would not recommend.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Gregor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

i was in solo trip, so could get a good price room, clean and quite. i didnt eat much there but its a family guest house so food is homemade. People are really sympatic, especially the young lady. its close from kandy, walkable distance, 15 min. good place to stay

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank fai f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We had originally intended to stay further up the street in Kandy, but the owner came out and flagged down our tuk tuk and convinced us to stay. Maybe we misunderstood, even though we asked twice, but we were under the impression that he'd include Kandy dancing with the price of the stay. In reality, the only thing included was a tuk tuk to the dancing, which was fine, but we felt a bit cheated. Also, a family below the guesthouse offers laundry, but like the rest of Kandy, the price of getting it done is astronomical. Furthermore, the wi-fi was also infuriatingly useless, but other than that the rooms were clean, towels were provided and the location is amongst the rest of Kandy's main hostels. We paid 1800 rupees, which appears to be a fair price for Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoelJour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

Great little guesthouse, you're getting what you pay for but everything is clean, the bed was comfortable and bathroom fine. The manager was really friendly too. One of the cheapest rooms and also one of the better rooms we've had in Sri Lanka, definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank laurachessum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I got the cheapest room after Taka, the owner, talked to me on the street. The room was comfortable enough for me, as all I needed was a place to sleep and shower. They offer tours in tuk-tuks but I wouild organize them myself with public transport so it is cheaper. Breakfast was good for 400 roupies. Only complaints are the wi-fi being turned off at 10 PM, when backpackers might be looking for their plans for the next day, and location, which is good, but a little out of the way at night.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 57 in Kandy
557 reviews
0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
0 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden View Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Rest

Address: 46 Saranankara Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing