We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food in the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elephant Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elephant Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Pinnawala B&B and Inns
Australia
1 review
“Tasty Food in the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Food was awesome, Service was excellent. rooms were excellent with simple decor , but worth for the what we paid.has a swim in the river .Great view from the restaurant towards the elephant bath ,it seems us that we were in the middle of a sanctuary,

Chef is doing great job..
hotel staffs helped us lot ..Thanks..

Can be recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    47
    33
    21
See reviews for
71
73
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Pros:
Cheap.
Good View.
Thats about it... really

Cons:-
-Far from civilisation.
-Expensive food in the hotel. A main dish per person costs about 900 LKR.. (you can eat in colombo for half of that amount)
-no mini fridges in rooms
- Bugs galore..mosquitos, spiders, moths.. even bedbugs!!!!

Very disappointing.. the elephant view is nice as is the orphange but terrible place to stay.. AVOID it.. stay in Kandy instead and drive down here for the view..

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elephantbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant Bay, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time providing us with valuable information about your recent stay. I am responding to the issue you might have experienced at our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience; however, we are unable to locate you in our system (tried first name and tried city). And we do not have any reported bed bug cases in January 2010 to 2012 until now. All hotels take care of the bed bug issue seriously, and all of our managers on duty are trained to respond to any of the bed bug issues seriously, if any; records are to be kept on file for any of incidents we have on property, including inquiry due to a specific incident. We are just wondering if you would be kind enough to provide us with some details on your reservation, such as the name on the reservation, confirmation number and the arrival date or room number. We do sincerely appreciate your help. Once we are able to find your reservation, we will respond to you as soon as we can. You can contact us directly by e-mail at inquiry@hotelelephantbay.com
We could not understand quietly why this reviewer is centered on the hotel pricing formula, eg: buffet and room rates, most of the customers do check the buffet rates and room rates prior to the arrivals. Please do check the prices on the website . Hotel would not overprice for its products. This review is totally unacceptable in nature
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pinnawala hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel has a fantatis location. Right by the river, where the elephants from the elephant orphanage are brought to bathe. Yous should seriously consider saving the rather steep entry charges to the orphanage, as half of what you see there, you can see here. (Then again you can opt to support the effort and the ekephants and pay the full price at the orphanage too.)
The hotel itself is basic, but clean. Do not expect anything fancy. Service is OK, breakfast was acceptable, nothing to rave about. But the view is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elephantbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear sir
Thanks for keep trusting our hotel management staff.please do visit us again when you come to Pinnawala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked this hotel by accident again. We were thinking to book a hotel in downtown Kandy, but picked this hotel wrongly. It was around 1-1.5 hours away from Kandy. We left Kandy at mid-afternoon without watching Kandy dance. We were a little disappointed, but this hotel turned out to be a surprise for us.
Good side: the location is nice, just next to the watching place for elephant orphans to drink water in the early morning. It is only 2-3 mins walking, but not that close to the drinking point. In the hot summer, the smell is not that good if you stay toooo close to the drinking point. Negative side: the hotel dinner is just so so. Price is slightly above average hotel price, and taste is quite below average.
Special things to mention: It is built along the river. You can see a lot stars and even some firebugs. Fantastic and romantic place for kids and couples 

Room Tip: Rooms along the river can see elephant from room:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangsang_lw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We (2 adults & 2 kids) chose this hotel for overnight stay on our way to Sigiriya on January 17, 2012. Hotel is located inside territory of Elephant Park. Hotel is rather basic but clean.
In the morning at 8:30 ~ 10 elephants come to bath in the river which is a really nice view!! Most of elephants are actually broought in front of nearby located Hotel Elephant Park. More elephnats come after 10:00. It seemed that we were one of rare guests that morning in the hotel and we thought that none of elephnats will come in front of Elephant Bay hotel. Luckily one of elephants was brought to us and we chose to pay a tip and use opportunity to feed elephants with bananas. Our kids loved it!!! And there were no other people around, so I would say it made more fun for them as visiting Elephant Orphanage afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

A better location for having breakfast or lunch whilst watching 30 - 40 elephants splashing and playing in the river you couldn't find. This is a place you must visit for anyone remotely interested in seeing elephants.

The town of Pinnawala, other than a couple of hotels and the elephant orphanage, doesn't have much else, so nightlife is non existant.

Only spend 2 nights maximum here, then move on.

There were issues during our stay with water into the bathroom, the plumbing does need some attention, we moved to another room in a different part of the hotel and the water problems were less.

Credit cards are not accepted, though the hotel does own a shop along the road where your bill can be settled with a cc. There is wifi advertised and you can connect to it, this itself is not connected to the internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ogri750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My friend and I arrived to the hotel very late. They were very kind on arrival. They showed us to the room, and instead of two single beds, we were given a double bed. We requested two singles, and asked if there was anything else with 2 singles, or another room. They showed us a room with two double beds claiming this was the only room available. We asked how much several times, and they very kindly said, we can sort it out tomorrow, no worries. At breakfast, there was one other couple. The hotel was practically empty. The hotel manager approached us at breakfast asked us how things were, if we needed a car, he was very helpful. Upon check-out, this is where the story goes horribly wrong. They told us the room charges were 3x as much as originally confirmed, because of the room change. We ended up paying more than double, but what a hassle. Then the car they arranged went up 25% compared to the price quoted at breakfast. We decided not to take the hotel’s car because of the price increase, and the strange fact that we had to pay them directly in cash and would not allow us to pay with a card. As we were walking off to find our own transportation, the minibus that was originally going to take us, ran over my friend’s luggage and pulled her down with it. Then he didn’t even bother stop and see if all was okay. Luckily, there were a few locals down the street that saw what happened and came running to make sure no one was hurt. When we arrived in Kandy later that day, the inn keepers confirmed that this was a terrible scam and we were not the first people have this sort of experience. The location was perfect, but $120 for this place is not right. Also, bring your own towels to this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinnawala
19.7 km away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#45 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
27.3 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Elephant Park
Hotel Elephant Park
#2 of 12 in Pinnawala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Pinnalanda
Hotel Pinnalanda
#3 of 12 in Pinnawala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
#5 of 12 in Pinnawala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 km away
Green Land Guest House
Green Land Guest House
#5 of 11 in Pinnawala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant Bay

Property: Hotel Elephant Bay
Address: Hotel Elephant Bay Road, Pinnawala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Pinnawala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pinnawala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elephant Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pinnawala, Hotel Elephant Bay is right across from the famous elephant orphanage. It provides rooms with large private balconies and spectacular views of Ma Oya River.Rooms are bright and airy, with simple decor and furnishings. They feature a flat-screen cable TV, a tea/coffee maker and private bathroom facilities.Guests can enjoy leisurely strolls in the tropical garden or make use of the hotel’s sun terrace. The Elephant Bay Hotel offers bike rental facilities for guests’ convenience. Various activities like hiking and fishing are available.Ivory Inn Restaurant serves international dishes. Room service is provided.The Elephant Bay Hotel is a 70-minute drive from Bandaranaike International Airport and a 2-hour drive from Colombo. It is an easy drive to cities like Kandy and Nuwara Eliya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elephant Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing