We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
537
258
74
27
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
258
74
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolwedding functionfifth floorpresidential suitebanquet hallexcellent facilitiesfront officebuddha statueexcellent hotelkandy citymain restaurantroom servicecity viewsri lankaindian foodspecial thankshill top
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 930 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

A new 5 star hotel. Excellent service. Staff very friendly and helpful. Value for money. Luxury room. Amazing view. Very nice and large pool on the rooftop. Free wifi, but weak. They have room service but no special choice for breakfast on the menu. Dinner buffet for very reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Willeke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grand Kandy... H, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Kandyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Willeke,
Thank you for your feedback. Your comment certainly encouraged us to continue to be at our best. Thank you once again and look forward to see you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

It’s an wonderful hotel to visit and we had Chinese festival dinner which was marvelous.The Manager Thushith and restaurant manager Chaminda were very courteous to us No second thought to visit again. I must say the best hotel in Kandy .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dissanaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grand Kandy... H, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Kandyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear dissanaw,
Thank you for your feedback & recommendation. Your comment certainly encouraged us to continue to be at our best. Thank you once again and look forward to see you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Ruwantha is an amazing server, highly recommended, wonderful panorama, drinks are great and so is the food.
I'd advise against getting the prawn salad as the portions were lackluster, but the fish and chips my brother got was absolutely delicious!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Heshan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grand Kandy... H, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Kandyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Heshan D,
Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor on your recent stay with us. We shall be looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Kandyan to have another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Our party stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The first impression was of a grand appearance, opulent style furnishing. However, the service form the staff was far from grand. The manager ignored our request abuot the late night party noise which vibrated our rooms. The waiter spilt boiling hot water down my back in the restaurant.
Service in the restaurant was so slow and poor . although the hotel was nearly empty.
The receptionist rejected our perfectly good pound notes to exchange, as the banks had written some very small numbers on the notes. Although we objected to this, the manager who was standing behind the receptionist, did not say or respond. We eventually only changed our perfect notes to receive some gruesome and disgusting rupees. We made the point to another manager upon leaving and asked him to read my review which was left at reception and requested his response via email , upon my return to the UK. No reply.
They seemed only to be interested in the large parties and weddings.
I will not be returning to this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank TyroneP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grand Kandy... H, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Kandyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear TyroneP007,
Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your experience was not up to your expectation. We have investigated the highlighted incidents of noise & spilling of hot water. But findings are negative. However, with regards to the pound note, it is true that we strictly do not accept any note which written numbers on it because the banks do not accept. We believe since you are an international traveler you would know about this. Once again thank you for your review and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

I went there with my office friends for a dayout, thatz a nice place to have a free mind, and i love the roof top area. A place to remember, to spend some quality time with ur family and friends, and it makes u feel grand too:-)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank nirmaleee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grand Kandy... H, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Kandyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear nirmaleee s,
Thank you for sharing some feedback with us . We look forward to welcome you back and be at your service to offer you a home away from home at Grand Kandyan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews