We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic
from US$599.00
More Info
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$445.85
More Info
Reviews (10,465)
Filter reviews
10,465 results
Traveller rating
4,579
3,679
1,602
385
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,579
3,679
1,602
385
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tooth relic holy place sri lanka golden casket remove your shoes dress code full moon worth a visit entry fee must visit place kandy lake ceremony queue temple offerings tourists worshippers
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 10,465 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Just an hour here is enough there pretty cool temple and just nice to walk around. The temple has an interesting story of the tooth. The story was told pretty well through the tour. We got a tour guide on the inside of the entrance For the guys no shorts here our you will need to wear a wrap covering your legs.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank troycav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Don't really know what I was expecting, but having seen many, many Temples etc., around the World - this has to be the biggest let down. Not visually stunning to me in any way - but then it's a place of worship for the Bhuddists, and the stories you hear about the actual tooth relic are a bit far fetched. Hey ho. Had a quick tour around - but then left. I actually found the city of Kandy a let down and could quite easily have missed it out and travelled to Sigiriya Rock Fort instead. Just my personal thoughts though. Found Kandy to be noisy, hot, bustling, dirty, crammed and a bit yuk for my liking. Nothing spectacular considering it is the 2nd largest city in the country, so was very pleased to get out to the retreat of my hotel at the Earl's Regency.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Doyleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

While visiting this Temple women should wear long sarong and cover the upper body. No shoes while walking around. Take your time and inhale the history of this place.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank joycedano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

A lot of people pushing like death was coming, very hot and shoeless (like in many temples), this was not a good experience. And did we see what we came for? - No, that was not possible. But we did see many different Buddha statues, and some of them were lovely.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sigrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

In here stand 2600 years old lord Buddha's relics (One of Right side tooth) .. one of the most holy place in Sri Lanka... majority 75% Sinhalese Buddhist people visit every day here..
This is the last kingdom in Sri Lanka and 1818 British colonized and independence received 1948. lot of things to see inside cultural museum . weather is perfect .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank asankai83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews