We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
431
365
122
49
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
365
122
49
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankarecommend this hotelbeautiful hotelswimming pooldinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffspecial thanksview from the balconygreat viewpleasant stayvisiting kandystayed here for one nightregencypoolsidegreeneryvalley
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Despite the grand name, this hotel is anything but. The rooms are very tired, along with the bathrooms (mine was fully tiled in black!). There was a fruit bowl in my room that was also covered in ants. The room setup feels more like holiday apartments, and not really like a hotel. The one thing that is commendable is the curry buffet - an amazing selection of both local and international food, which left us satisfied. Besides the food, the other highlight of my stay was seeing a firefly for the first time!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

A luxery hotel in the hills of Kandy. The rooms are big and have a very comfortable bed and nice shower. The buffet offers a lot of choice; for breakfast and diner. Additionally the hotel has its own spa. A very nice place to relax after a long trip or day in Kandy!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernardette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of the Earl’s Regent Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you had a grand stay and sincerely appreciate your words of praise on our services and facilities. Thank you so much for your high recommendation.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry and to that end we look forward to your continued patronage.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is only bothered about the functions which are held in the banquet halls of the property. We were made to wait in our bus for around 30 minutes at the gate just because the wedding guests had fully occupied the hotel parking and our bus had no way to move ahead. After more than 30 minutes passed waiting at the entrance of hotel we spoke about the issue with the hotel staff and a van was arranged for ferrying the group in the hotel but the ordeal did not end here, we were made to wait for our luggage for around 1 hour in the lobby! We were at the hotel at 7 and by the time we entered our room it was well past 8.30. There was another Chinese group which had checked in at the same time and even they had a tough time at the reception. Personally I would not like to visit the place again. The restaurant meals are ok and location is also good but the lethargic service kills the fun!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Monesh-Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Earl’s Regent Kandy.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort you may have encountered. We have made note of your concerns and will take necessary measures to ensure that they do not recur in the future.

We do hope that this does not deter you from residing with us again as we look forward to an opportunity of serving you better during your next visit to Kandy.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are quite big. Decor is just ok. There is lack of privacy forthe ground floor rooms as the pool is close by and the life guard stands right outside your room throughout the day.
We had Sri Lankan food for lunch which was good. There were cats loitering around, which I think is disgusting.
The head of the water jet in the toilet broke off as I was using it, water gushed out . Within a few minutes the bathroom was flooded and water came into the room. The house keeping staff were not quick. Although, they cleared it once they came.
Also, they don't give any water bottles in the night (after 11) . We were told to wait till morning for drinking water.
Apparently, we should have stocked water!

Attitude of the staff is not professional. They show a lack of concern . Would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MridulaS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Earl’s Regent.

Whilst appreciating your feedback it is very regretting to learn that you were disappointed and we apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused to you as a result. However we have taken particular note of the issues you have highlighted and will certainly have them rectified.

We sincerely hope that these shortfalls will not deter you from staying with us, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the near future.

Please accept our sincere apologies once again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with extremely friendly staff. Not a place where you will find a lot of backpackers even though some might slip through (me include in this group).
A slightly pricey hotel but you pay for quality and not quantity..

There's a small jewelery store close to the bar where you can make some presents for someone.

The pool is big enough to go swimming some lengths if you wish so. A pool man is always ready to assist you in the best way he can. They close the pool around 20 I think it was. Very comfortable sunchairs.

When it comes to the restaurant the food is excellent. It's mostly oriented to international food and not so much local which I found a bit unfortunate. Nothing to remark.

The staff came across as rude sometimes but when overhearing some of the guests demands I understood them and want to say : YOUR STAFF IS EXCELLENT ! GOD JOB working with us guests with strange questions and demands. BRAVO!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Admira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Earl’s Regent and for your complimentary review and your high recommendation. We are delighted to note that you had a good stay and enjoyed the facilities and services.

Thank you so much for your compliments on our associates; it is always an encouragement to know their hard work and commitment has paid off. We trust you will continue to patronize the Earl’s Regent and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews