We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
173
439
406
150
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
439
406
150
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage hotel wooden floors kandy lake colonial architecture bygone era tooth relic view of the lake buffet breakfast centre of town tuk tuk dalada buddhist
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are a bit out of date and could do with an upgrade, but the beds were good!
The lift is absolutely oldfashioned and I did not feel it was totally safe to use .Once it stopped between 2 floors and the light disappeared! I managed to get it to go down again and a staff accompanied me up to my floor in the lift.
The buffet lunch and buffet dinner were okay, plenty of things to choose from. Nice swimmingpool but they only have 4 sunbeds which is absolutely not enough! 10 more would be better!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tourist1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Average experience - hotel is very worn out and rooms really need an update. We discovered lots of mould in our room, not very nice. Breakfast buffet was boring. Front desk staff was amazing though. Good location in Kandy.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Chilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Don’t expect them to care after you, you have to ask for basically everything, even to be seen. They should be more attentive and earn more satisfied customers.

Location is good but lots of traffic outside which wasn’t a problem for me.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ozzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Pros :
Excellent central location & lovely old building.
BUT Cons :
Appalling service! When we arrived were taken to a large lovely room & settled in only to be visited by the duty manager who moved us [rather abruptly] to a much smaller room next door without apology or explanation. When asking at reception for a train ticket that had been left there for us by a local travel agent [ who had notified us that it had been left there] was again rudely told it was not there until I insisted the duty manager check the mail box & lo! there it was. Went to the bar & ordered 2 cocktails from the drinks list neither of which had the ingredients available. So asked about what wine was available in the restaurant & after much confusion was shown a single bottle of Rose [ridiculously overpriced - but that is true all over SL] so ordered it to have with dinner.
When we arrived at the dining room were informed the bottle had been sold to another customer & would have to purchase something else!!!! - so reacted accordingly & suddenly the bottle appeared!!! WE WERE LIED TO! Made it clear we would be ordering the same again the next night as would the ladies at the next table who we had befriended [& had had to order another wine which they found to be awful] thus were told they would ensure supply then. BUT the next night were told only 1 bottle available but could supply another one at another $20USD !!!! Told them to stick it - APPALLING SERVICE!!! All this completely spoiled our enjoyment of this potentially grand old hotel. Oh & did I mention the terrible sombrero clad trio singing 'Que Sera Sera' out of tune table to table.
Breakfast buffet average - no bacon & stewed coffee undrinkable. If you decide to stay here eat & drink somewhere else which is inconvenient. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrellhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights 21/23 feb. Apart from the central location there is nothing good to add. Very noisy every morning from 5 am calls to prayer from nearby Temple of the sacred tooth relic. Ensure you ask for a quiet room not on the main street ( room 100 side is best hope)
The general appearance of our room was very tired,basic,not clean,no bedside lights,faded carpet,worn linen,outdated plumbing.
A standard far below any reasonable expectation.

The rest of Kandy was marvellous.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 485lindsayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews