We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveller rating
305
622
292
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
622
292
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kandy lake billiard room old world charm colonial building sri lanka colonial feel overlooking the lake fourth floor buffet style breakfast and dinner sacred tooth swimming pool standard room rooms are large nice pool stayed two nights town centre
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

If you want a hotel with character then the Suisse if for you. The staff were great, the pool was very nice and inside you have a lovely old hotel with big corridors and high ceilings. An old lift that takes you to the 3rd floor (our room was on the 4th) but what is a flight of stairs! and you would not see the lovely potted plant display in the lift. Our room was big and had great balcony, the bathroom was ok but could do with updating. The evening and breakfast buffet were good but nothing special, Beer and wine prices average for good Sri Lankan hotels. Watching monkey's playing on the balcony was great fun.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jowen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Jowen,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Hotel Suisse.

The actual building is a beautiful colonial building full of character. However the rooms are very dated with very basic amenities. On the positive side the rooms were spotless

The breakfast buffet is quite good with a good selection of local and western dishes and a couple of live cooking stations.

I did not have any other meal in the hotel and did not use the pool.

Location is great, 10 minutes walk to the centre of Kandy.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank persui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Would have probably been a great hotel 30 or more years ago. But during the past few decades very little seems to have been done to maintain and upgrade this hotel.

I had a deluxe room on the fourth floor with a balcony & views of the lake. But the lift only goes to the 3rd floor so it’s a walk up steep stairs to the room. And the balcony doors have gaps at the bottom that let in the hot air.

There is an aircon unit which sort of works although not that cool (& why a duvet on the bed in this hot & humid climate!). And there is a ceiling fan which is so noisy it cannot be left on at night or you would never sleep.

The rooms are large & the queen size bed is comfortable but the furniture is cheap & worn and needs replacing. The bathroom has a few new features but it is a bath/shower combination. The bath floor is very slippery so I had to stand on a towel when taking a shower so I wouldn’t slip - quite dangerous. The towels are pretty thin as well.

One night I tried room service which was a challenge. It took three calls to reception to actually get the menu as it was not available in my room. It then eventually took nearly one hour to get my food which was barely warm on arrival.

The breakfast buffet is very average. Another night we tried the evening buffet as we were told by the reception twice that it was included in our room rate that night. The selection was very good including a bbq selection & quite tasty. But then we were charged for the meal anyway. It wasn’t expensive but it was the principle that we were told more than once it was included.

There is an outdoor pool area which also needs attentions particularly the water feature. The family of crows flying around the pool area was like a metaphor for this hotel - pecking the remains of what was once a great property.

The photos make the hotel look better than it really is. It deserves someone to give it back its dignity & grandeur.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Good palace like 4 star hotel. Nothing bad to say. Spacious rooms, good hospitality etc. Good candle light dinner.good ambiance..
Good pool and only thiNg bad is that lift is far ... Dinner menu is Srilankan and continental..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mahesh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Mr Mahesh,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Stayed 2 nights in March 2018.
Very warm welcome. Room was clean tidy and well appointed. We had a large balcony overlooking the lake,which provided a peaceful place to sit and relax.
Breakfast was typical buffet style.
Only a short walk in to the town of Kandy, on the Lakeside path.
The entire hotel was oozing charm, the polished wood, wide corridors, quaint lift which did not go all the way to the 4th. floor where we were staying, all of this made the hotel individual.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews